Sivila Studios

114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes 85100, Greece
2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(35 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
9
Average
6
Poor
2
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sivila Studios

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Very nice and pleasant stay at Hotel Sivila

"I visit every summer at least one greek island last summer i visit rhodes for first time. Normally im staying in 4-5* hotels but this time i prefer a 3* hotel because i thought that it was a good deal and i was right.sivila hotel provides low prices with high quality food and service. I was supriced with the variety of food that a have never seen even in 4* hotel. The location was beautiful with a marvelous beach near to the hotel. I stayed 2 weeks and i felt like my home the staff was very friendly and ready to help you for everything.

i recommend it for all of you when you like to visit rhodes island.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Mairy
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Low Prices perfect holidays

"We had our best holidays in an ideal place surronding with gardens and peaceful moments.

The swimming pool was perfect and the beach 100m away marbulous.

Sivila hotel provides quality food for all tastes.

Located in the perfect spot from Lindos, Faliraki and Rodos Town.

We recommended for the low prices and for relaxing moments which can you offer it.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: quality food relaxation
  • Good For: Beach
by Willy
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ex-Nursing Home - Awful

"When I say avoid this hotel at all costs, I mean it !!

We arrived at the hotel and chose it on the back of the lovely pictures from many websites to be seriously shocked at what we found. The pictures were lovely, big double bed with lovely fluffy pillows and what looked like nice rooms. You cannot imagine what our expressions where when we found the following:-

1. Human Hair left from the previous guests still on the floor.

2. Cats on the settee's in reception and on every floor.

3. Settee's wreaking of cat wee.

4. Shower curtain mouldy & torn

5. Food left in the fridge

6. Remnants of food left on the room cooker

7. Hand rails for the frail and elderly in each bathroom.

8. Panic Buttons next to the toilet.

9. Restaurant and eating area located outside.

10. Food Uncovered and left out in the open (Served with free flies).

11. A Cockroach in the Salad

12. Restaurant Floor being cleaned with a dirty mop and soda water from the drinks machine.

13. Towels washed out and not clean.

14. Sockets hanging off the wall

15. Restaurant closing early.

16. Staff very rude and not willing to help.

17. Safety deposit boxes (£25 per week) across the other side of the reception (out of view).

18. Entertainment provided (As long as you pay 5euros each)

19. Sheets Stained

20. No basic fire escape or fire equipment (One fire route led into somebody else's bathroom)

21. A mini-market the size of a broom cupboard with dust over all of the food.

22. False Ceilings adrift and falling in.

There are many more but too many to list, even experiencing the manager asking for some of the guests to "Get out of the Hotel, Just Go"

We were there for one long night having to suffer this whilst our tour operator moved us along with six other couples, enduring a guest screaming at 4am in the morning because the room was full of cock roaches.

The reports show the hotel to be in good walking distance to Afandou - Some state 15 / 20 minutes - Try 40 / 50 minutes or 8 euros in a taxl (one way).

Afandou - place of many hotels but only x2 bars, one which some of the guests ventured to for a drink (As the bar at the sivila had shut early, although being all inclusive). This is where the shocking news came that the locals remember the hotel being a home for the elderly in 2008. Sort of explains why some reviews were raving this hotel in 2007 but not in 2010.

A number of reviews have got this hotel mixed up with one in Rhodes Town so please, please do your review checking beforehand.

The local shop has closed down, the town is dead and there is nothing to do on the beach (Other guests report).

There is a little train into afandou that pulls into the hotel grounds, costs 2e's but try getting it back and you'll be there all day.

All in all this was a very bad experience and my first in 30years of traveeling abroad and one I hope I don't experience again.

The only reason we have listed it as a 1 is due to the values going no lower - Stay here at your peril , your choice but please be forewarned that the best thing this hotel needs is a bulldozer..
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Not to go there
by D-RUSTY
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Make your own entertainment

"When we arrived at this hotel it was about 4.00am after travelling all day you get dropped at the gates and have to walk to reception, where you are greeted (or not) by the receptionist that is not very helpful. On the 1st morning we had to find everything our selves as we were not shown where to eat,drink,sit,etc. The breakfast is the same every morning so if your not a lover of egg you may go hungry, as there is fried egg, bolied egg and ommlette. The greek sausage is nice though. The lunch is probably the best meal of the day with nice selections of food. The dinner menu is some of the things left over from lunch for example warmed up chips (not appeling). The hotel is well presented, the rooms clean and cheerful. there is an option to buy air con which is charged at 8 euros a day but can only book in a week block period, There is a option also for saftey deposit boxes which are at the side of reception they are charged at 25 euros for the week. Night times are the major down fall if you dont book with the other tour operater ecco, there is no enterainment as described on the internet. If you fancy a quiet drink it perfect but after a few days it would be nice for something to do or watch. The music that is played around the pool area and bar is the same 3 cds just changed every hour or so, after a while you know every song. if your complain about the music they will switch it off. some of the staff are quite abbrupt and not very helpful to say the least. when we was here we meet a couple that we became good friends with and made our own fun.

