Roulla Apartments

Zante, Greece
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(13 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 10/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Fabulous care and accommodation at Roula and Efi Apartments

"This is our 10 year at the Roula and Efi apartments and it feels like we have come home again. Elaine, Roula and Efi are more beautiful each year and Zaki is always so welcoming. Apartments are very clean, well equip, comfortable and views amazing. Elaine is our family and we have watched the girls grow to be beautiful women. Our holiday is always better than you can image because it is so perfect."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Be friendly and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere
  • Good For: Beach
by Fabfi99
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely location and accomodation

"Stayed at the Roulla apartments 6-13 September in room 12. All the reviews are accurate. Eleni is a very lovely lady, very kind and helpful. Our studio was light, spacious and very clean. Plenty of hanging and draw space. Large mirror over a chest of drawers with a marble top, made an excellent dressing table which is a bonus in Greek studios of this standard. Bathrooms are small and a bit tired, but clean and every thing works. Will definately go again."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012
  • Advice: There is no bar at Roulla but the Clio hotel just a few strides away are happy to let you take your drinks to the pool at Roulla, they also do nice breakfasts
  • Good For: Beach
by hodgetts
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful

"We recently went here on holiday for 2 weeks, first time here and on the island and had a wonderful time!

The apartments were lovely and in a lovely quiet setting away from the main town. Eleni was lovely and couldn't do more for you! She was great!

Town only about 5/10 mins away maximum. Really nice town with everything you need in it!

Would also recommend if you want some traditional greek food called Gyros then Paolos corner across the salt flats, near the Astoria Hotel, is the place to go! Food was lovely!

Very lovely island with plenty to do and would recommend getting a car to see every corner of the island!

Very enjoyable holiday, definatley going again and would recommend the island to anyone!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
by Rob
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brillant may 2010

" we first visted roulla ten years ago with only 6 studios i hurt my knee and had to have exray .eleni done every thing for me, and going back she has not changed one bit she is a loverly lady and she cares about everything if you need anything you only have to ask 10 out10 for rooms clean every day we will be going back.family are loverly eleni is there all day and most evenings .always greets you with a big smile. senta is only a small walk away very good places to eat beach 10 mins away enjoy if you have booked .if not get booking."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont wait get booking
  • Good For: Beach
by smokie
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We loved this place

"I first visited Alykes in 1997 and it hasn't changed that much over the past few years. We had a fantastic holiday in Alykes in 2009 so much so we have booked to return in 2010. Eleni is the most welcoming hostess we've ever had and in comparision to some other apartments we have stayed in Greece these are to a good standard. You can't wish for a better beach than the one in Alykes and we like the fact it is lined with some great beach bars and tavernas. For a moderately quiet resort there is plenty to do, although whilst there you've got to hire a car to discover Zante. Bring on June."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: One of the best beaches I've been to in Greece. The people in Alykes are really friendly and helpful
  • Good For: Beach
by ljkerr
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

tranquil, traditional and friendly

"I love these apartments so much I have been staying there for several years. I have stayed in other accomodation in Alykes, but nothing meets the standard of the Roulla. A family run complex, nothing is too much trouble (even with screaming kids in tow). The rooms are the cleanest I have stayed in in Greece and comfortable. Peaceful at night...all you here is the crickets and the odd low cheer of "yamas". Eleni (owner) and her family are exceptionally attentive to their guests. The village caters for all tastes, pockets and cultures. Small but friendly and the bar and resturant owners never forget you. For fast good quality food with a great variety for kids "relax" is best...althougha little noisy due to its crossroads location. For an intimate meal for 2 on the beach try Antilikos. The beach is perfect with shallow waters and plenty of tavernas and sunbeds. Palm tree is good to sit by. Would reccommend this resort to everyone."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: a real holiday away from it all
  • Good For: Beach
by mandifuters
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good, but only 'average' accomodation

"We had two apartments at Roulla as we were a family of five. Elena was a great hostess and very friendly. The pool and appartments were clean and regularly 'refreshed'. Our plan on a holiday is to eat out - this was just as well because the equipment level in the appartments is very poor. We were only provided with a toaster after a week and the number of utensils was very poor indeed. In addition, I was charged Euro20 for use of the safety deposit box, which I thought was way over the top.

