Sol Apartments

Hervideros s/n, Lanzarote 35508, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(41 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
14
Average
5
Poor
5
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sol Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Love it here!

"We first came here in Sept 2010 and loved it so much we stayed again may 2011.

The apartments are in a great location only 10 mins from the beach and the pool area is so quiet and relaxing.

The rooms are spacious and clean, the only thing I would say is a kettle would be great!

My friend and I have enjoyed it so much every time that we are going again this Sept.Great value, great place give it a try.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with escape
  • Advice: The market on a Friday evening in the square 15 mins stroll away
  • Good For: Beach
by baboo emily
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wouldn't stay here again

"The three of us Myself, wife and daughter stayed at the Sol Apartments in August 2010. We had a taxi transfer which was good. When we arrived the lady at the bar gave us our key because reception was closed. The apartment was on the second floor which over looked the swimming pool (great you may say) the disadvantage of this was everybody pool side could see in the bedroom. The chap that owned the apartments had to come over and give us the bed linen which was missing. The maids came in twice over the 11nights we stayed, the water they used looked like it had been used on every room before ours, resulting in more undesirable deposits in our app.

The reception wasn’t 24hr which meant that anybody trying to sleep in the early hours was woken up by young drunks coming back and fighting and throwing each other in the pool not fun every night at 3-4 am. The man who owns the apartments did nothing to stop the trouble one of them was a rep for 1st choice which surprised us they said when drunk they thought it was an 18 to 30’s hotel. The bathroom had no ventilation at all and the whole apartment really just needed a lot of TLC. The cooker (health hazzard) and fridge had old food bits and mould stuck to them. It was self catering but there was no kettle no toaster no ironing board etc. No fans No aircon.

I took photos as proof of all of this we were so glad to go home.

Lanzarote – Costa Teguise however is a beautiful place with many nice areas to visit and very nice people, we will definitely go back but will book to stay in a different hotel/apartment.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with on the beach
  • Advice: Costa Tegiuse is fine - Appartments definite no
by Norfolk Family
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant

"We stayed at the Sol 16-23 October. Weather was lovely. Only a 10-15 min taxi transfer from airport costing 20 euros. We arrived around 6pm and our key and welcome pack was ready to be picked up from reception. We stayed in a ground floor one bedroomed apartment which was convenient for nipping to and from the pool - we were offered a larger 1st floor apartment as we had a pary of 4 - two adults and 2 teenage girls - but we decided to stay in our smaller one. We were a little confused why we had to pay 1 euro per hour for the TV when the rest of the electricity was free. The only fault we could find with the apartment was that there was no air con or fans in the ceiling, however, the temperature did drop at night and we found that after a fun night at Legends (next door) or Cactus Jacks (across the road) a late night dip in the pool soon cooled you down. There were loads of places to eat at night and during the day and most reasonably priced. There was a fantastic chinese restaurant just past the fish and chip restaurant by the beach - each as much as you like - 3 course meal for under 5 euros and once you had finished they gave you a bottle of peach schnapps and shot glasses - with funny pictures in the bottom. We didn't have a very good time at the fish and chip restaurant as one of our daughters found a strange long legged bug crawling around in her chips. However, the lady did exchange the meal with no charge - by this time though we had been put off our food. Breakfast was good - we ate in a restaurant overlooking the sea, by the trampolenes near the shopping centre (only downfall was dodging the men trying to sell electrical goods on the way). We got the Lucky Lucky men down to 1 euro for some bracelets too. There were some 'touch and go'drag acts - especially the one at Legends - he put our daughter's mobile phone down his pants and followed our other daughter into the toilet! Would recommend Legends for entertainment - Mike and Dale were lovely. Overall, a fantastic good value for money holiday and would definately return."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Good value for money, great restaurants, friendly area
  • Good For: Beach
by Family of Four
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

In Love with the Place

"The sol apartment are the best place to stay you might have your owns opinnions but the sol apartments are amazing number 1. All the shops you need are a tiny walk down the road and the sawn is amazing i sang with a little girl whos mum owns the pool bar and her milkshakes are amazin choclate vinalla and straw berry just perfict. I love the family who runs the bar they are great company and nice to talk to. The hotel rooms are nice a bit slippy when theres water on them but thats like most hotels big windows are a balconey we were right behind legans but when your on holiday you will be at the swan all the time enjoying yourself not trapping yourself in the apartment the beds are nice and pillows soft and no problems with anything :) 10 out of 10 for me and im deffo going next year :)"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, SELF CATRING , booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Amazing Go Every Year
by amylovingsollanzarotie
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor Location, poor service and very unclean

"My girlfriend & I stayed at Sol Apartments the first week of June 2010. The Apartment is only a 5minute walk to the beach but is in a very poor location. The bars/Restaurants around the apartment of terrible. The worse thing about Sol Appartments is the Irish bar next door, They played loud annoying music 7 nights a week till 1am. Which may be great if you like staying up late and getting up late but we enjoyed being up early and going bed about 12. The apartments are not very clean, house keeping came twice when we were there 8days! Quite poor really.

