Hibiscus Garden Apartments

Merkez Mah. YIldIrIm BeyazIt Cad. 286 Sok. No: 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(103 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
69
Good
21
Average
6
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hibiscus Garden Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
hibiscus gardens

"Right here goes iv read a lot of reviews on here and after 7 yes 7 consecutive years of visiting hibiscus gardens(which speaks for itself) iv NOT got a bad word to say about it.

I wont lie i have some teething problems(not every visit) on arrival which has been either been sorted same or next day without any problems (just tell reception).

The staff is fantastic i luv them all old and new,also the food is gorgeous no matter what or when you order please wait as its freashly made and very nice.

The complex for me is perfectly placed in marmaris as its out of range for loud music from club scene but also very close to beach and nightlife.

To be honest i could go on how good this place is all night but iv gotta go book again for next year

ps

holiday watchdog place this as a 2 star hotel now im no expert but its atleast 3 star all day long depending on what your expecting.

BRILLIANT PLACE FOR COUPLES AND FAMILIES
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Booked Independently
  • Advice: aby problems talk to staff they are great and will do anything to please
  • Good For: Beach
by Daniel H
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best two weeks of my entire life!!

"I returned yesterday from two weeks in Marmaris staying at Hibiscus 1 & 2, please please ignore the two prior reviews to this one because they are so wrong. My two weeks at this hotel were the best of my entire life! There isn't one thing I could fault about hibiscus. The food was great, the price was fair, everywhere was spotless and the staff were amazing! I am so glad I stayed here and would recommend it to everyone! I had the most incredible time, have countless amazing memories and have made some of the best friends ever who I won't lose contact with and plan on seeing again next year, or sooner if I can afford it! All the staff were so friendly and really looked after us. Being four teenage girls in Turkey we recieved a lot of hassle from some turkish men, when we told the staff they were able to advise us on where to go and where to avoid and even brought us out a few times. It is suitable for all! families with teenagers, young children, older couples, young couples and first teen holidays! there is a little of something for everyone :) I have fallen in love with Marmaris, Turkey, Hibiscus 1&2 and the people there! see you all again soon. merhaba arkedes! jimmy, cj, dave, 'cheeky face', bruce :)"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Shauneen M
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hibiscus gardens appartment

"wow best holiday weve been on great appartment very quite just the way we like it great staff very helpful air conditioning in the room wernt good didnt know that we could have fans insted and for a cheaper price but overall it was a fantastic holiday and cant wait to come back next year!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: all the site seeing around marmaris
by Amy J
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good holiday but

"stayed at the hibiscus gardens 07-16/09/11. basic as most Marmaris apartments but clean.food ok except for breakfasts (poor quality sausage & bacon)but very good sunday dinner cheap price and the only day entertainment provided. unless you count the day a mad drunken scotsman beat his wife and smashed up his room which quickly resulted in all staff disappearing until the rep arrived who refused to call police.the staff were friendly and polite but some young girls were hassled as they did not eat at restaurant staff do not seem to realize this is self catering.there are some very good restaurants just down the road.a bit more entertainment and i think these apartments would be more popular.i would not hesitate to stay here again"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by ac
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic

"we have just returned from a week at hibiscus gardens and what a lovely place it is. lovely and clean, great pool, lovely food and very friendly staff we will definatly be going again."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by cheeky
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amazing hotel

"We were transferred to this hotel from the Antique Palace. This hotel was lovely & clean. The aircon worked for both rooms. The restaurant staff were brilliant & the food was gorgeous, the only downside was that there wasnt much entertainment for the kids. It only took 15 mins to walk to town centre & beach. We all loved the friendly atmosphere with no hassel & would recommened this hotel to anyone."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by sharon
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