If you would like to travel into the center of afandou there is a little train that charges 2 euros each that take about 15 min, the train makes the trip every 2 hours. The center of afandou is basic afew supermarkets but nothing special, there is resturants and bars there also, you may find it hard buying presents to take home for friends and loved ones.

The rep that is assigned to the hotel visits twice a week for half hour at a time but sometimes turns up early and leaves early without informing you.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: There is little support from the rep and very very basis accomodation.
by MichaelandStacey
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Simple Greek Hotel

"We stayed at the Sivila Hotel in Afandou, Rhodes, in July 2010 for one week. We were pleasantly surprised with this little hotel. We had not paid a great deal for our holiday, All-Inclusive, so did not have high expectations but in fact the hotel was lovely. The rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. The staff around the hotel were very friendly, the food was excellent, the pool very clean, and the setting was very pretty. Although quite a walk from the centre of Afandou, there was a train that came via the hotel several times a day which would take guests into the village centre for only a couple of euros. The hotel was set in the countryside, but very close to the beach, which made it a lovely location and there were some pretty lanes to walk around close by. Other guests seemed to find a lot to moan about but we were surprised by this because their complaints were unfounded - in our experience, this was a nice little hotel and we would come again."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: If you are looking for a simple Greek hotel, this is for you
  • Good For: Beach
by Mitra
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic and pricey.

"Stayed here for two very hot weeks in August. Description said AC included-it is for a massive 112E for two weeks!!

The accomadation was very basic-no TV, no fridge and a shower that flooded the whole bathroom.We had 3 beds in our room which made it a bit cramped but a couple of others had 4 beds in so they had to climb over them to get round the room. The upstairs rooms were a bit better we were told.Only got clean towels twice during our stay and our beds were changed two days before we left-thye did change them if you were upstairs or if you stripped them yourself and threw the sheets on the floor!

The hotel is in a very quite area of Afandou and there is NOTHING around. The crickets drive you mad with the very loud continual noise all day and most of the night.

Most of the other guests were actually Polish and the 'Animator'(any one less animated I have yet to find) would only deal with them and their children.All the staff were Romanian and worked super hard , long hours for their wages.

The food was a mixture of fair and good-it got better the 2nd week after lots of complaints. Ate some really nice Greek food there.It is a bit of pot luck though as nothing is labelled-great if you like pork as this was served everyday.No puddings are supplied except melon or grapes. I found that there was always plenty of food unless you decided to go 20 mins before it closed. Breakfast was early 7am to 9.30. LUnch 12.30 to 2pm and then a long break until 7pm for dinner. Drinks were served from 7am until 10.30 pm but then you had to pay 4E for a beer, wine or LOCAL spirits. They still gave you the same stuff even when you paid.

We spent 1 day at the hotel and 1 day out which made this a pricey all inclusive deal-no packed lunches are offered. The local beach was in walking distance but there is nothing there so you had to take all your food and drink with you. The train takes you to the other beaches but not back! You could walk into Afandou but it was a good 20 min to 1/2 hour walk and who wants to do that in 45degree heat.

There are NO organised activities at this hotel for adults or kids.

We had a good look round the island and it is really nice. We would go back but not to this hotel-to far away from everything.Maybe pick Falaraki-cheaper and more amenities.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by pictureperfect99
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid at all cost!!

"Where to begin ?

We booked this hotel on the understanding it was a 3* hotel and within walking distance of Faliraki.

The pics on the website we booked on, barely resembled the actual hotel, which was 1hr 20 mins walk from Faliraki,and situated in what was soon nicknamed "beirut"

Even the transfers operator (local company) didn't know how to find it !

When we eventually got there, we were dropped off at the bottom of the drive, as the driver refused to go to the hotel entrance. We wondered what we had let ourselves in for??

Upon arrival, we were asked for our passports which they kept for 4days,(until we asked for them back) handed a key and left to find our room for ourselves.

In there, we found 2 Massive cockroaches, which when we told staff about these, the person from the desk came up but refused to go inside til one of the "cleaners" had sprayed them with a "special spray" that would keep them away.....pledge polish!

listed below is only a few things we had to endure in this place :

. Massive cockroaches in the toilet roll holder and wardrobe

.hardly any hot water

.shower flooded bathroom whenever used

. shared balcony with broken screen on window allowing access to both rooms

.Managerie of animals which sound as though they're being slaughtered in the night...ALL night !

. Food was cold, mouldy,undercooked,uncovered, not labelled

. drinks dispenser dispensed centipede type insects along with the drink when pressed

. some staff were friendly, overworked and often badly treated by other members of staff infront of guests,resulting in guests actually becoming involved to resolve the situation.

The list goes on trust me !

We decided to make the best of a bad job and go out every day. Afandou is a lovely, friendly place to visit, and we befriended a few of the locals, still keeping in touch with them now.

Faliraki has the most stunning beach,a must compared to the amazing beach at the end of the road according to poppy in the hotel.