Overall I give the apartment 4 out of 10.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by stu
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice break

"We stayed at the sol for 2 weeks and it was a nice break, the only disadvantage was that you had to pay for the kettle and toaster, self catering should include those items 7.50 per week each. The apartment was clean and tidy and was good as just a place to sleep, the pull out bed kept breaking but the staff got it fixed straight away. the complex is close to Legends and Cactus Jacks and the spar supermarket."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by monkeys
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Second Visit this year

"Well! we came back again for another visit & got an upstairs apartment this time,Large spacious and airy and been recently painted (door facings well splattered also some furniture )The general furnishings were something else- the setee was 'Tip' material, the material threadbare the base was totally 'done' the slats fell out when we tried to sit down some were taped up with black tape to try and strengthen them,the bed-heads kept falling off the wall when we moved the beds and rattled at every turn.This time though we got a TV which worked.It is such a pity,because the staff are really,nice people and so helpful,especially the lady in reception,and the girl in the pool bar was really good.We were there bank Hol W/E and oh! the kids !!running wild- parents couldn't have cared where they were-young kids of aroud 8yrs knocking on our door (after 10pm) to see if we wanted shown around the place( for a fee? !!)and they wonder how kids get abducted, talk about asking for trouble.A big difference from our previous vist, but NOT really a fault of the management.

Again we really enjoyed the resort and mostly ate at the Irish Bar near the 'Spar'store.His food is great! and he is a really nice bloke.Tried Cactus Jacks-service was VERY slow,the bar was NOISY,(we ate outside)and the food nothing special a bit pricey for what we got I thought.But will still go back to Costa & the Sol...
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Favoutite Resturant/Bar--The Irish Bar by the Spar supermarket Great value & Good Food...
  • Good For: Beach
by Sunman
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Sol Holiday

"I have juust returned from a lovely relaxed holiday at The SOL appts.Had a really nice clean,refurbished end terr. appt. with a lovely sun terrace (NO Sunbeds though) new orthopaedic matresses on our beds,Equipment in the place was BASIC no- kettle,toaster & the TV was a joke!! kept loosing picture...Initially the cooker was lethal!--frame went 'live'when switched on but this was fixed right away even although we arrived at 8pm, a maintenace engineer was there within minutes and did a temporary repair to allow us to make a meal,he came back first thing in the morning and replaced the complete cooker.we hired kettle & toaster though.

Did NOT like the fact that toilet paper could not be flushed down the loo,and had to be put in a small bin which was NOT emptied daily ? health hazzard...

We found that the resort in general( our area anyway) was geared to the middle aged to Senior age groups- Suited us we are in our late 60's also lots of nice eating places within walking distance-especially the IRISH bar -Fantastic steaks...Our only real complaint is that we were asked to vacate the appt by 10 am usually we have them until mid day..as our pickup was not until 3pm it was quite a hang on with only toilet facilities.. a courtesy room ( comunal even)woukd have been nice to shower before leaving.Having said all that, the reception staff were excellent and very helpful I would certainly go back to both the Sol and the Resort..
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Irish Bar and go on the Submarine trip
  • Good For: Beach
by Sunman
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday

"Stayed at Sol Apts March 09, 2 adults, 2 children, 11 and 13 yrs. Didn't expect a great deal as price was sooo cheap. 15 minutes taxi drive from airport - 20 euros, easy to get taxi. Apartments were spacious but basic and clean. Pool area wasn't huge but was very clean and a lovely pool. My daughter didn't get out of pool. Weather was fantastic, only a couple of days of wind but you were glad of it. Everyone at Sol, guests and staff were so friendly. Costa Teguise is a lovely place, beach about 8 mins stroll and shops, bars and restaurants only minutes away. Legends bar next door, entertainment everynight. Cactus Jacks almost opposite, fabulous acts including a fantastic must see drag act. Went to Puerto Del Carmen on bus one day 5 euro's each return. Wish I hadn't have bothered, Costa Teguise is much nicer. Had a fabulous holiday, there is something for everyone at Costa Teguise. I very much reccommomend the resort and also reccommend the apartments if you are looking for cheap and chearful."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by eesiboo
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

CHEAP

"This was a cheap and basic value-for-money holiday at short notice.

