Hotel Don Bigote

Carrer de Paris 1, Majorca 07181, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(103 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
35
Good
35
Average
14
Poor
5
Awful
14

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
good value for money. Couple in ealy sixties.

"My week was from the 30th September to the 7th of October.The Don Bigote was scheduled to close on 10th of October for renovation so will probably be less affordable in future. As stated in other reviews the room and balcony are a little bit on the small side but adequate.The bathroom is a good size and the obsolete bidet has been removed. The air conditioning is good.There are old fashioned radiators in the bedroom and bathroom.There were a considerable number of disabled guests and several sit on scooters are available in the lobby.

We stayed on the sixth floor and had no issues with noise from within the hotel and the street outside was reasonable with no undue noise.The 2 lifts were adequate. The hotel is in a good location and the beach and local shops and bars a short walk away.There were a couple of young parties booked in for hen do,s but they were on the lower floors. Apart from some of these unladylike ladies swearing around the pool area ( souse accents ) we had no issues. There were very few young children there so it did not really create a problem.

The restaurant was perfectly adequate for the star rating. The breakfast was the usual Spanish sausages and bacon which all the major can hotels serve. Egg choice was boiled or fried.My wife usually lives on scrambled egg so was disappointed. There was only one toaster so queues formed in that area.Plenty of cereal fruit yoghourt for non cooked breakfast people.The evening meal offered a good 2 star choice.

There is no TV in the room but we did not really miss it . The bar has only one small TV and prices are much higher than the surrounding bars so was not greatly used. Entertainment was just bingo and karaoke.

This hotel suited our needs.I would go again and bring my own small kettle as apart from no tea making facilities it meets all the basic needs.I hope the refurbish is not so extensive that prices rocket off.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013
  • Advice: Buy any provisions at the large supermarket about 3 hundred yards up the road. Hire an electric kettle.
  • Good For: Beach
by David M
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ideal for 16-18's Youth Hostel "Hotel Don Bigote"

"When you first see the Hotel Don Bigote you feel that it looks a fine hotel, its large pool covers the nice well kept gardens, the bars & reception look impresive, unfortunetly if only the brochure could talk it would tell a different story .

During peak season the hotel is over-run with drunk 16-18 year old kids , stag & hen parties, the one security guard at night is outnumbered with drunks making as much noise as possible annoying everyone throughout the night, the food is good, entertainment average and drink prices normal for a hotel, its a great pity the hotel is a battle field during peak season June-Sept, I would advise anybody over the age of 25 to give this hotel a miss unless you like 24/7 noise!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by janepercival
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't Go peak season July-Aug its then a 16-18" Hostel

"Just returned from Don Bigote, what a nightmare,we read the reports before we booked, unfortunetly we didn't read the ones from people that went july-aug, I think people should be warned that during peak months it turns into a 16-18 year old Hostel, I was ashamed to be british, drunk kids high on drink & drugs caused problems 24/7 swearing & throwing things from balconies, partying all night, knocking on doors then running away, the one security guard is unable to control the 7 floors at night, so the kids have a great time running riot.

Over-all the Hotel is ok during the quiet months, food is basic but OK, the rooms are tiny with no facilities but it is only a 2 star hotel.

The location is on a busy road & its central for beaches.

Entertainment is bingo & kareoke once a week, If you have the choice ,

I would book another hotel june-aug if you value your nerves & sleep.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Don't go june-august
  • Good For: Beach
by holidayprincess2012
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Genuine Travel Report on Don Bigote

"As regular travelers, we have seen many Hotels around the World, staying for a short break at the 2 star Don Bigote in July was not what we expected.

The Hotel from the advertising pictures looks impresive, and most travel companies give it a reasonable write-up, unfortunetly when you stay the night you soon realise what the place is realy like.

The pool is a very good size, unfortunetly its very deep 3m & has no staff maning it, bottles & rubbish etc are usualy floating in it during the afternoon, most of the sunbeds are taken by drunk teenagers recovering from the night before, the doors to the pool area open at 9.30am to allow the staff to clean up the mess.

Breakfast is typical english, sausage, egg, bacon & dinner is 6-9.30pm its horendous at 6-7 similar to a school canteen, but the food is basic & ok ( best time to go is 8.30pm when the teenagers are busy partying before they go out at midnight, at 5-6am they will return and then the hotel becomes a noisy time bomb, the one security guard is out-numbered with the gangs of drunk kids coming in shouting & swearing through-out the hotel, most travel reps know about this hotel and try & keep a low profile, due to the complaints during june-august,

To sum the hotel up, it realy is a Hostel for teenagers, stag & hen parties who want to party 24/7 with no sleep, its a cheap hostel £10 a night and you get what you pay for.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by travelrep2012
2 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nitemare !

"I booked this holiday with the opinion of not to expect to much, as it was cheap and cheerful.First impressions,were room was very small,bathroom ok, air conditioning did'nt work :(however it was relatively clean.We went for our evening meal,and it was passable. Early the following morning the room was cleaned well.

The following morning we sat around the pool, which was quiet first thing.But then it came apparent that the majority of people were 16-18. Who became louder and louder through out the day, as they drank more and more. We went for a siesta as you do when on holiday, and the hallways and bedrooms were alight with the kids having parties, hence no siesta.

And through the night was just a joke, They come trailing in from about 4 am - 7a.m. singing, shouting and throwing abuse, and knocking on all doors to wake everybody.

The next day around the pool was very much the same,except worse as chairs where thrown over the balcony, condoms being thrown over and these items merely missing people. Girls being sick in the bushes as they were still drunk from the night before. This was the pattern of everyday.

If you are very young and just don't want to respect anybody, and want to do exactly as you please you will love this hotel, as you will be allowed to do as you please. If you are an adult,and by the way I am not an old fogie I too like to party and have a drink. this hotel is not for you.

