Solana Apartments

Los Cardones S/N, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain
2 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

6  / 10
(17 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
4
Good
6
Average
2
Poor
3
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 4.5/10
Service: 5/10
Value: 5.5/10
Cleanliness: 4.5/10
Location: 5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Solana Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
you get what you pay for by Babyava1
5 / 10

My partner and I stayed at the Solana in January. we had read all of the reviews and were a little aprehensive.

However,we were more than happy with our accomodation.

Yes, I admit that the apartment was not wonderful and yes they are in need of updating but given the fact that we paid so little for the accomodation we were prepared to make a few sacrifices.

On a positive note our sheets and towels were changed regularly and our bath, loo etc were cleanesd every day.

Brock, the bar tender, is a lovely man and is willing to engage in conversation at any time, but he is not "pushy" and waits for you to engage with him so make the effort you will not be dissapointed, especially if you like "shots" He enjoys giving you these free of charge.

Like all holidays, there will always be negatives but as we are usually there for such a short time don't spoil the experience by being too critical.

If you want better accomodation then don't opt for two star. you only get what you pay for!!!

  • Holiday details: Jan 2012, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Enjoy the pool and engage with Brock the bar tender he is a legend
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont go there! by haas
1 / 10

Have just returned last week from a 2 week break staying at the Solana Apartments. Although I had a great holiday the only thing that let it down was the apartments.On arriving to Gran Canaria we arrived at the Solana early hours in the morning, We found the the reception was closed and a note on the door displaying our surnames and room numbers with our key in the door, not very welcoming. During the holiday we found the apartment very dirty, the floors pitted which was not good for my 1 year old crawling around, laundry was changed only once with the cleaner just changing the bins and nothing else. After a couple of days we found that the shower was only cold water until we found that the fuse box had tripped with a dodgy socket we were using, the owner just came along at tightened the screws, some help this was as it tripped every day. Overall I found the place quite dangerous for children with sockets hanging off the walls and overall dirty conditions. I also found the man on the reception very rude and just could not be bothered. The apartments just run themselves with no thoughts or consideration for guests. A few points to some the acommondation up.

*Dirty accommodation, laundry changed once in two weeks

*Sockets hanging off walls

*Fuse box Tripping

*Cold showers as onyl enough hot water for 2 people we had a family of 5.

*Other holiday maker had pigeon poo all over room

*Other holiday maker gas hob would not turn off for 3 hours.

Overall opinion is not to go, spend some extra money getting something better as you will regret staying there. I enclose some photos as "the camera never lies"

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

if you want the hilton pay for it by karen
7 / 10

I had read some of the reviews on many sites some of them good and some bad, we had a great time, yes the apartments were tired but they we clean ,we had clean towels and floor cleaned every 2nd day

there were lots of sun beds and pools were lovely and clean, it costs around 3e for a taxi back from the town, yes there are steps down to the main part but if you know that in advance and cant manage them then dont go there,

we could hear the town music from where we were which went on till 5am however its not that loud,

Brok on reception and runs the bar helps to make this place, nothing is too much trouble for him.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: we hired a car however buses and taxi seem cheap enough
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

solana by mojo
3 / 10

dont go 236 steps to get to shops and nightlife, have to get taxi back. cooker takes 35 min to boil a half pan of water, not very clean, and no one there when we arrived a stranger told us they laeve your name on shop door with room number and your key is in the door nice country awful appartment, tv one euro for 15 min 2 spanish channels

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with low cost
  • Advice: lifts

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic but clean and comfortable by Sam and Stu
7 / 10

We have just got back from our week holiday at the Solana Apartments, the apartments were very basic but comfortable and clean. the room was cleaned every other day and the towels were changed mid week.

After we read some of the reviews on here we were a little apprehensive of Solana, but when we got there Brock was there at the pool bar ready to give us our apartment keys, Brock was around most of the time and was a really friendly guy, he loved to give out free shot's!

The pool was lovely and clean, and very refreshing on the hotter days. On a whole the holiday was a great success.

If your looking for great food try Mama Pino's the food was fab! and Mr Bean will definately entertain

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great location great value for money. by matt and sarah milton keynes.
8 / 10

Me and my girlfriend stayed at solana in june 2010 and was very pleased with it the apartment was very clean had everything we needed.The pool was very nice and clean not many sunbeds so i would suggest you go down early to put towell out the poolside bar was ok but not what you want if you want to spend evenings there.I would also not suggest having a meal at the hotel as it aint great but there are plenty of nice places to eat close by its a bit of a walk down the hill so would suggest a taxi which are quite cheap i thought about 2 pound english money right down to beach.The beach at puerto rico is lovely but not far away in taxi bout 3 50 english money is the beach at mogan which is really nice so overall solana is a great place to stay would def go back. matt and sarah from milton keynes.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: would def suggest going to puerto rico its a lovely place we will def be going back.
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Solana Apartments mar2010 by glxh9999
3 / 10

There have been a lot of plus and minus reviews of this place and I got back just last night so here is the latest. The apartments themselves are basic so do not expect 4 star. The place is situated on the top of a very steep hill with 275 steps to climb from the town centre (I counted) so this place is not for the weak or infirm. If you have kids, you'll hate the place by day 3 unless you hire a car to negotiate the steep climb.

