Mediterraneo Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

6  / 10
(32 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
10
Average
1
Poor
6
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Mediterraneo Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
you get what you pay for by Chris
8 / 10

My partner and I where here in July 2010 and can have no complaints. We were all inclusive for £500 for the week. Which is great value for money. Food was ok, there was always burgers, chips, chicken nuggets, ham, fish etc. (Always something you liked put it that way) The drinks were also fine. The rooms were basic and clean, hot running water and air con. There was also a tv with a few english speaking channels. Staff were friendly. We arrived about 1am and they still made us an evening meal! Location is also perfect, about 200 metres from main street so its quiete enough but close enough to walk as well. Would definitely go back to salou and go back to this hotel!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great family holiday by Adelle
9 / 10

We've just got back from our 10 day holiday in Salou and we had a wonderful time. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and always happy to help.

The rooms were always kept clean and you recieved fresh towels daily.

The food was fabulous with a very wide range too choose from. It was always hot and fresh. Loved the way the chef's came out to check the food on a regular basis.

The entertainment was excellent with a wide range of activities to take part in throughout the day and evening. Alex, the head of entertainment was very friendly and welcoming and he always encouraged you to take part, what a great guy! There was activities for the children and for the adults.

The staff that worked on reception were always happy to help with anything. My three boys who can sometimes be a handful got along really well with Gabriel who worked on the reception at night. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always happy to help.

Please don't let other peoples comments put you off, it's a GREAT place to go.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Hotels4U
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

please do not go by curley
1 / 10

came back 21.8.10 this hotel should only be put on a spanish website as thats all they catered for, entertainment was like a spanish kiddies club which even if our granddaughter wanted to join in she couldnt because she couldnt understand them

the food was discusting what wasnt eating on evening meal was served for breakfast,eg,fishfingers,sprouts.

we sat and watched the life guard hose the contents of a dirty nappy into the swimming pool.

we found the place its self very expensive,dirty and not very friendly.

we have put this on so nobody else have their hoilsdays spoilt like us

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: not to go

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hotel good enough for 3 star accomm by Happy Walkers
7 / 10

Just back from this hotel last week and had a lovely time. receptionists and rest of staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. Aircon went on blink a couple of times but was sorted same day thank goodness since we went in the middle of a heatwave! Food was basic but nice enough, mostly geared towards other European tastes such as Spanish, French and German but we still had enough to choose from. Entertainment was a bit dull, not enough for us, 2 12 yr old girls and a 16 yr old boy so we mostly went out of the hotel at night. Pool and terrace area cleaned every morning. Hotel handy for supermerkets, variety of pubs and restaurants and shops. Plana bus to Port Aventura on Avenguida de Carles Buigas at back of hotel and across road is very handy, if you are going a few times it's best to get the plastic card which can be topped up and is cheaper especially for families, there is always a Plana Rep at each bus stop. Happy with our stary here.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Nice 3* hotel in good location

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic! by CKeogh2009
10 / 10

My mum and I (aged 48 & 18) have just returned from a week away at this hotel, and had such a wonderful time.

We paid £205 each as a last minute booking through Teletext, and can not believe the amazing value for money we got. The price included flights, transfers, breakfast, dinner and our accommodation.

Please don't listen to the negative reviews! These people are the sort of Brits that give us a bad name. To moan that 'food was catered for the Spanish only' is unbelieveable....you're in Spain...what do you expect!!!! We loved all the food....we had lovely salads, paella and grilled fish most nights, with lots of other choice and variety. With fruit, cakes and ice cream for dessert. And toast, cereal, crossiants, fry-up etc for breakfast.

I honestly can not think what more you could have wanted for the price paid.

We even met a couple who refused to eat there and even complained there was nothing English, which is laughable! God knows what they were expecting...probably something like sausage and mash every night (so if you are one of those people, this isn't for you). We love getting away and experiencing something different to what we are used to...that's the whole point of a holiday!

Our room was lovely! We had a double bed each, and the minor noise didn't bother us at all. A very clean hotel and comfortable room. The staff were friendly. Location was perfect, 5-10 minute walk from the beautiful beach and bars. The beach promenade is really pretty, just like Miami coast.

One day we got a train to Barcelona (cheaper and quicker than a bus) for 11euros, which took an hour and a half. Definitely get the train from Salou, as it follows the coast line all the way, with spectacular views! A really lovely city to go see. You need another ticket to get on the underground, to places like Sagrada Familia, which costs about 1.35euros a journey.

We would really recommend it, for such a bargain holiday! Not one bad word to say, (unlike all these other moaning Brits, haha.)

