Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Playa Pesquero, Holguin, Cuba
4 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

8  / 10
(52 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
27
Good
16
Average
1
Poor
3
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
hotel playa costa verde by Roy L
5 / 10

A great location with a beautiful pool and a second smaller one alongside also a third smaller pool for parents with toddlers.The grounds are beautifully kept.

The restaurants are first class especially the a la cart. The main restaurant had a very good choice of food,and the wine was reasonable.

The staff were excellent and any complaint was dealt with immediately.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2014, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: General over all appearance
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A bad experience hotel just denies all complaints by Cazzann
1 / 10

Would like to say before the management come on here and deny what I saw and heard, their excuse will be that prostitution in Cuba is against the Law and illegal, just because it's against the Law and illegal does not mean it is not happening, as well they know.

The Thompson rep, was heard to tell another holidaymaker, about the prostitutes "they are a problem in this hotel, they seem to like it".

This is a true review of the hotel, that I stayed at this year September he hotel is run down and in a general poor state.

Our room was infested with cockroaches and in dire need of decorating, and deep cleaning.

The pool when open and not green was filled with chlorine which did not seem to get the chance to circulate, no sooner had the chemicals get thrown in out of a bucket then you could swim.

The food was appalling, they regularly serve undercooked chicken etc, that's when you can get chicken as it ran out while we were there, they also ran out of, bread, cola, beef burgers, white wine, glasses, beer and-unbelievably bottled WATER. The shop on site however still had water you could buy it.

The cockroaches ants, flies and birds have first choice of all the food, it is left open for them a stomach churning experience I can assure you. This is supposed to be an all inclusive hotel it is clearly not. They ran out of plastic cups and straws, the straws were being cut in half, the plastic cups were being retrieved from the rubbish and reused, given a rinse under a cold tap and reused. Then when they got caught doing this they then started using glasses in the pool area, which is against the rules according to the travel agents brochures.

They also allow prostitutes to work from the hotel, this is not a small operation, the pimps hang around the bar and the nightclub. The management will say these are wives of foreigners, but this is a lie as the men always arrive alone and leave alone, the women appear part way through the holiday for men , no wife would do that not on this scale, we saw one man with 2 'wives'. The men age ranges are 35 - 95 years and the prostitutes are quite young. The men are frequent visitors to the hotel. These women are clearly not the wives of these men, they don't talk to each other like normal couples, on one occasion, one of the men was heard asking the woman he was taking back to his room "how old are you" this is not something a husband would need to ask his

Wife, she replied. "21" he was easily in his 60's.

I also saw and heard one man in the pool offering a couple of 'wives' to another man who had just arrived, he did not realize his real wife was on the pool side! The new holiday maker was also very confused as to what was being said to him as he had just arrived and didn't understand what they were getting at.

If you go back through the pages on here you will see more and more reports such as this. And as they say there's no smoke without fire.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday overall by peter town
9 / 10

have just returned from pcv we stayed for 1 week and found staff pleasent room was spotless and we got a corner room as requsted prior to our arrival,they are a little bit bigger and have a bigger balconey, food was o k but at times they were no plates or cutlery so you have to wait a while but it was no big deal so overall we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return having read some off the negative reviews before we went i could not find any fault ,it just goes to show some people are never happy ,remember this is not the u k .

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: ask for a corner room
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A GREAT STAY AT THE P.C.V. by raff
10 / 10

I would like to thank the staff of the P.C.V. or should i say our friends at the P.C.V. for making our stay so enjoyable,this being our fifth visit we where there from the 25/4/12 for two weeks.From the great welcome we got at the airport from the Thomas Cook reps it was well worth the nine hour flight, when we got to the hotel booking in could not be easier, then taken to our room by golf buggy,the rooms are nice and clean and kept that way all of our stay,there is always a good selection in the buffet restaurant and a choice of cooking stations fresh meats to pastas and you can get a banana fritter cook in front of you cook in Cuban rum,and a good choice of al a cart restaurants.There is a great beach and a large hotet pool with lots of sun loungers, there is a 24 hour snack bar near the pool with a good selection on the menu. I would like to say a big thanks to all of the staff for making our so wonderful as ever.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: relax and go on cuban time

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wonderful CUBA by raff
10 / 10

This was our 4th visit to PCV we had two great weeks with friends (may 2011),booking in could not be made easier sat in the cigar lounge with some wine and nibbles while Nancy our Thomas Cook rep took care paper work she is one of the best you will find anywhere nothing is to much trouble to her, then you are taken to your room by golf buggy the rooms are nice and large and kept good clean by a great staff like the rest of the staff of this hotel they all look after you so well and they make you a friend from day one,great food, great pool, great beach,great place,we will back April 2012.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: just relax enjoy cuba

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A must for Honeymooners by HappyBride
9 / 10

My husband and I stayed at Playa Costa Verde for our honeymoon on an all inclusive VIP basis in June. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and handed damp flannels to cool ourselves off with as well as a complimentary cocktail and glass of bubbly in the cigar bar. Whilst here we were given our VIP bands, ours were pink but there are also other colours such as orange and white so I believe it must vary depending on your booking. When we were ready another very friendly member of staff loaded our bags onto a golf buggy type car and took us to our accommodation.

Our room was very light and colourful with a large bed. The towels were placed on the bed to look like swans with some flowers. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne in the fridge as well as soft drinks and plenty of water – water and soft drinks were replaced daily. Our bath had been filled with water with petals and candles floating in it. Very beautiful and romantic effect throughout!! Each day our maid made a new arrangement with the towels such as hearts etc.

The pool was never crowded as the resort as its own beautiful beach, I would highly recommend using the free snorkels as there are fish everywhere!! To get to the beach you will need to walk across the bridge over the nature reserve, no its not picturesque but it’s a nature reserve, it grows naturally so you can’t expect it to look like a maintained pond.

The staff at the beach bar are very friendly and the drinks very nice (Bahama Mama cocktail especially) there are plenty of sunbeds available on the beach, a member of the beach staff will gladly get one for you, though they seem to expect a tip for this.

The food in all the restaurants is delicious with a large selection, the staff are very attentive and always ensured our wine glasses did not go empty. After a couple of days they remembered us and knew what wine we liked and had it ready for us before we even asked. The main restaurant has both smoking and non smoking areas which pleased my smoker husband a great deal.

I would highly recommend the other restaurants on site however you need to book these with guest services as soon as you arrive as they fill up very quickly. We did not try the vegetarian one so I can’t comment but take a small fan with you into the Japanese one as it gets very hot around the hotplate/tables.

There is a bus that pulls up outside the hotel a couple of times throughout the day that will take you to a local market which is very nice and a model of an Indian village. If you book the swimming with dolphins excursion the Indian village will be included, we didn’t realise this and though we enjoyed the village once was enough. The dolphins on the other hand were amazing!!

The entertainment each night was very good, especially the water ballet, though the programme does repeat itself each week.

There are plenty of activities throughout the day displayed on a board in the reception. The gym is small but adequate for a morning workout should you want one.

The nightclub was very small and didn’t really play the music that you would expect, it was more very old pop music than anything else but the staff in there can make amazing cocktails and also children were not permitted passed a certain time.

As we were VIPs we also received an invite to a VIP drinks event in the nightclub, a 3 course meal by the pool with other VIPs and also a private dinner for just the 2 of us on the beach which made us feel like royalty!

We tipped the staff during our fisrt few days and then agian near the end of our stay, they will certainly remember you if you do and be on hand to help you with anything. Please remeber that the general Cuban people are very poor and the governement like to keep it that way.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on their honeymoon or just a holiday in general.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An Amazing Vacation by Leticia,Alberto and Melissa
10 / 10

This is our 4th time here in playa Costa Verde.We had an amazing time as we always do.My family and I will definetly go back.The food is amazing! The shows can surprise you! Amazing and excellent dancers(Alejandro,Miguel,Yamile,ect.)The staff was super friendly.During the day there will always be entertainment by the amazing animators.It was a privilage to spend our vacation with Yoander,Richard,Mailin,Julio Cesar,David,ect.We enjoyed being able to have dinner with Yoander(Scooby)in the VIP dinner and being able to judge the MTV show!When we visit CostaVerde, we are treated like family and my family and I concider the amazing staff like one of us.We always keep CostaVerde and its people in our hearts.We go twice a year now,and soon we will be able to see our amazing friends.My family and I will DEFINATLY be returning to PlayaCostaVerde.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

cuba the best by raffy
10 / 10

This was our third visit to the Playa Costa Verde FEB2011,the welcome you get from all the staff is wonderful and they always remember you from the times before,the food was very good from the buffet to the a la carte and i would recommend the cuban restaurant,i would like to thank ULRI our Thomas Cook rep for looking after us so well,when the holiday comes to an end it is so sad to say goodbye to the people of CUBA.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: exsplore the grounds and beach
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Paradise Discovered by HW Jan.C
10 / 10

Flights from manchester and back with no delays.On arrival we were checked in and given Champagne reception. The rooms are spacious and clean with big bathrooms, we were in room 5425 and had an upstairs room with large wrap around balcony overlooking the gardens and beer corner.

The staff at this hotel make your holiday, they are friendly and fun and not just after tips.There are 4 al a carte restaraunts which you can book once each week, I must say the lobster in the Cuban was so rubbery I could have used it to re-sole my flip flops, after a word with Nancy our TC rep we were treated to a wonderful lobster meal in the vegetarian restaraunt as a treat.The japanese is great fun and yummy food cooked fresh in front of you. The main restaraunt is fine and has a few stations cooking prawns/steak/chicken etc fresh and as you wanted it.We always found something nice to eat in there and the puddings are just delicious, one of the chefs wheels in a special pudding every night, to a great fanfare and dancers, ( the drumming of the pudding we nicknamed it ).

The bars are never full and always quick service ( in July anyways) we tried all the cocktails and can recommend them specially the Playa Costa Verde special.

The pool is wonderful, large and lovely warm water, the swim up bar is very handy as well, yes there are a few tiles missing from the floor of the pool,( so what), its clean and always has a lifeguard on duty. You can swim at night if you so desire as well.

We did a couple of trips, one to paradise island on a catamaran, we had a wonderful day and the Island is just stunning, and we did the speedboat driving, my husband LOVED that trip and went a second time with his friend, that time they had to use jet skis as the boats were all full, he enjoyed that more than driving the speedboat. Both trips good value for money.

Our Thomas Cook reps Nancy and Nicky are brilliant and will go all out to make sure your holiday is perfect. They kindly arranged a special meal and a birthday cake for my husband, the staff all stood round and sang to him as well.

Once a fortnight the staff do a special meal and entertainment on the beach for British guests which was a nice touch and the fillet steak was scrummy.

All around the resort the gardens are well kept and maincured by very hard working staff, they so appreciate a peso tip and we gave one of them a bag of sweets for his little lad, he was really pleased .One of them sits near the pool every day and spit roasts a pig over a coal pit for 6 hours for our benefit, we also gave him a couple of beers every day.

All around the resort are land crabs and lizards so careful where you walk at night, we loved them and fed the lizards on the beach bananas most days.

The beach is stunning, there is a shelf of coral as you get in the water so take beach shoes with you, but because of the coral the sea life is abundant and snorkelling is just heaven, take a banana and feed the fish as well.

Yes the hotel has faults, not enough to spoil your holiday, take it as you find it as we did, switch to Cuban time and enjoy every minute at the PCV. We highly recommend this destination and loved our time there.

Chill out with a few Buccanero beers and a cocktail or three. I would go back there in a heartbeat. We Love Cuba and its people it is paradise. :)

HWJan.C

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: you will not be dissappointed
  • Good For: Beach

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Honest review by Wales
8 / 10

The Playa Costa Verde is a lovely hotel/resort. Plenty of choice on the buffet and also choice of japanese, cuban and italian restaurants if you fancy a change - however, you are limited to using each of these just once for each week of your stay and you have to book in advance. My advice would be to book these on the second day of your stay.

