El Sombrero

1 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
9
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for El Sombrero

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
best holiday ever

"having been transfered to el sombrero from tamaimo tropical we were overwhelmed by the reception and the standard of accomodation we were offered full marks to the owners and staff for saving what could have been a disastous holiday

the rooms were spotless very spacious and we would have no hesitation in recomending this lovely hotel and we would go back in a instant
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just relax and take in the scenery
by freespirits + 3
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Apartments!!!!

"these are good sized well maintained apartments - staff all friendly - nice pool area with pool bar - only 44 apartments so easy to get around. housekeeping in practically every day with new towels. los gigantes is quiet area of tenerife which suited us fine - just a few pubs + restaurants - mostly ate at the Harbour Club - great food and service - singers on every night - some better than others."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by J + J
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

el sombrero

"spent 2 relaxing weeks at the El sombrero,the studio appartment was very clean and roomy the views from the balcony were superb overlooking the pool and out to the sea and the cliffs to the left.load of places to eat would recomend the La Bodequita in the middle of los gigantes service and food excelent with very friendly owners"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: beach was closed when we were there
by jock
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Friendly relaxing place.

"We have just returned from a holiday in Tenerife at El Sombrero appartments in Los Gigantes. On arrival we were taken by the manager personally to our apartment, it was very clean , spacious and had a really good kitchen and large bathroom. This is the first place that we have had consistent really hot water for a shower plus modern touch top cooker in the kitchen. The grounds were immaculately clean and the room service was second to none, we hired a car from reception and found that all of the paperwork had been sorted for us by the manager , all we had to do was read and sign. If you want a good , quiet hassle free holiday then I would thoroughly reccomend this place, it is close enough to the town for all amenities yet private enough to have peace and quiet."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Clean, friendly and relaxing
by clicky1948
10 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Relax

"This was my 1st visit to Tenerife and my wifes' 2nd. Not knowing what to expect, I was more than pleasantly surprised. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. The room (on the top floor overlooking the swimming pool) was spacious, clean, tidy and very comfortable. Only a 10 minute walk down the hill to the harbour (if you don't stop at all the bars and restaurants on the way). Very close to all amenities including the local bus stop (great for getting around the island). Loved it so much we are going back again this year."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: picturesque town, lovely people
  • Activities: All offer great food at good rates
  • Good For: Beach
by ian&shelly
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great place to stay

"El Sombrero apartments are stunning and in our opinion well exceeding the official rating. A gentle walk of 10 minutes from the main resort up a slight incline, they provide the perfect base for a holiday. The majority of the balconies get the sun for most of the day with pleasant views over La Gomera and some glimpses of the Los Giganties cliffs. We consider they are the best presented and equipped apartments we have enjoyed in the Canaries. Our studio was clean and very well decorated, a good sized living area well laid out. Bathroom was as good as you could expect, but the biggest plus was the kitchen. If unlike us you eat in the apartments you would not struggle to operate in the good sized kitchen equipped with a 4 ring hob and full size oven, toaster and kettle. In fact there was so much cupboard space there was only a cup and plate in each one.

The grounds are well planted and set out with staff constantly walking around tidying up. The pool area is tadge small in the middle of the buildings, but proved adequate at the time of our stay. Pool bar was well stocked with drinks and reasonable snacks and like the rest of the place the staff was excellent.

We have only ever been back to the same apartments once before in the last 12 year but we both agree this could be the second.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Los Giganties has all this in a clean and well presented environment.
  • Activities: Bamboo Bar,Miranda’s, Jardin Del Sol and El Pescador.
  • Good For: Beach
by Alan&Bev
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful

"Just returned from our first holiday in Tenerife. After a lot of research decided on Los Gigantes as we enjoy a quiet holiday. Booked through Thomas Cook at El Sombrero. It was wonderful. The apartment was clean and had all that we needed for a perfect holiday. Very near to a good supermarket and other shops, also near to restaurants and the marina. We spent most of our holiday just strolling around the resort and chilling out. Talking about chilling out just returned home to the Scottish Highlands after being in 22 degrees at Los Gigantes to 2 degrees here so are really chilling out"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2008, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Suitable for anyone wanting a quiet relaxing holiday
by Speysider45
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

El Sombrero

"Very clean spacious apartment; well kept grounds; small pool but always plenty of sunbeds.