Alykes is Ok but a bit too busy for us - we hired a car for 2 weeks and the north of the island is less spoilt. The local supermarkets have no fresh meat and the nearest butcher requires use of a car or public transport. All in all,if you are planning to eat in then these apartments are only average.

Elena would appear to have a very loyal following with people returning year after year. I hope that this review gives a more balanced opinion of the accommodation and the resort.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by nick3892
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Roula Apartments, Alykes

"I stayed at Roula last month and it was 'heaven!' Set in a quiet location, about 20 mins walk from the beach and centre, with breathtaking views of the wonderful, green mountains. Extremely clean and comfortable apartments (I was very lucky - a single traveller who had a room with a double bed and single bed in it, very spacious) Eleni, the owner is a very friendly, kind hearted person who would sit and pass the time September!!! MAGICAL!!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Quiet but beautiful.
  • Activities: All very good.
  • Good For: Beach
by julie a
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent

"Excellent studios in a lovely location and spotlessly clean too. We had no complaints whatsover. Eleni who runs the apartments is wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. Alykes is nice but was on the quiet side, probably because of the credit crunch. Best taverna by far was To Paradosiako, the food, service and atmosphere were all excellent and reasonably priced too. Also worth a mention was Ponderosa, a very good taverna. Whispers was a good bar to go in after a meal, especially if you are over 35. Beach was very good and only about 8 mins walk away."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: A very nice resort
  • Activities: To Paradosiako, an excellent taverna
by Wagstaff88
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This was such a wonderful and...

"This was such a wonderful and relaxing holiday which far exceeded expectations. Alyces is a lovely, friendly and fairly quiet resort but with a good selection of bars and restaurants. The beach is probably the best in Zante. Eleni who runs the Roula apartments was fantastic - smiling all the time and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were made very welcome. The accommodation was simple but extremely clean. The pool area was great and the views of the mountains superb. Roula is located next to other accommodation where there's a small restaurant and a couple of other pool areas. It's about 10 minutes walk to the beach. We'll definitely be going back again soon!"

by J Britton
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent accommodation, very clean ,...

"Excellent accommodation, very clean , lovely pool area, small and friendly. Eleni, the owner is very pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. The area is quiet but within easy reach of the village and backs on to open land. Nice beach.

Can also recommend Alykes car hire.

Try and visit family run "The Olive Tree Story Taverna" in Maries for lovely village food and good company and a sunset, about 12km from Alykes.

If your travelling south in the island stop at Haris And Anna's taverna on the road between Argassi and Porto Zorro as Haris says "its just out of the oven".
"

by D E Morgan
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This proved to be the best bargain I...

"This proved to be the best bargain I have ever had. I booked 4-5 weeks before and didnt really expect too much. Its a beautifully kept small complex with its own pool, set in a perfect location for peace and quiet, but with the most amazing view up into the hills and only 10-15 minutes walk from the beach and village centre. Eleni, who runs the place, never stops smiling and is hospitality itself, a mine of information and genuinely helpful and anxious for you to enjoy every minute of your holiday.

Alykes itself is quite small but with plenty of places to eat and drink. Speaking of drink, a few minutes away from the Roulla is the S B bar, run by a great guy called Nikos, who not only speaks excellent English but has an terrific collection of good music. Even closer is the Panorama bar/cafe and pool, on the corner. Run by the wonderful Sakis and his family, I can personally recommend this place for anything from a cup of tea, cold beer, bar snack up to a traditional Greek night. The family are truly hospitable people (I should know, I was invited to lunch twice. Its amazing what a bit of dodgy ungrammatical Greek can achieve). Tavernas I can recommend are Anatolikos (on the beach) Maestro (near the big supermarket) and "To Paradosiako" which is by the river halfway between the bridges. Try to get up to Katastari, the little village up the hill (a mile and a half?) there is a great taverna there as well, just near the church.
"

by J Harris
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Roulla Apartments

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Roulla Apartments
  • by nick3892

    " Three restaurants in order of quality - 1) Paradosiako 2) Anatolikos and 3) Asteria "

Similar hotels around Alykes

Hotels near Roulla Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Roulla Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Roulla Apartments? Share your insight.