There are other hotels on the island at the same cost that are much much better, please choose them.

From reading reviews I can only imagine the good one's that are being wrote are from the young ones that caused riot.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Jet2.com
  • Advice: Book another hotel, not Don Bigote
  • Good For: Beach
by ceroc
1 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Terrible

"We have just returned early, got the first available flight back to UK

The Hotel should be called a Hostel for 14-18 year olds, the place is clean & food was good, at night the one security guard was strugling trying to control the gangs of disruptive teenagers who came in drunk at 5-6am screaming and throwing things from balconies, on our 4th night the Police were called in to try & take control, the hotel managment allow the situation, because it brings in cash from alcohol hungry kids.

This write up is fact! we havnt exagerated the story it happends from 2nd week june till august, the travel reps know about the hotel & its reputation but the companies still sent people there.
"

by keithmc
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Value!

"I stayed here for a short 4 day break in October 2011. I was pleasantly surprised that the Hotel was better than I was expecting after reading some of the reviews! The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable and all we needed for somewhere to sleep at the end of the day. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool area ok. Perfect location, very close to the beaches, shops and nightlife. Magaluf is practically on the doorstep but far enough away from all the noise, so not a problem. The food in this hotel was most definitely the highlight..... excellent! Lots of choice for both adults and children. Top quality! I suggest you get there earlier rather than later though! There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms and this is why the hotel is graded as 2 star but Id rate it much higher. They serve excellent coffee in the bar anyway so the travel kettle I took was never used! Im looking forward to going back again this October :)"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, booked with Alpha Rooms
  • Good For: Beach
by Andypandy1306
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Couldn't ask for more!

"Three women - mid to late 40's (well I turned 51 there lol) shared a room overlooking the pool. It was very cramped for 3, but we managed. We found the hotel excellent for the money we paid. The staff were always friendly and helpful, cleaners did an excellent and thorough job every day. We found the hotel to be surprisingly very quiet at night and had to be careful to keep the noise down ourselves. The breakfast was fine, but the evening meals were great - lots of variety. The location of the hotel was brilliant. Nightlife is just round the corner and Magalluf is just 10 minutes stroll away. Anyone that has anything negative to say about their stay at this hotel have to ask themselves are they just whinging or did they expect 4 star quality at 2 star prices."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, half board, booked with Teletext
  • Good For: Beach
by damoredamerrier
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

18 to 30 or Stag and Hen Nights!

"If you belong to one of the above then this hotel is for you!

The Staff are ok! but you have to wait and queue to get into pool area, opens at 9.30 The Staff are on guard at the door. Evening meal time queuing out of the hotel! Check food! not cooked enough! 5 euros for a gin and tonic!no entertainment, Young idiots shouting and swearing around pool,regardless of children! The list is endless!!4 euros per day to hire fridge!!! Air con that noisy cannot sleep with it on!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, half board, booked with MyTravel
  • Good For: Beach
by halky1
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"The hotel was very clean,the cleaners come round every day to clean the room and put clean towels in the room. The food was very good always plenty to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful.it's a 5 minute walk to the beach and only a 10 minute walk from Magaluf

to sum up our holiday we had a lovely time and would definitely use this hotel again
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by sunny
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel Fantastic

"great rooms very clean at the pool in the morning very spaceful great nightlife because you are a ten minute walk away from the nightlife in magaluf fantastic and a 15 minute walk to majorca that great to eat out so fantasic hoilday al in :)"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Party all the way
  • Good For: Beach
by Rydo
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ideal setting, very good quality 2 star hotel

"Just returned from a week long stay with my husband and wanted to say that we thought this was a very good hotel for the price. We only booked it as a last minute break and were worried after reading some of the reviews,However, these were unfounded! Food was of an excellent standard with plenty of choice, rooms, yes were not large but perfectly adequate for 2 people (did look a bit of a squash with 3 beds in though) Hotel was spotless, if slightly dated,room cleaned everyday and all public areas cleaned every morning.

Pool and pool area were also cleaned every morning and door not opened to the pool until around 9.15am until this was completed so people did tend to 'hang around' the door waiting to 'bag a sunbed'! This was funny to see as there was plenty for everyone!!

Location in resort was spot on, a couple of minutes walk to shops/bars etc and the beach which was amazing!

We would return to this hotel, however, the entertainment did let it down slightly as although it states 'frequent entertainment',this was simply bingo and karioke on Tuesday's and Friday's BUT, Palma Nova entertainment is only 2 minutes walk away!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, half boared, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Don't believe all you read, good quality,value for money hotel in excellent location
  • Good For: Beach
by Hels1
9 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Don Bigote Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 10.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Hotel Don Bigote photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Hotel Don Bigote
  • by molsieuk

    " Beach, Western Water Park, Panama Jacks "

  • by hayleyy.

    " you need to go to banana joes nightclub "

  • by sueb3452

    " Used The Willow english resturant good choice of food "

  • by sessles88

    " its great if u want the party life of magaluf nearby but dont want to be right in the centre of it. "

  • by Rachel168

    " Aqualand, marineland, pirates uncut is a must!! All bars and restaurant we went to were great! "

  • by barnes

    " The beach, and banana joes for a nite out "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Lovely place for families, couples or groups of friends, quieter than magluf but close enough. "

  • by travelrep2012

    " The local bus service will take you to many beaches on Majorca for only 2 euro "

Similar hotels around Palma Nova

Hotels near Hotel Don Bigote

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Don Bigote?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Don Bigote? Share your insight.

Hotel Don Bigote is also called:

  • don bigote
  • don bigote hotel

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, Majorca 07181, Spain