Lovides Apartments

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(13 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
3
Good
4
Average
1
Poor
4
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 7/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 7/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
A different place

"I notice that your reviews are out of date and want to set the record straight. A change of management has brought new life to Lovides Village apartments. The apartments are basically but adequately furnished. They are cleaned every other day, towels and bed linen are changed at the same time. The one down side is that many apartments do not have a sea view. The pool and bar areas are cleaned daily. The food that Kelly and Theo is tasty, their BBQ will keep you going for days. We have just returned from 2 weeks there and would not hesitate to recommend them."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Cafe Muses has a live DJ every Saturday night, good entertainment.
  • Good For: Beach
by trinigirl
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

lovidis, lordas

"I've just spent a bit of time reading some of the reviews posted, and felt I had to do the same.

myself and my partner first stayed at the lovidis in the summer of 2007 for two weeks, my partner has been to kefalonia many times but this was my first visit.

katrina and her family made us very welcome and couldnt do enough for us, the studio was spotless, cleaned regular and well equipt, pool area was clean and pool cleaned every night, food served was good value for money. only slight moan was we were at the back of the complex and had no sea view, but it didnt spoil our holiday we had a wonderful time, lucy (barmaid) was a joy to behold and we spent a few of evenings having a laugh with her and her friends.

We enjoyed the holiday so much that we decided to return last august for two weeks, remembering no view last time I booked studio with sea view this time, although it pains me to say it, I have to agree with some of the comments made. standards had dropped badly, we had to stay in ground floor studio 1st night as no room with view till next day, when we did move, the room was dirty (cleaner had just done it???), toilet didnt work, had to have it fixed 4 times!! cooker didnt work properly, the food was nothing like we remembered, pool and area was very tired looking, it just seemed like no-one could be bothered!! We spent a lot of time out and about, we both enjoy walking and found some great walks, (not for the faint hearted) the aphrodite bar and spiros are good places to eat, we hired a car for a few days and went across to zante, we had a great time. the island is beautiful and so peaceful and unspoilt, we will go back this year as we can think of no other place we want to be and we have done a lot of travelling in our time. but unfortunately we will not be going back to the lovidis.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by kathy.kelly
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Filthy

"We stayed at Lovides Studios for a week in September 09. Having taken numerous holidays of this type we appreciate that Greece self catering is basic but we at least expect to have 2 knives and forks, two tea spoons and two mugs, we didn't. I had to go down to the 'pool bar' and ask for some. We also expected to have clean and whole towels, we didn't, the ones we were given were grey, torn and had holes in. Our room was filthy, the shower was completely blocked and full of scum and the bathroom bin was not emptied at all. Nothing would have enticed us to enter the pool as it had insects floating in it and swirls of oil and scum covered the surface. We took numerous photographs but the attached of the pool barstools somehow sum it up. If Olympic Holidays think that these furnishings are fit to be in the area their 'Welcome Meet' is held what does it say about their standards. We have visited this island before and love it, we will definitely return but Lovides Studios will be given a wide berth."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great beaches
  • Activities: The Planetree Tea Rooms
  • Good For: Beach
by betty benny
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Rather grubby to say the least.

"We have visited this beautiful Island three times, staying in self catering accommodation in the Svoronata area. Our visit to Lourdas was a last minute booking,if booking two weeks ahead counts as last minute, and unfortunately a holiday at the the Lovides was the only option due to tight timescales. At first glance the accommodation looked good, small 'bungalows' set into a lush green hillside with banana palms, various trees and colourful flowers. We stayed in B7, an appartment with a small terrace and grassed area to the side, the side window gave us views of a dying palm and the wall of the next building, the second allowed us views over the terrace to another wall. A notice in the room informed us that the room would be cleaned once during our stay ( one week) when towels and bed linen would be changed. No clean and no new bed linen! Crockery was limited, no bowls for breakfast cereal, drining glasses and mugs didn't match and ther wasn't a kettle!. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Tiles were grubby and the shower tray was grimy. The water pressure was ver low. It was impossible to clean your teeth at the basin due to the trickle of water so the shower was the only option :(. We were told that the toilet and general bins would only be emptied once during our stay - we had to empty the toilet bin ourselves - but that wasn't a problem as we only used it for floss and toilet roll tubes :). The bar was 'staffed' by youngsters no older than 15. There were usually four of them lounging around. The bar was cluttered with used glasses and full ashtrays. The owners dog had recently given birth to four pups who lived in a box behind the bar. Sun beds were very grubby and required a large towel before lounging on them was an option and the pool was not clean with dead flies floating on the surface. We hired a car an toured the island for five of our seven days and as usual we weren't disappointed, Kefalonia is a beautiful beautiful island. Lourdas is quite isolated and very hilly. There are a few excellent tavenas serving a wide range of greek and european cuisine, The Olive Loungs, Captain Zorbas and Spiros were our favourites. Please don't let my review of the Lovides put you off visiting Kefalonia there are many fine places to stay but unfortunately the Lovides did not live up to our expectations."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Thikn carefully about where you stay
  • Activities: The Olive Lounge
by Liz Pennington
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Be warned!!!