The apartments are well situated, near supermarket, local bus stop and plenty of good restaurants.

Some rooms are near the road so light sleepers beware! (But there is very little traffic in the wee hours).

We didn't eat at the poolside bar but fellow holidaymakers thought it very good indeed.

Los Gigantes is a quiet resort eg there are only three bars which offer evening entertainment apart from the main hotel. We thought it was a nice size but it definitely caters more for the middle aged/elderly! It is quite hilly but the apartments are located low down so there is not much in the way of climbing when it comes to connecting to restaurants etc.
"

by Lachie
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Simple and beautiful

"I have been staying with my boyfriend and the El Sombrero for over two weeks from September to October and we both really enjoyed the place. We had a studio with sea view. The whole place, including the pool and all the surroundings were very clean. Everyone is very friendly there.

I even left 5 euro for the chambermaid and she did not take them. :)

There is a pretty big safe in the room that you can rent. I don't think we would have had problems even if we wouldn't have rented it.

The pool is small but nice and clean, the bar serves food as well for reasonable prices.

I would recommend this place for anyone who wants some peace and quite in beautiful clean place and doesn't look for luxury.

All in all I had my best vacation ever in Tenerife :)
"

by nikitu
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have been several times in...

"We have been several times in Apartment El Sombrero, but we don’t come back again. The reason is, that the last time we were frequently visited by cockroaches and every year the services, cleaning and treatment, were slightly less. For instance, we had requested a high floor, but we found ourselves on the ground floor in spite of having booked months in advance. Moving to another apartment was promised by the owner/manager, but not realized. The apartment was surface clean but when you looked closer you found it not to be quite as clean as it looked. The maid services (5 out of 7 days sun/wed off) were only perfunctory. The towels have been changed three times in the week.

The apartment itself is a little dated, but the size is great, and interior is dark. Kitchen is adequate. The bathroom did not reach modern standard. The waterheating facilities is insufficient

Los Gigantes is on a hill but unless you have real mobility problems it is good place to be.
"

by PL Wijngaarden
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Small complex , excelent apartments ,...

"Small complex , excelent apartments , very clean and comfortable , staff very pleasant and helpfull. No high rise apartments , wonderfull views from balconies , family run , makes a pleasant change from large impersonal Hotels , cannot wait to go back . These apartments would suit older people as it is an easy walks to good resturants and Bars and some very nice Shops . If you fancy a day doing nothing there is a very nice pool with an excelent small Bar that also serves Hot snacks very good Coffee and Sangria ."

by  L D Gilham
9 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just come back from two weeks...

"We have just come back from two weeks holiday staying at the El Sombrero apartments in Los Gigantes. We have had a wonderful time, and cannot wait to return, the apartments are clean and have a seperate kitchen and bathroom, we had a fantastic view from our balcony. The staff are so friendly and work really hard to make sure that the gardens and apartments are kept clean and tidy. Los Gigantes is a beautiful place to stay, and there are lots of boat trips from the Marina which are really reasonable. We went on an Island tour, and to Mount Teide and travelled on the local buses up to Peurto de la Cruz and down to Los Christianos which cost hardly anything at all compared to the prices back in the U.K. I would definitely reccomend staying at the El Sombrero."

by  D Hudson
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for El Sombrero Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 21.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

El Sombrero photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for El Sombrero
  • by J + J

    " Lovely big apartments - very secure. "

Similar hotels around Los Gigantes

Hotels near El Sombrero

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own El Sombrero?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at El Sombrero? Share your insight.

El Sombrero is also called:

  • el sombrero hotel los gigantes
  • el sombrero los gigantes

Address: Avda Maritima 28, Tenerife 38683, Spain