All furniture in the apartment was uncomfortable and had generally seen better days - as had the whole place. The (thin) seat cushion of the sofa bed was supported by a sheet of chipboard and all the doors (external, internal, cupboards, wardrobe) had sagged on their hinges and only opened with difficulty. Bath, although clean, was stained and had paint splashes from the last redecoration. It is just the most basic accomodation and while advertised as self catering it only had a two plate hob (which tripped the electrics if you switch them both on)and two pans. No kettle, toaster, microwave, grill etc:. The T.V in the room operates on a meter at 1 Euro an hour or you can hire one by the week, as with all the other stuff you may need.

However, if you only want a base to operate from, the location is good and the Sol is value for money. It's easily accessible if you've hired a car, or by bus. The beach and lots of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within walking distance. Unfortunately the exchange rate at the moment means Lanzarote is not as cheap as it was but that will apply wherever you go.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Get a car and see the island - there are fantastic sights evrywhere.
  • Good For: Beach
by Grumpy Doug
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

myself and 2 of of my children and my...

"myself and 2 of of my children and my daughters friend went to sol apartments in july. we go lanzarote every year because my family was there and was a bit concerned about it being so far away from town. we arrived late at night and the keys were left behind the bar for us to collect, we went to our room (no lift we had to carry the cases up 2 flights of stairs) our apartmentwas one of the big ones, very spacious, the balcony was huge. it was a sun trap up there!! it was very basic but for a cheap holiday nobody can complain. the staff at the pool bar was lovely and the receptionists always helped out. the pool area itself was lovely, the pool wasnt too big but it was fine considering the hotel only had around 50 rooms. the maids changed our linen regular and changed the towels. we loved our stay there and myself and my 2 children will be going back at christmas with friends. juan has exellent apartments..

cant complain one bit!!
"

by D Abbott
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We arrived on the 26th of June, (me,...

"We arrived on the 26th of June, (me, my husband and 2 children, son aged 11 and daughter aged 17). We'd read mixed reviews on these apartments but were pleasantly pleased with what we saw. We were initially given a ground floor apartment and the sun terrace doors had been left open when we arrived, (the people before us had been smokers and so the room was being aired out) and found 2 cockroaches had crawled in, we saw Jo our rep who immediately got the manager-even though it was midnight, and he was very helpful and immediately offered us another apartment-it was FANTASTIC-top floor with a massive sun terrace with mountain and sea views-fab!! Never saw another cockroach and we were assured that it was just a 1 off occasion as it was night (and cockroaches are very common in the Canaries).

The room was brilliant, the only bad side was the uncomfortable beds, but who cares when your in such a beautiful place!! The kitchen was basic but enough for snacks and cups of tea, and the fridge was big enough for loads of cans and the things you need. The bathroom was good-we always had plenty of hot water and clean towels by the bucket load-it said the cleaner only came twice a week but she came 3 times while we were there. The bath was stained but still clean, there was no air con but the wind provided air con in its own right when the windows were open.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the reception was clean and tidy with plenty of information available. The Loft Bar above reception was great on evenings with cheap drinks (happy hour). The pool was clean and cool-which was brilliant for when it got too hot to sunbathe, and music was played the whole time, there were always plenty of sunbeds too.

The Swan accross the road was cheap but boring, Legends right next door had a good atmosphere for a family night out, as did Cactus Jacks accross the road which was fantastic-the drag acts were brillaint as well as the karaoke and music in general, compared to Legend's where it could be quite cheesy at times. Another little bar close by was Ferrari's, they served any food you want at any time at night, Thomas Cook told us about it on the coach on the way there saying it was great for if you were hungry after a late night flight. Aiden the bar man was a laugh and a great character, so basically within a 5 minute walk you could have a great night, aswell as anything you might need with a Spar supermarket a 2 minute walk away!!

A little further away you had a shopping centre, where you could buy anything from electrical goods to perfume, and if you went through you found yet more bars, (Columbus bar and restaurant which was great for an evening meal with a big screen TV where we watched the Euro 2008 final-fantastic!! The Spanish people in the streets were all tooting their horns) and the beach was through here too. The beaches were clean and stunning with their golden sand and massive waves great for the windsurfers, there were plenty of rock pools too for the little ones to look for fish or crabs.

the bars stretched for the whole length of the beach and beyond.

Overall Costa Teguise was well under-rated, the pictures and brochures dont do it justice, the place was stunning and the weather was brilliant-48 degrees one day as we had a Sirrocco. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap but fantastic holiday!! We would go back tomorrow!!
"

by Gardiner
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Sol Apartments Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 8.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sol Apartments photos (10 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Costa Teguise

Hotels near Sol Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sol Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sol Apartments? Share your insight.

Sol Apartments is also called:

  • apartmentos sol costa teguise
  • apartmentos sol hotel costa teguise
  • sol apartments lanzarote

Address: Hervideros s/n, Lanzarote 35508, Spain