"If you are easily pleased, then dont hesitate to go here and stay in room D4.

Otherwise for all you normal intelligent people, please stay well away. This place is just an absolute insult. Its filthy. And if you dont mind the owners dogs sitting on the loungers grooming their genitalia probably after they have left doggy parcels within the grounds, which i had to step over, then go for it! Hmm bar food served by staff who just love to stroke the doggys by the pool, aw how sweet. We couldnt have been so misled about this place. We had no help from Olympic who proudly promote this place (shame on you}so we left the very next day and drove elswhere on the island. We love Greece and will always return. Lovides are greedy so shame on you too.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by ghawazee
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wonderfull

"we have just returned from the lovides we had a ground floor studio which had a seperate kitchen area although very basic we were able to prepare meals although we had no spoons (2 teaspoons)! We stayed in D3 the shower was powerfull with constant hot water although i did hear that the studio above had water pressure probs the rooms were very clean and cleaned midweek the cleaner was lovelly Katerina her family and staff were all very happy and helpfull nothing was to much trouble. we found the food at the pool bar excellent value for money huge greek salads for 2 cost from 4euros wine was 1euro and mythos a litre 2euro the supermaker in the village offer 116euro to the pound at petros store. the beach is about 3km far to much to walk in the 106degrees during the day it was impossible for my mother of 72years, but she wants to return 2010.lots of lovely restraunts my fvourite value for money was spiros also nearest studios too 10mins up steep hill we found the whole holiday to be very inexpensive wine in supermarket marias, 2-20euro1-5litres taxis expensive, car hire resonable and neccesary if you want to see the island the only noise during the day sat by the pool was crickets and bells around the necks of the goats on the mountain side!!!!!! the views were stunning."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: very quiet
  • Good For: Beach
by chele
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lourdata

"i really did love it there the rooms were brilliant. I would recommend the upstair rooms in D (D4,D5 and D6). They have amazing sea views and are the biggest rooms . RENT A CAR it is soooomuch more cheaper and easier. also dont walk to the beach it is far to hilly. there is no tv so you have no idea what is going on anywhere witch is quite nice.VERY EXPENSIVE. but a lovley place"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: choppy seas
  • Activities: andromida friskrada mirtos beach
  • Good For: Beach
by cheerleader
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovidas Loudas

"I have stayed all around Greece and understand that you get what you pay for. Just come back from staying at the Lovidas for 10 days. We had no hot water all the time we were there and at one point no water at all!. We did complain to the rep Rhianan and to Katerina but nothing happened. The rooms were cleaned twice during out stay, but I did expect the bathroom bin to be emptied on a daily basis. We were told that if we wanted the bin emptied more regularly then there was a bin outside, never had to do that before. The pool area was quite clean, the bar was not so clean so eating at the pool bar was not an option for us. There are two dogs always around the pool area and at one point there was dog muck that wasn't cleaned up for quite a while.

The hills were horendous to say the least, not a good idea to try & walk up while the sun is still out!! Although the Libra Grill Bar was a good stop half up the hill for a refreshing Mythos!

There was a beach bus last year but it no longer runs unfortunatly. You do need transport, there are car/moped hire places.

The nearest beach is 1.5km down a very steep hill. Trapesaki beach according the sign is 2km but it's more like 4km!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Activities: Libra Grill Bar
by Helen Sheffield
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Although basic, you are booking a...

"Although basic, you are booking a self catering place.

Our room was very clean (and cleaned 3 times a week), big enough and had a balcony area big enough for 2 chairs, a table and plenty more room. The staff at Lovidas are very friendly and there are several "nights at the pool bar" if that's your thing.

There are a handful of restaurants of VERY good quality just 5 minutes walk into the villiage. All of them are very quiet with excellent staff and the most amazing food. We ate out every night pretty much for 2 weeks and didn't have a bad meal. If you are in the area you must check out Casa De Blue. The food is the best we had and the owner was very friendly and welcoming.

There are a few supermarkets along the villiage road, all open quite late. There is only one taverna on the villiage street, but the drinks and view will make you want to go back anyway (it's called the Astra Bar). Again, pretty quiet.

The hill. It's big. We are in our early 30's and quite fit ... we did it a couple of times. You certainly couldn't do it every day and def not before 6pm when the sun has calmed down a bit. We hired a scooter for the first week for 100E and it was great for just going around the area.

All in all - beautiful island and beautiful food.

We saw the whole island in the second week in a hire car from CBR (really good company) - Lourdas is the best on the island if you want a get away without much going on apart from good beaches, good food and great people.
"

by B Goddard
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We all know you get what you pay for...

"We all know you get what you pay for and this was a cheap holiday however the Lovides studios was more than basic. Our towels were ripped, the first set of 'sheets' were'nt even cotton and had that 'very used' feeling , we had one tired pillow each - a prison bed could'nt be worse. The 'kitchen' untensils looked as though they had been pinched from somewhere else - nothing matched etc - Some other reviewer mentioned having the studio cleaned 2/3 in a week - well ours was certainly not - once only in our week, and then that was'nt the floor.

You were lucky to get any hot water - infact any water at all, as the pressure kept giving out

We did'nt hang around there at all, mostly as the pool area was dominated by the family from h.... - but loved the island and hired a car and when staying around Lourdas we went to the Lara Hotel, near the beach, which was very nice and clean.

Good food all around Lourdas, exception being (for us) the Magic Hill - lovely setting, but rubbish, expensive meal -

The Lovides is along way from the beach - very hard work to walk back up the hills, especially in the blazing sun.

Generally, we felt it was a one way ticket for the Lovides owner, her way - the convertible BMW parked on the driveway sort of says it all -
"

by A M Enever
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We've just come back from a week...

"We've just come back from a week staying at the Lovides Studios and have had the most fantastic time. The room was spot on, it had everything we needed. The self catering facilities were basic but to be honest the only self catering we did was bowls of cereal and coffee! Good sized fridge for water and wine (all you need really)! The view from our balcony was amazing and we could see Zante (Zakynthos) in the distant.

The pool area and bar was also very good and had an amazing view. Katerina and the other staff were very friendly and helpful. Lucy a cracking barmaid (he he he)! Katerina organises a BBQ which is usually on a Thursday and the food was fantastic, you could go back for more but we were way too full up! There is also a quiz which is a good giggle and gave us the chance to meet lots of other guests.

The local restaurants are within walking distance but you need a torch at night. Overall we have really enjoyed our time in Kefalonia it is a beautiful Island, the people friendly and the food great - we didn't want to leave (a week was way too short) we are hopefully going to come back very soon! We will definitely stay at the Lovides Studios again!
"

by R Haines
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed at the Lovides Studios in...

"We stayed at the Lovides Studios in Sept 06 and as it was a cheap last minute deal we were not expecting very much.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived as the apartments were in a lovely area and the view was great.

We had a ground floor apartment which did not have the great view that the upper ones had but we didn't mind as it was very clean and had a fridge and a couple of rings for cooking.

It was basic but had all you need for a self catering holiday. The owners were very friendly and considering this only has a 2 star rating we couldn't really fault it.

There was the occasional problem with lack of hot water (although I never experienced this, my husband did a couple of times - should get in the shower quicker!).

The beach was lovely and after reading other reviews about the trek up the hill back to the apartments I would have to say that it is a bit of a killer in the heat. I'm fairly fit but I didn't look forward to that hill every day, although I did make myself walk up it as a bit of a workout!

Lourdas was lovely with some nice restaurants but it isn't somewhere to go if you're looking for lively nightlife, more a nice meal and a few drinks before strolling back to your apartments.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Lovides Studios to anyone and if anyone sees a lovely brown Labrador-like dog hanging around, give him a pat from me!
"

by  J Pryce
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Lovides Apartments

Travellers also viewed

Lovides Apartments photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Lovides Apartments
  • by Helen Sheffield

    " Transport is essential unless you don't mind hiking!! "

  • by ghawazee

    " Get a car, its well worth it to see the island, beautiful!! "

  • by kathy.kelly

    " its beautiful, but not for people with young children or walking difficulties "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Lots of nice people, good food and nice beach but big hill back up if no car. buses? hmm none about. "

Similar hotels around Lourdas

Hotels near Lovides Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Lovides Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Lovides Apartments? Share your insight.