Regina Gran Hotel Salou

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(43 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
21
Good
14
Average
5
Poor
3
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6.5/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 7/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Oct Hols

"We were at the hotel last year and enjoyed it so much we have booked again for this year. It has all you need, it is clean, has some entertainment and more importantly if you are going outwith July and August, a heated indoor pool. Not many of these in Salou! The food was good and the staff were lovely with my two children. A really enjoyable holiday for us."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book it!
  • Good For: Beach
by Simpsons
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

4**** but not as the English know it

"Aug 2009 - I would not return to this Hotel - Sunbeds are chained up around the pool until 10am each day, and once they were unlocked by the lifeguard it was a free-for-all scramble! (Approx 150 sunbeds for a Hotel with 290+ rooms), the sunbeds are stacked 20-25 high and we saw many accidents and injuries during our week stay at the Regina. No Parasols around the pool.

The Pool was far too small for this size hotel & also had many tiles missing around the steps (again we saw many injuries and cuts due to this hazard).

The security on this resort was terrible, everyday we heard about keys/bags/money/wallets/suitcases being stolen from various places within the Regina.

There were very few English families while we was there and the kids club/night entertainment was all in Spanish. Drinks here were very expensive. Salou Beach = 14Euros for 2 Sunbeds.

On a more positive note the food was very nice (lots of variety), the rooms were average but clean (excluding the ants!) and we had fresh sheets and towels everyday.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Be Careful & Take Alot of Money
  • Good For: Beach
by D3bbie
3 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My stay in the Regina Gran Hotel Salou

"Hi,

My two kids and I stayed in the Regina Gran Hotel in July 2006 and July 2007 and overall found it to be excellant, the food was delicous with a wide variety of food for all age groups. The Hotel itself was spotless. I didn't go in July 2008 as I had decided to try another resort in Spain but I am heading back in July 2009 for 10 days and am really looking forward to it. The kids love it and enjoyed the kids club. The Hotel is so handy to the town and a lovely walk to the beach and Puertoventura theme and water park which are both great for any time of the day.

Great time had by all.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2007, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Great hoiday resort
  • Activities: WATER PARK AND THEME PARK
  • Good For: Beach
by annemcalinden
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

i have stayed at the regina gran on 2...

"i have stayed at the regina gran on 2 occasions and found the hotel to be very friendly and clean. when i went the 2nd time the receptionist remembered me which i was astounded. we thoroughly enjoyed our stays there and would definitely reccomend it to anybody. food was very good choices for everybody. the pool was a bit small for the size of the hotel but it never bothered me as it was late in the season when we went and the pool was cold only suitable for the hardy like myself. found it rather amusing as there were old aged pensioners there from other parts of spain on some sort of trip and i dont think any of them had brought a purse coz i never saw one of them buy a drink. bless...."

by nutty tart
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

me and my family have rencently just...

"me and my family have rencently just stayeed at this hotel. We all thought it brilliant there is entertainment, good food and its very clean. Also the hotel in its self its very nice . There is alot of things to do and its right next to the beach . I would consider it everyone :)"

by Rr Rimmer
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel, with very friendly...

"Great Hotel, with very friendly helpful staff. The food was excellent in buffet style. Kids could eat what they wanted and they even had a healthy section for those of you that may have been dieting for your holidays and did not want to put the weight back on.

Was as usual surprised by the number of people who felt they needed to steal their lunch whilst having an enourmous breakfast!

The one and only one downside I found to this hotel was the fact that you had to be up at the crack of dawn to be in any chance of getting a sunbed, we cant blame everything on the germans!

A very relaxing hotel, make sure that you buy your tickets for the theme parks before you go and be prepared to wait in long queue's if you go during the day. Evenings are a lot better with not many queue's at all. You will have to stomp up a good wedge of cash to enter on the day, we managed to get 14 days for the price of 3 by booking in advance with Keith prowse.

Enjoy, as we did!
"

by C Sheehy
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just got home after 10 days at the...

"just got home after 10 days at the regina gran hotel 25/07/08, this is the second year we have stayed at the regina gran, we last stayed there in july 2007, ther was a marked difference in the hotel this year, i marked it 10/10 last year

although i must say that the staff are all very nice friendly people and will go out of their way to help and most speak very good english, just as well as my spanish is very basic, the hotel rooms are very basic but always very clean and comfortable.

the rooms are cleaned daily to a very good standard with fresh towels and clean bed linen, my wife and i stayed with our 5 year old daughter and we felt that this year the food standard had dropped dramatically from last year and there was a very repetative menu, the hotel entertainment we held outside on a stage erected by the outdoor cafe/bar( it was too hot to be indoors anyway) but the entertainment was a bit bland and boring, plenty of bars and restaurants only 10 mins walk away on the sea front, the regina gran is not a place to stay if you are not able to walk far as it is a fair walk to the beach and port aventura theme park and it is quite hilly for some people to manage,

salou area is very good for all ages with plenty of activity on the beach front day or night and plenty of good quality bars and restaurants and the nice fishing port cambrils only a 10 min bus ride away
"

by K Wells
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Im just back there from Salou. i...