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Activities: beach, habour, Barcelona
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ok for the price paid by Charlotte012
8 / 10

Me and my boyfriends (17 and 19) stayed here for our first holiday together. We didnt expect much and it was a late deal. We just wanted some where to rest our heads as were young and always out, who goes on holidays to stay in a room, cuz we certainly dont. We read the reviews on here before we booked it, some were good some were bad (dont take any notice of the bad ones, you get what you pay for, its not 5 star, its a 3). We found the staff on reception very friendly, our key wouldnt work one day and they sorted it out straight away, always happy to help and always asking what you would be doing in the day. The rooms were small but clean and the towels and bedding were changed whenever you wanted them to, by leaving a sign on the door asking them to clean it.

We booked half board but we only ate in the resturant twice, the food was nice and there was a wide variety, but we just dont like the rush and prefered eating out. Theres plently around the hotel and a supermarket opposite. There were some lovely irish bars near the hotel, where we had breakfast everyday.

Airconditioning worked with the key(card) it wasn't very good and you couldnt feel any cold air but we didnt find the rooms very hot anyway and our room was sheltered by a tree, so it was quite cool when getting ready of a night.

The only bad things i can say about this hotel is the pool and the noise, its a good job we liked the beach because there was never any space around the pool and when we did go in it, what was in there was discusting and ive never got out of there so fast, i hoped it wasn't what i thought it was! We didnt mind not staying by the pool because the beaches are lovely. (The nearest beach is a 5 - 10 minute walk)

The first night we were there, we had an early night and realised that we would have to have a few drinks to be able to get to sleep. All we could hear was shouting and banging music, at the end of the road there are two night clubs, pacha and blu bahia. Im not one to complain but it was loud and the doors didnt block out much noise. Didn't here it every night though and it stopped at around 2am, which was ok for us, but not so good for the families who have young children.

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday there and would gladly go again.

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hi all We have just come back from... by R Bailey
3 / 10

Hi all

We have just come back from this hotel after a mid September break.

The holiday we had here staying best med has to be our worst holiday to date, we arent usualy negative about our accommodation or our holidays ,but we encountered lots of problems with this hotel.

After a good flight and transfer we arrived at the hotel, when we came to check in we were told by the receptionist that our reservation didn't exist.

After having being quite rudely told by a receptionist who couldn't be bothered we would have to wait for the head receptionist to turn up for work we had no choice but to wander around an unknown resort for 2 1/2 hours waiting for her to start work.

when we finally got our room key and given some papers on the all inclusive option we were given no apology for the mistake that they had made by putting our reservation on another system.

In our room the radiator was half hanging off the wall , the toilet door didnt shut properly throughout our stay so that meant somebody having to sit on the balcony whilst the other was on the loo.

also the air con gets turned off on the 15Th Sept so we had to have the balcony door open all night so we had very little or no sleep because it was hot and noisy.(we had no information about air con being switched off ).

the all inclusive option for us was confusing as not clear exactly what you could have with out being charged as paperwork they give you is naff.

Some of the places in the hotel where shut i.e the pool side bar even though the hotel was at least 3/4 full this had some impact on the all inclusive options that we should have been available to us during our stay

Food , before we went on this holiday we read previous things about it and some stuff I found to be true with a lot of repetition and some food being quite greasy but overall the food was edible and the kitchen staff and waiters were very polite and helpful.

entertainment, there was hardly any , but the sister hotel oasis park opposite had entertainment everynight starting at reasonably good hour not like ours at 10 pm or later.

the only redeeming features are some of the staff i.e the cleaners ,bar and kitchen staff work extremlly hard to keep the place clean which made my stay slightly better despite the general maintenance of the building needing a complete overhaul as rooms were a very low standard and outside very shabby looking facing the pool.

Please don't dismiss this as a moaning review as I really do think that this hotel needs a complete revamp

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just arrived back from this hotel... by H Clarke
7 / 10

just arrived back from this hotel have to say the food and choice was superb large rooms nice and clean only down side was the entertainment rather loud but plenty to do around the area comedy bar accross the road very friendly and good food 2 supermarkets opposite little market at the bottom of road

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Guests: 2 x adults 1 x 13yrs 1 x11yrs... by G Stokes
10 / 10

Guests: 2 x adults 1 x 13yrs 1 x11yrs

Travelling from Reus Airport: We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel door, cost €29, travelling time approx 20mins.

Reception: Checked in by Mona, she was very helpful and polite and spoke really good English, check-in was quick and easy even though we arrived at 12.30pm (earlier than the hotel's requested check-in time). Reception was very clean and tidy, There are four computers for internet use - €1 for 10 mins (as far as I remember) and a locked room to leave your luggage. We rented a safety deposit box for the week for €28 and got €10 back at the end of the week.

Rooms: We got one room which had 2 double beds and a balcony overlooking the pool and outside bar area. The rooms were very tidy and cleaned very day. Clean towels supplied very day. There wasn't an awful amount of space in the room with the 2 double beds but we weren't really bothered as you don't go on holidays to sit in the room!!! Air con works by inserting your room card into the slot beside the controls - you need to keep the balcony door closed for it to work.

Food: We went half board and were given a slip of paper to present which you MUST bring with you on your first visit to the restaurant. There is a great variety of food - at the Grill you can get steaks, burgers, sausages, pork chops, chicken, pasta and pasta sauces etc, at the main buffet there is a large selection of salads, bread, meat, potatoes etc and a very good selection of desserts and ice cream. A waiter / waitress will come over and take your drink order which you pay for on your way out. If you order wine they will keep this over until the next evening if you wish.

Breakfast- cereals, fresh pancakes (yum yum), hot meats, toast, yoghurts etc... Coffee and hot milk is brought out on a trolley and left in the middle of the restaurant for you to help yourself, you can also get juice from the self service machines.

Pool: Open from 10am - 7pm.The pool and pool area is very clean, I have read other reviews where people had problems getting loungers but no matter what time of the day we went down we always got one. A lifeguard is always on duty.

Location: Very central to the main spots, Pacha is just across the road, we didn't hear any noise from it though as we always had the door closed and the air con on which blocked any street noise.

The bus stop for Portaventura etc is right outside the front door which was very convenient and only cost €1.65 per person to Portaventura

Entertainment: Good entertainment for younger kids with a disco very night. They also put on a magic show and dancers. Entertainment went on no later than 11.45pm.

All in all a fantastic hotel, we would certainly return!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We just wanted to say what a great... by L Boukadir
9 / 10

We just wanted to say what a great time we had in Salou and how good the Best Mediterraneo was.

The room was spacious and extremely clean. The restaurant offered a huge choice - from the biggest buffet tables we have ever seen - offering soups, salads, paellas, meats, poultry, fish, pates, cheeses, vegetables and so many desserts that you will be spoilt for choice. There is also a grill section, roast of the day, pasta bar and fruit baskets.

The swimming pool is fine, but I agree that you need to put your towel out early!

We enjoyed the entertainment - it was good fun and ensured your evening started with a big smile.

The hotel is situated centrally and a short walk from 2 small coves or the massive stretch of beach.

The bus stop is outside, so trips to La Pineda, Cambrils, Port Aventura and Barcelona are easy and great value for money.

We can't wait to go again.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

would advise anyone who is thinking... by w White
1 / 10

would advise anyone who is thinking of booking this hotel to think again, the staff are ignorant and lazy, the entertainment was terrible and all in spanish, the toilet in our room had a stench the whole time we were there, the air conditioning didnt work, the food was disgusting and on one occasion a lady having dinner collapsed with a fitt and she lay for 35 minutes before an ambulance arrived to get her, the staff didnt know what to do and one of them broke some of her teeth trying to shove a spoon in her mouth thinking she was choking, we also noticed our wardrobe had been opened and some clothing was missing, reception didnt want to know, also they wanted 80 euro for a deposit box and you got no money back! ive been to many a hotel and this one is the worst ive ever seen, do yourself a favour and book the international 2 across the road, its 100 times better and just across from murphys bar, the best bar in salou, they have the best steak dinners in the country and the staff are tops

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just back from the mediterraneo hotel... by M.c.c. Clannachan
8 / 10

just back from the mediterraneo hotel stayed for 8 nights half board and can honestly say the hotel is lovely and clean, rooms cleaned every day and the choice of food is great..something for everyone.restaurant staff very professional and cater for all your needs. the only gripe about the hotel was the evening entertainment. it was awful and so loud we ended up going out to champions pub round the corner most nights and it was great, cocktails cheap and sangria was brill.... jacks pub was great for a full english, real bacon and sausages and heinz beans.....location is good..central for everything and the bus stop is right on your doorstep for journeys to la pineda water park and portaventura theme park......all in all we had a brilliant holiday but its only what u make it yourself oh and the pool is great too but had to get up at 7.30 to get a sunbed cos after that u were lucky to get one..... for the money we paid for a last minut holiday it was well worth it.....

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your insight.

Mediterraneo Hotel also called

  • mediterraneo hotel salou
  • Address: Calle Vendrell 23, Salou 43840, Spain

Explore area

Map for Mediterraneo Hotel Closest airport: Reus Salou (REU) 5.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Salou

Hotels near Mediterraneo Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Mediterraneo Hotel?