We made a few good friends on this holiday and would definately go back to Afandou and Faliraki, but would strongly advise anyone planning to book this hotel to think again, as there are some really lovely hotels in the area for the same price.
"

by disheartened
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not go there.

"The worst hotel I have ever been. We went there all inclusive for 2 weeks and even if I was offered another 2 weeks for free I would not go back."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Purple Holidays
  • Advice: Please do not go there.
by Revi
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont do it

"my sister & i stayed at this hotel last week when we got there the pool was green & the rooms very basic. you can walk to the beach but there isnt a lot there.

there is no entertainment & you have to pay 56 euros for air conditioning its a rip off.

the staff are not friendly at all & the food is edible but thats it......

This does not work out to be a cheap holiday at all as you have to pay for taxis & the train to get anywhere!!!

Do yourself a favour & pay the extra for a better hotel with entertainment & a bit more to do.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: basic
by Ragga muffin
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Book somewhere else

"Firstly we were told this Hotel was in Faliraki (& this was written on our paperwork), we were told we were on the sandy beach & had an "upgraded" room due to our very late flight times; this was to include a TV with various channels, air con and a garden view. The hotel was on the outskirts of Afandou (about 10 mins away by car), the beach was a 10 min walk & was stoney, the TV had NO channels and you had to pay 8euro per night for a very crap air con system.

Our hotel room was filthy, pubic hair all over the bathroom and pigeons nesting on the balcony with their eggs. The bathroom was covered in mildew and the shower was only just big enough to stand in (it also flooded the floor everytime we used it!)We ended up buying our own fan which worked better, was cheaper & we have bought it home!

The pool was very nice, but was quite often taken over by large groups of Polish men who would through footballs as hard as they could at each other & not care about who else they hit.

The food was actually very nice most of the time & was always served outside, the only thing that spoiled it was the enormous amounts of flies that hung around so we had to eat fast.

Also if you are noise sensitive you will need to book elsewhere as there are bugs the size of a thumb that screech for about 12 hours everyday.

The only other complaint is with the all-inclusive drinks~they stop serving free drinks at 10.30. This wouldn't be a problem if there was somewhere else to go afterwards but there is NO-WHERE else to go. No pubs, clubs or restaurants.

The staff were always very helpful and friendly but seriously overworked.

I really would suggest booking elsewhere.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Media Travel
  • Advice: Book somewhere else
by Alixxxx
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Had to add my review after reading...

"Had to add my review after reading other reviews. My family (myself,spouse, 2 lads - 19/17 & daughter) we had a very good time. We also read that the accommodation was basic, but we went there with a open mind and to have a good time. We found that the guests in the majority all had a good time.

The village of Afandou was what I expected; bars & eateries each costing whatever could be afforded (did not have one bad meal, just that some weren’t as good as others).

The actual sightseeing was excellent, there were different ways of getting to where ever, by land or sea both pretty exciting. Rhodes Old Town is a must to visit.

After spending 2 excellent weeks at the Sivila and having made some good friends which in all made the stay that more enjoyable. We found the staff friendly & helpful.

Yes, the Hotel was basic but had everything we needed.

The pool was used every day, we had many hours of fun with most people joining in the games that we set up. (l am disabled but that was a minor hurdle which was crossed with everybody joining in and having a good time).

Sadly the holiday came to an end, but we would certainly go back there.

Here’s to the next visit.
"

by K Hill
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Having stayed at Siliva for 2 weeks...

"Having stayed at Siliva for 2 weeks with my Dad I found the studios were not very well equipped: 2 plates, dishes, pots, knives, forks, 1 teaspoon, no cooking utensils whatsoever, no toaster, the 2 ring cooker took ages to boil anything. I asked George for a kettle and I got one immediately.

The hotel staff were fine if you were ok with them. The young girl at the pool bar was great though the prices were very high there. All the guests there were British. The rep Lou was great, very friendly, it was her first season there she helped when she could.

The Greek night was really nice buffet style apart from one of the staff moaning how much you ate.

The pool was freezing and the beach was very pebbly with sharp stones and very steep. Had to buy swim shoes. The beach at Faliraki is best. Bus fares are very cheap; the bus-train from the hotel to Anfandou centre is 2 euros each way which is about a mile. You can walk though, over a manic highway.

Rhodes town is really lovely but really hot in the old town. Many of the guests were complaining about their rooms. We must have got the best one there, no complaints at all.

To sum it up, I don’t think I would not stay in Afandou again but I would definitely go back to Rhodes again.
"

by J Smith
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Sivila Studios Closest airport: Athens Eleftherios Venizelos International (ATH) 2.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sivila Studios photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Sivila Studios
  • by pictureperfect99

    " Great for couples who want nothing to do not good for families. "

Similar hotels around Afandou

Hotels near Sivila Studios

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sivila Studios?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sivila Studios? Share your insight.

Sivila Studios is also called:

  • sylvia hotel afandou

Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes 85100, Greece