unfriendly hotel

"Me and my partner have just returned from a week in Hibiscus Gardens .We found the bar staff to be unfriendly ,they were friendly enough when we first got there until they realised we didnt drink alcohol – so we only got drinks when we went for them they were all friendly and sitting having conversations with all the young girls and the people who were drinking alcohol.Food service was appaulling apart from Carlos who always had a smile and went out his way to say hello and crack a joke. The rooms were very basic and only had air con in the bedroom so you had to spend your time mostly in your bedroom - the heat in the other rooms was unbearable and as for paying extra on top of your holiday price you would expect it to work properly but we had to go down to get a member of staff to put it on then having to wait to see the Thomas Cook Rep who finaly got it fixed after 2 days of it not working so it comes on first time you put key card in was just a joke.The rooms were untidy and uncomfortable. We have young children and I would not take them there even though it is meant to be a family hotel.Food was nice and there was a shop and another restaurant over the road and a 20 min walk into the town centre which is good. The hotel is very quiet of a night with not much going on a over all 3 out of 10 and a very disappointing first stay in Turkey. The Rep Gemma was friendly but didn't seem interestered in our genuine well-being."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by saz
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing :)

"Myself and my mother stayed at Hibiscus gardens in May 2010 and i was very pleased with what i found. The rooms were very basic however compared to the last holiday in Greece i had,the rooms were amazing! I can't explain how lovely all the staff were towards me and my mother especially when she fell over in the middle of the night (nothing to do with the hotel) and had to go to hosiptal with cracked ribs.. I would advise not to do any damage to yourself during a stay as Turkish hospitals are VERY expensive. Anyway the staff were absolutely lovely and the highlight of the trip so i would like to say a big thank you to Carlos,Okan,Russel,Lyn(russels wife),Serkan(Serjoy),Siber(ash),Ersin(Tall boy),Serhat(52),Chef,Mustafa and Ramazan. I feel i wouldn't have enjoyed the holiday as much without them. The trips are quite expensive with Thomas Cook so go for some of the street ones.. i recommend Steve down at the beach front and Batman who is much closer to the hotel. The restaurants in the area are very nice however you do get hassled quite a bit and at one point i tried fobbing them off with the statement i'd eaten and they replied with" when last week". However you do get used to it eventually and just ignoring them works quite well. I found this holiday absolutely amazing and i plan to go back later in the year. I hope this helps. Cally and Jacquie.xxxx"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: It is very nice and can't wait to go back there!
by Cally-turkeylovinggirl
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not stay Here!

"We have just returned from holiday (Turkey) Aug 2010 with my wife and my 2 young kids. We arrived at Hibiscus gardens to find that we had the apartment from h**l. The beds for my kids must have came from the turkish prison and ours were not that much better. What really gets me is the travel agents with the girl saying "oh this is a lovely place and one for the familiy". What a load of c**p. Wait until i see her. The apartment is not fit for a dog.

They make you pay for air con. Yes sounds good as the apartment has air con, only problem is that its only in one room so the kids could not sleep due to the heat so i moved their beds in with ours so that we could get a nights sleep. I could go on and on about this apartment but i think you get the message. I met the Thomas cook rep at Hibiscus and we managed to get moved to an other apartment hotel which was closer to the front within a few days. For a fee of £300 which was nothing to get out of that hole.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: do not go here
by Steve
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Budget hotel at above budget price.

"Just got back from two weeks in Hibiscus 1 and 2, having paid four adult rates for two adults and two children at a total cost of £1800 for a self-catering apartment. I don’t mind paying £1800 for a holiday but I expected much more for my money than what we were allocated.

We arrived in a power cut and had to be led to our apartment by an oil-filled lamp from the restaurant, only to find that the water was also off. Power and water cuts were to be a regular feature of our stay in Hibiscus 1 and are to be expected in the area. Our apartment turned out to be in the attic, with parts of the ceiling around the windows coming down to a height of 3’6”, and was clearly meant for an occupancy of 3 rather than 4, given that we had 3 glasses, 3 cups, 3 sets of cutlery and even just 3 towels. The door to the apartment had a very sticky lock which required a specific technique to open it; namely turning the key, pulling the door towards you then barging it with your shoulder. Twice we had to get staff from the apartments to let us into our room as the door wouldn’t open and only on day 10 was the lock mechanism changed. This didn’t solve the problem though as it was due to a misaligned door frame which was finally repaired on day 11. We also had a window that kept opening on its’ own and only one of the five blown lights I reported was repaired.