The bar at the complex is open until 2am each night with loud music and much shouting from inconsiderate guests and since the place is like a tunnel the sound is amplified making sleeping impossible. If you're lucky then you'll have guests that go to bed and make little noise, but I would not count on this. The noise from the town below is also echoed through the valley as is the noise from the yobs returning back from the all night disco at 6.45am each morning.

My room was cleaned once and the bedding was never changed all week. The cleaning was nothing more than a rub down of the floor with a dirty mop and change of towels that smelled old.

The staff were friendly and helpful but did little to curb the nocturnal activities of the 3 Irish slappers that moved into the apartment below ours who though it was quite normal to sit at the bar until 2am getting drunk before moving on to the all night disco only to return at 6.45am each morning to the echoes of the song 'Fernando'.

In the end we moved out early and found ourselves a nice 4 star place near to the airport. The manager promised to expel the Irish Wilderbeasts but I doubt that he did.

In all, if you're not bothered about noise, lack of sleep or listening to drunken slappers being sick at 6am then this is the place for you, if you want better look elsewhere.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: stay away

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great place by scott
8 / 10

just back from staying in the solana appartments for a week, was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on the net but have to say i didnt have any problems, place was really good and felt really safe, maid service was every other day and tho they didnt have much english they were friendly, brock the bar man is very welcoming aswell, place is a must......but watch out for the stairs, theres a lot of them!!!!!!!

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go!!!!
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

EXCELLENT VALUE! by lisasstimpson
8 / 10

WENT TO SOLANA FOR MY B'DAY..3rd FEB.

HAD A GREAT TIME! WEATHER GORGEOUS! APARTMENTS V. BASIC (PATIO DOOR STIFF TO MOVE/KITCHEN DOOR HANGING OFF!) BUT CLEAN - NOT ENOUGH TOWELS THOUGH!

WOULD I RETURN TO THESE APARTMENTS AGAIN? YES!! AND THE MAIN REASON IS BROCK THE BARMAN! HE REALLY MAKES THIS PLACE - NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE - HIS FOOD IS DELICIOUS!

WE SPENT OUR FIRST DAY ON THE BEACH - BUT SOON REALISED THAT THE PLACE TO BE WAS BROCK'S BAR! WE SPENT ALL DAY AROUND THE POOL AND HE MAKES THAT PLACE SO MUCH FUN!

BALCONYS A NICE SIZE - SAT OUT IN THE MORNING AND HAD BREAKFAST.

A GREAT TIME HERE - A BARGAIN STAY - BOOK IT AND HAVE FUN!

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY by BD
8 / 10

I am just back from staying in the Solana Apartments. Myself and my boyfriend booked this last minute and only cost 180 euro for the week. After reading the reviews i was a bit aprehensive about staying in them, however my views changed when we arrived.

We arrived around 6pm and the reception was closed, but there was a notice on the door advising what room we were staying in.

The apartment was quiet big, and as from the other reviews they were quite old fashioned, but we werent put off by that, sure what would you expect for 180 euro. The apartment was spotless clean, no ants,cock roaches, nothing at all.

The one fault id have to admit, was that the shower has no HOT water in it. we could have complained to reception but our friends were staying in a different complex and we could wash there.and that suited us.But id say that they would have moved us we i did complain.

The cleaners came 3 times in a week. The kitchen has all utensils.

There was an option to rent a telly, toaster, and a safe, and all were great value.

the pool area is really nice, the pool is really big.Because we went in November there wasnt hardly anybody staying in the apartments and the pool area was quite empty and the watercold,But the weather was really nice.up to 30degrees some days.

All n all the apartments we great value for money and i would recommend to people who are on a budget.

  • Holiday details: Nov 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: LOVELY PLACE TO GO TO, YOUNG AND OLD
  • Activities: CANT MISS THE DOLPHIN TRIP, ONE WOMAN QUOTED" IL NEVER FORGET THIS TRIP FOR AS LONG AS I LIVE"
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Booked this very, very last minute... by B Gunning
9 / 10

Booked this very, very last minute and saw it as 'taking a chance'. Have to say that both my wife and I were very impressed with the resort and the apartments.

Having just returned home at the time of writing, we're very happy to recommend the place to anyone who isn't too fussy (as some of the previous reviews seem to be). Quiet, but not too quiet, far enough away from the Commercial Centre, but close enough not to be too far down the stairs (very good workout!).

If you're looking for a basic, clean, central location, with a cracking pool and plenty sun, then you can't really go wrong here.

Loved the review about 'only' seeing the barman once, when they only stayed one night before moving to 'Anfi'... enough said really!!! If timeshares are your thing, Solana probably isn't going to be your cup of tea in any case.

Didn't expect to be in the Canaries, let alone this apartment, but would go back and seriously recommend this to anyone wanting a cost-effective holiday.

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This holiday was off the scale! we... by Parker
10 / 10

This holiday was off the scale!

we had a wicked time in this wonderfull hotel!

i was so happy to be there me and my friends(kirsty,sherridan, amanda)

had a wicked time and i loved it lots thanks to all there

we met some wonderful people(jannet, lesley, martina)

you are all great people and the staff, were cuming again on the 6th august if the hotel

is not fully booked!!! xx

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Solana Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Solana Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Solana Apartments photos (9 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Puerto Rico

Hotels near Solana Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Solana Apartments?