The hotel pool is gorgeous, we usually stayed around the pool in the day but you can take the short walk to stunning beach where the hotel has it's own beach bar. Snorkling equipement, clean pool towel everyday as well as pedalos, canoeing and windsurfing are all included for free. There is a good gym by the pool area and jacuzzis situated around the hotel for you to use. Our room was much larger than usual hotel rooms although I would say I felt the room was a three star standard but it had a nice balcony, very large bed and free coffee pot and tv to use. It was cleaned everyday and lovely towel arrangements were left every day for us. Entertainment was provided everynight this felt a bit like you had been transported to America in the 1980's - lots of dance shows etc but entertaining none the less. The entertainment team were great, so friendly and would try and get you invovled in activities like volley ball and learning salsa.

I would definately go back to this hotel I thouroughly enjoyed my time there! Tips to people who have booked to stay here would be to take plenty of mosquito spray and a mosquito plug for your room as the only downside was that I did get bitten a few times. It would be wise to take light long sleeve tops and trousers for the evening. Also take money for tips. They don't ask you for money ever as they are not allowed but you need to remember that the cuban people have very low wages for all the hard work they do and they appreciate it when you tip them. When you get chatting to some of the staff they give you a great insight to what communist life is actually like. Many people working on the resort were very highly educated and had jobs as teacher etc but work in the hotel because they can actually make more money through tips!

Another tip would be to go see the dolphines but don't book through your travel agent because if you go to the reception they will give you info about much cheaper deals.

Also the weather was fab we did have some rain but these were short showers that would clear up really quickly and was usually a nice break from the heat!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Loved the place and the people by dorisandpat
8 / 10

Just returned from one week at this hotel and enjoyed ourselves very much. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was very good with enough a la carte restaurants to keep it interesting. The best meal was at the Japanese restaurant, but the Cuban and Vegetarian were also very good. We were disappointed with the Italian restaurant as the fish was overcooked and the service mediocre.

Although there is not a lot to do outside of the hotel without having to travel quite a bit, it is a relaxing atmosphere and has a very interesting coastline for those who like to take long walks.

Make sure to bring good bug repellant as there is lush vegetation around the area which can breed some biting pests, but for the most part, it is quite comfortable.

We found the staff very friendly and always working hard to improve the place.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Nolitours
  • Advice: Try it - you'll like it!
  • Good For: , City Breaks

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic!!! by air frsh
9 / 10

just got back two days ago and this is probably the best hotel i have ever stayed at, you have a 24 hour bar were you can get drinks all night long if needed to, the rooms are kept clean andmost of the staff are friendly. however, the food wasn't as good as itcould be, but it was edible and cant complain there, the a la carte restraunts were basic except the japanese one which was fantastic. the apartments were wierd in a good way, because it was like you had your own little villa in a complex but it's actually a hotel. the only thing that you have to check before you go if you are going with children, is to check to see if children are off around that time because to be quite frank with you, there was hardly any children there. hope i helped.

p.s the beach is like a 5 minute walk and you can get these pedal boats down there which are quite fun depending on how far out you go and also you get provided with towels when you get there, so to save weight in your suit case, leave your beach towels at home.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: wouldnt know but the hotel is in the middle of nower so dont expect to be doing a lot of shopping
  • Activities: japanese restruant.
  • Good For: Beach

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your insight.

Hotel Playa Costa Verde also called

  • playa costa verde cuba
  • playa costa verde holguin
  • playa costa verde hotel
  • playa costa verde rafael freyre
  • Superclubs Breezes Costa Verde
  • Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin, Cuba

Explore area

Map for Hotel Playa Costa Verde Closest airport: Frank Pais (HOG) 33.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Playa Costa Verde
  • by Linds_ann

    " the Japanese restaurant is fantastic entertainment and really good food too! "

  • by gilmis

    " Loved the Japanese restaurant....Did not go on any sightseeing activities. "

  • by HappyBride

    " if you go snorkling put a little bread in a bottle of water and squirt it into the sea, all the fish will comeout of hiding for you. "

Similar hotels around Holguin

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Playa Costa Verde?