Accomodation consisted of a bedroom with a double bed, and a kitchen/living area with a bed setee and an unsafe Z-bed with a broken leg that had to be replaced. Although the accomodation was advertised as self catering, it would be impossible for anyone on a strict budget to cook in the apartment, given the lack of utensils and just a two-ring hot plate to cook on. We had a kettle but not even a toaster. This may be to push customers towards eating at the apartment restaurant.

Air-conditioning for the apartment has to be purchased at reception at a cost which varied from 55pounds to 80Euros for two weeks. I raised this matter with the Thomas Cook rep who told me it was in the contract we had from Barrhead. When I produced the contract and said it wasn’t there, she told me it was in the holiday information guide I recived from Thomas Cook. When I produced this she told me I must have been told about it when I booked the holiday. When I said I hadn’t, she told me it was in the brochure. I asked her to find me the passage in the brochure that says I had to pay for air-conditioning and how much it would cost but I’m still waiting for that now. I have checked in the Thomas Cook brochure and Hibiscus 1 and 2 isn’t even listed there. It is listed in the Manos brochure, part of the Thomas Cook group, but this only states that local charges apply, not how much it will be.

Complaints to the Thomas Cook rep were met with platitudes and excuses to fob you off. I was told that “If I’d told her about the apartment earlier” we could have been moved but customers that arrived on the same day as us were told there were no rooms to be had. I asked about Hibiscus Gardens only to be told by her that we couldn’t be moved there as it was run by Thomas Cook Exclusive, although we were allowed to use their facilities, they could use ours and she was the Rep that dealt with Hibiscus Gardens too. Maybe I’ve been looking in the wrong place, but I can’t find Thomas Cook Exclusive online.

We were housed in Hibiscus 1, just opposite Hibiscus 2, with British occupancy in Hibiscus 2 but mainly Dutch occupancy in Hibiscus 1. This made for a very uncomfortable feeling around the pool, especially in week 1 when there were Dutch residents that seemed to enjoy “bombing” in the pool beside the British occupants to clear space for themselves. One of the bar staff told us in conversation that Hibiscus 1 was generally for Dutch customers and Hibiscus 2 for British but the holiday Rep denied this, despite Dutch tourists having 7 of the 8 rooms facing the pool and most of the rest of the building.

The holiday was not completely bad – the area is beautiful, the weather was superb and the hotel food and bar were very good. The hotel itself - I just feel we were ripped off for this holiday, especially when I found out that we seemed to have paid much more than others at the apartments and for much less space. The hotel is ok if you've only paid budget prices - don't pay any more, it's not worth it.
"

by Forfarab
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

turkey

"we stayed in HG in may this year,it was really warm, but a heat you could stand.Although the apartments were basic,they were kept clean everyday.The staff there are great, really made you welcome,food not to bad either.Icmeler is a lovely village with a small harbour,really worth the short bus ride 15mins away.we were really surprised how beautiful turkey is .Its well worth a holiday there."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: well worth the visit
  • Good For: Beach
by doodle
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic

"these aprtments are good clean, very friendly staff russel,carlos,sanjoy, tall boy they just couldnt do enough for u. meals in the pool bar were really good never had a bad meal lovely im a fussy eater and they helped me, was my best holiday ever and i will be goig back next year. night life is good about 10 minutes from bars, 15 minutes from beach overall good place to have a holiday."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: really nice
by amandaman
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Hibiscus Garden Apartments Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 31.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hibiscus Garden Apartments
  • by nodrog16

    " good food at Hibiscus and Cousins "

  • by dizdee08

    " New York in Armutalan. Chinturk and Mandarin Oriental (Slow Service but nice food)in Marmaris "

  • by saz

    " iff your goin on a family trip or dont drink that much i wouldnt choose this hotel "

  • by ac

    " the cousins bar a short walk down the road provides good entertainment as do many others "

Similar hotels around Marmaris

Hotels near Hibiscus Garden Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hibiscus Garden Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hibiscus Garden Apartments? Share your insight.

Hibiscus Garden Apartments is also called:

  • apartment marmaris
  • hibiscus garden apartments hotel marmaris
  • hibiscus garden apartments marmaris
  • hibiscus garden marmaris

Address: Merkez Mah. YIldIrIm BeyazIt Cad. 286 Sok. No: 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey