Bella Vista Apartments

Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(61 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
32
Good
11
Average
6
Poor
5
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Bella Vista Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Brilliant! by catbabe
9 / 10

We came back from Bella Vista last Tues after spending two weeks. The views overlooking the sea, incredible.The staff and particularly Rale the barman were great. Rale was v entertaining and professional and worked v long hours and worked alone. His humour was great. There was a limited amount to do so we got rather drunk around the bar on an evening and did some dodgy karaoke. We met some wonderful people, cheers Geordie John, Belfast Bob and Sharon, Leicester Neil and lovely Carli from Bolton. Made some wkd friends. Only downside, no vegetarian option on otherwise splendid menu. Also if you're animal lovers, there are too many poor strays. We fed the hotel cats, so please continue to do so. Word needs spreading to implement neutering pogrammes on Crete and of course many countries. Overall brilliant holiday. Lovely apts and we travelled on a package deal, well worth it. We'll be back! Janey, Bear and Col xxxxx

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, self catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: More vegetarian options on menu

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Superb! by Annie
9 / 10

Before i left for this holiday i had certain reservations about the accomodation after reading the reviews. Yes! on arrival i was dragged up to the room at the top, a situation that at the time i did not welcome. The next morning i sat on the balcony looking out onto the most beautiful view i have ever seen in Greece. After a day around the pool chatting to Katarina ( a local genius ) i took up my supplies to my room and from that moment loved every moment of the seclusion and beauty of the accomodation

I have been to greece many times and know that basic accomodation is standard, this is something i clearly expected. I believe that many bad reviews on here reflect first time travelers to Greece. If you have a passion for this amazing country i believe you will love this place, the hospitality is first rate, the locality is escapism and the food is astounding. One more tip, try Mikes place, it doesnt sound very Greek but this restraunt was as close to the real Greece i have found in years.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, self catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: book a low room to be near the bar, request a higher room if you need to relax but be aware there is a few steep steps

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2nd Visit update by MAC
8 / 10

Second stay was 1st 2wks in Oct, just returned. No real probs, staff still very helpfull, maid sevice very helpfull/good,extra blankets requested,as now getting cold at night.! Could do with some brighter lights by mirror/bed area. Low watage bulbs used through rooms/complex,so unable to read or apply makeup(wife not me!) by mirror ,but patio light v/bright.!So every body reads on the patio,encouraging mossies, that the owners then have spray,as most people leave the lights on.!! Not a big issue, but inconvenient. Would I recomend it.? Yes, would I return,? Yes,...Quiet,good views higher up,but more steps! A walk into Sissi 15 mins for more restaurants/options.But good value deal. Hope to return again in May/Sept

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, s/catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: quiet,steps,views at higher level

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holidays by tritri
10 / 10

I have been to the bella vista many many times. I can say that the staff are not theives they are very nice people that cannot do enough for people. As for a rep not translating for people, may i say that they sometimes work 70 hours a week, they cant do everything.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Very peaceful
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Could have been better by mar1
5 / 10

stayed at the Bella Vista in September 2010 the hotel itself was okay but having a room overlooking the bar is not helpful as the hotel plays music till quite late well till early hours of the morning.

The distance to the bus stop and the hotels to get to other places is beyond the joke, i like walking but 45 minute walk to the bus stop in Greek heat is just madness, the hotel should put on more than one shuttle bus for those that dont want to get up at the crack of dawn to catch the bus.

The staff are very helpful the Olympic Rep is rubbish though she dont know what she is talking about and her directions take you to no mans land if your going to hire a car then Bella vista is fine

oh the pink flamingo restuarant is the best in sissi to try it out

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: dont bother unleess you are hiring a car

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Late Review !!! by MAC
8 / 10

We booked an early hol,to get a break and to view some property(MAY 2010)first customers in this season.! Found all the staff helpfull,and efficient.! ALL aspects of the place we found good.? Having read the latest reviews with amazement,I can only conclude that, they have had a few local problems.? Will be returning in Oct 2wks will review again,with a new update . WATCH THIS SPACE!!!!!

  • Holiday details: May 2010, self catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Steps to rooms

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Apartment 12, Bella Vista by Mandi
4 / 10

Just got back from Bella Vista in Sissi, well it was a good 20 minute walk to the local supermarket, beach wasn't very good, apartment 12 was very basic to say the least. Ants in kitchen area constantly, got bitten to death every night by something (certainly wasn't mosquitoes). Very dark even during the day, had to have lights on all the time. Right by the cleaners store so was woken up most mornings by them arriving and banging around. Owners not that helpful when we needed to keep room on as we had a night flight home. Got kicked out of room at 6pm did not fly until 4.20am following day. Heard of others having things stolen i.e. phones, we only had beer taken out of the fridge. Would not go back to Bella Vista Apartments. Only good point was the cats!! Pool very deep and slippery to walk round.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We can verify the thieving and wouldn't return! by brit
2 / 10

We visited the Bella Vista for a period of two weeks during August and we can verify that items were certainly stolen during our time even though we kept all windows, shutters and doors locked at all times as well as when we went to bed. Thankfully we kept our valuables either on us or in the safety deposit box. Having young children we felt like prisoners in the evenings just to keep ourselves safe. We found the Olympic Rep unhelpful when guests had items stolen as they were told that they should have read the sign keeping doors locked. However you do not expect people to enter you accommodation while you are sleeping inside. They were told to get a taxi to the police station to report the theft. As we had hired a car we were able to offer a lift in time of need.

We were not happy with the cleanliness of the accommodation or the maintenance. For self catering units our unit was only equipped with one plate and the smoke alarm we found did not have a battery!! We requested to be moved from our accommodation as we were awoken every night at 4am with the sound of rats in our ceiling. We were told that it was cats. They did honour our request by moving us and we were able to have a better nights sleep but we noticed another family was put into this accommodation immediately after we had moved. A few days later a rat was seen exploring the grapevines close to the property. Perhaps rats are known as cats in Bella Vista. On a more cheerful note the setting and pool were lovely. Needless to say we will not be visiting again!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

bella Vista take two by ton
10 / 10

just returned from a great holiday at the Bella Vista Sissi. This is the second time we have stayed here and I must say we thoroughly enjoyed it a much the second time as we did the first. The accomodation is basic but clean but it's better than you would expext for 2*.it is a family run business and they all really friendly and helpful especially Christina who runs the bar during the day. The food is excellent and very good value for money. In fact we are now seriously considering booking for the next year as we can't get it out of our mind, the good atmosphere the weather the views and georgeous food we eat and not forgettng Mike's restaurant a traditional greek taverna in the village of Sissi with home grown produce and excellent home made wine. All in all an excellent holiday. we also got the chance to Visit Satorini for a day one of the most visited islands in the world an unforgetable experience.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely location shame about the theiving! by Amy & Ken
1 / 10

we have just returned from our honeymoon at the Bella Vista the pool and bar area are lovely and the view is spectacular but unfortunately things were stollen from our room, the staff rumaged through my case and took quite a nice expensive top a pair of brand new knickers and they also raided the fridge. we found out at the airport that we werm't the only people to have things stolen there was several others in the same week one of which reported it to the rep and when they went to tell the police the rep wouldn't go with them even though there is a language barrier. we also met a family while we was away and there son went in the room to get something and he ran out again because he saw someone in the room and when they went back in the person was gone. Sissi as a village is gorgeous and we would return again but we would never go back to the Bella Vista no matter how beautiful the views are.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bella Bella Bella Vista by chris and Mel
10 / 10

Just returned from 1 week holiday at Bella Vista apartments in sissi Crete, first time in Greece. Superb hospitality from the lovely family owners, counldn't be more helpful. Basic accomodation, well kept (the maid even did the washing up and striaghtened the tolitries).Pretty quiet location.

Different special Greek food every night, more than happy to cater for all your needs ie:vegetarian. Very reasonable priced food and drink.Location 10 minute walk from Sissi town. Travelled with Olympic, very well organised with Rep and owners.

All in all couldn't fault the place.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First Time to any Greek Island. by The Scots
10 / 10

My husband and I just got back from Bella Vista on 30th July. To be honest I never read reviews of any sort because everyone enjoy's different things about their holidays. As this was the first time I was going to Crete and with my three children and had only booked it last minute over the phone thought I would try to find out a bit about the Bella Vista and was absolutely astonished to read the comments most of them stating NOT suitable for young children and families and yet was assured by the travel agent this was the place for us.

We arrived at the apartments at 7.45 to be met by Christina and ditto all the previous comments about her being as friendly and helpful as she could I have been to places where no-one meets you and you have to find your way to your room alone. We had 4 suitcases 2 pushchairs a 1 year old a 2 year old and only 3 pairs of hands and had all the stairs to climb to room 19 but plenty of help from staff and family to help us.

My apartment was clean and tidy but as for the comments about the toilet roll most SELF CATERING places don't provide you with anything its not a hotel its apartments.

We ate at the bar that night and by the time we got back to our room the temperature was unbearable, reception was closed it was 10pm and Mike couldn't be more helpful by giving us the control for the air con and we could settle up the next day.

That was our first impressions of the place and it stuck for the remainder of the holiday.

We had a fab time and would go back. If you do you can ask Rali for a Phil Collins and tell him the Scots Family Rob Wallace sent you.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Yes

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Bella Vista Apartments? Share your insight.

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Bella Vista Apartments
  • by Amy & Ken

    " keep your cases locked and don't unpack at the bella vista and definately rent the safe "

Similar hotels around Sissi

Hotels near Bella Vista Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Bella Vista Apartments?