"Im just back there from Salou. i arrived with my family on the 7/7/08 and returned 17/07/08 and this hotel was just perfect. Room always cleaned and fresh towels, food was exceptional and all staff were very friendly. Its a 15 minute walk away from Port Aventura and a 2 minute walk away from town! The only thing negative was that the drinks were very expensive, but they are like that in any hotel in Costa Dorada nowadays! I would go back to this fantastic hotel, tomorrow if i could.

Well recommended!
"

by C Byrne
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Still In The Regina Gran Hotel At...

"Still In The Regina Gran Hotel At this Minute,And Loving Every Minute of It.

the staff Are Friendly,Food Is Lovely,Room Was Always Clean!!!

So Overall It´s Great

The Drinks Were Priced,And Breakfast was To Early

Portaventura Was A Great Place To Go.

handy with Kids As well

But A Great Hotel ,Stay Here
"

by Donna W,
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The hotel was very nice, rooms were...

"The hotel was very nice, rooms were nice and cleaned everyday the food was good evening meal especially (breakfirst not so much). the pool was nice but only went in it once as you could never get a sun bed as there went very many there so it was first come first serve. the entertainment in the hotel was good for children as they have discos and games rooms but for the adults there really wasnt much to do there was entertainment but is seemed to be the same thing every night (a man playing a keyboard and singing in spanish) on one of the nights there was a variety show which includes dancers and fire eaters that was brilliant. also it is quite dear for drinks in the hotel. outside of the hotel there is a short walk to the beach which is nice and clean. and also a short walk to the shops and resturants you are in the center for everything really so its a good place to stay if you dont like walking, but you can always get a little blue train that drives round the resort every half hour and thats only 3 euros. there isnt much night life in this area, plenty of bars and that but no clubs so not really ideal for a group of lads/girls. its a very short distance from port aventurure theme park took us about 15 mins to walk quite dear to get in but is enjoyable if your going to go your best going in the morning when it opens at 10am as there are no q's we were in and out in 3 hours. and also be careful off people trying to take things out of your pockets, i had one bloke walking very close to me in a suit with a coat over is arm (looked very shifty), i recommend the grape vine/ the vine bar and food house. they do nice food and friendly staff and also takes bets on the horses. also there are great views at the rovers return pub its up a steep hill though but you can get a train, overall i enjoyed my holiday and rate it 7/10 but i wouldnt go back there, oh and it rained for 2 days non stop while i was the there. but i did get a nice tan because the other 5 days were beautiful. i would recommend this place for familys and people wanting to relax. not for people expecting a fulfilled holiday on the beer."

by Cls Smallman
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The regina gran couldnt have been a...

"The regina gran couldnt have been a more nicer place to stay its was incredibly rich looking always clean, immaculate to be percise.

the room was great it wasnt very big and wasnt very small just right it was always kept clean and you were always given clean towels when needed and always got your bed made all in all the rooms were superb! and from the balcony the view was fabulous it was great just to sit out and chill in the evening

the hotel was very close to everything there wasnt much to walk to get to town it was about if even a 10 min walk which i found was great the beach was near by and so was portaventura which suited us all becase we did not have to pay for taxis just in the evening.

the food was absolutley to die for my mouth is actualy watering thinking of it there was always a wide slection so everyone was satisfied every time i found that there was something new to try especially with the dessert there was always a huge selection

the staff were incredibly friendly and always there for help there was lots for kids to do and the staff were great with them and the entertainment was very enjoyable every night there was always something on so if you werent going out you could stay in the hotel and drink as it was really affordable

well i thinks thats all but i really would advise you to come here i am actually going back again this year and cant wait as i had such a great time the last time !!
"

by Nc Cooney
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We were a family party of 3 adults...

"We were a family party of 3 adults and 4 children ( 14,13,9 and 8 )1 baby. The Hotel is probably the best in Salou and is very clean and tidy although minimalist in room decor.

I would say it is between 3 and 4 star.The main bugbear was at the indoor pool where they insist on headcaps at all times and if you have none they charge 4Euro each. We bought in town for 1Euro. Also they have a large local Gym/Pool membership and you cannot use Pool after 6pm.I am not sure if this is the same with the Gym.The kids constantly wanted money for the games room where there is a vast array of machines and they all cost 1 Euro except the Pool Table which is 2Euro!! So be prepared to have plenty of change available if you have kids.Drinks are fairly reasonable with beers at 1.50E/300ml.

There is no facility for daytime snacks, however lunch is between 1pm and 3 pm if full board.The Restaurant is pretty average for a 4 star hotel although the meals are OK and there is always plenty to choose from and the usual kids stuff to keep them happy.

The young chap from Barcelona who did the animations was very good and friendly as were most of the staff.The evening entertainment was usually a singer or quiz and singer but not much good for the kids hence the necessity for change!

If you have been to Salou before then you know there are plenty of places to go if need be and although 10 mins from seafront the walk does you good.
"

by W.J. Morrison
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Regina Gran Hotel Salou Closest airport: Reus Salou (REU) 5.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Salou

Hotels near Regina Gran Hotel Salou

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Regina Gran Hotel Salou?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Regina Gran Hotel Salou? Share your insight.

Regina Gran Hotel Salou is also called:

  • regina gran
  • regina gran hotel
  • regina gran salou
  • salou regina gran hotel

Address: Joan Fuster, 3 - Salou, Salou 43840, Spain