Silchoro Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(56 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
16
Average
5
Poor
9
Awful
10

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Silchoro Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
never again

"Locks broken on doors rude staff party's all night not suitable for family's need i go on it all true What the reviews say the staff didn't want to know."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2014
  • Good For: Beach
by cathy gem
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

HOLIDAY FROM ABSOLUTE HELL!!

"HOLIDAY FROM ABSOLUTE HELL!!

The hotel was called sil choro in albufeira in Portugal. It was just awful. They put us in an outbuilding that wasn't connected to the main hotel but just next door and was open for anyone to go in free even at night and had no security and was near enough pitch black. When we got there the bath and toilet were stained and there was a cockroach. We asked to be swapped

and they wouldn't swap us but sent a maid ( this was after they took 100 euros off us for a deposit which wasn't said anywhere when making a booking) so the maid came and said the bath and toilet were just like that and couldn't be cleaned (in pigeon English I might add) and she couldn't see the cockroach so Hollie was led to believe she was seeing things. Next night the cockroach ran out in the dark and I had to kill it myself. Then after I was mugged they took everything, we finished with the police they wouldn't let us change rooms even though the hotel key was in my bag with the mugger. So the

So the next day they had the locks changed and had us pay 30 euros to change it even though all my money had been stolen and Hollie didn't have much left (we didn't take much for a 4 day holiday + after the 50 euro each deposit they took) so they took it from the deposit. Absolute joke. When we asked for some of the deposit back they said no. It was only because this lovely couple helped is out who saw the mugging by giving us 40 euros to help us.The manager and staff were very rude and did not help us and not even sympathetic after my ordeal.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: None
by Julie A
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Silchoro

"My family ( kids aged 10, 13 and 17) went August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves . The rooms were fine, beds fine and yes there was no air con which would have been nice. Staff friendly and pool lovely and clean. Old town very nice , got there by using free mini bus but had to get taxi back. Albertus bar on the strip did amazing cocktails and lovely sangria.enjoyed ou trip so much that we r going back in 2012"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Julie J
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

KEEP WELL AWAY

"Perfect for a stay if your name is skid marks of jorge shagaduck or if you

enjoy hurling lounge furniture into the pool not to mention the less exuberant clatter of a returning hen party during the early hours.

anyone over the age of 25 or with a nervous disposition ,i recommend should

be advised the keep at least a mile distance away. Building has seen better

days (has a jaded interior).one lift never worked the other one appeared to

be very reluctant to haul the poor folks staying there to their rooms.also

much too far out of town
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: STAY OUT AS LONG AS POSSIBLE
by kennethb
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

silchoro apartments very good - large fam holiday

"21 of us have just arrived back from 2 weeks in Portugal, silchoro apartments. I can honestly say i have no faults with these apartments. it has 24 hr reception, young man with glasses at reception was very helpful. there is also 4 lifts, but these are small. There was 6 of us in a 2 bedroom apartment. the rooms were big, 2 bathrooms, an large balcony with excellent views. kitchen had hobs, microwave, kettle & toaster. the beds aren't the softest but good enough, an would advise to ask for extra pillows as 1 isnt v.good. there is no air conditioning but they rent out table fans, the apartment was dated, but very clean, never see any bugs etc. has a large pool & child's pool which was again clean etc but very cold. in the rooms there is marble on the bedside tables etc be careful as these are not screwed down, incase of young children. it also has a small coloured tv which only has 1 english channel. the restaurant inside silchoro served nice food, but downside was no brown sauce lol.

i had never been to Portugal before so i was surprised that it was very expensive. its about a 10min to the strip, which has all the bars an shops etc, the best place to buy food is just down the rd at their eco-market on the side of a hotel. it seemed to be the cheapest about. UK ppl who enjoy tea should bring their own tea bags as there's arent nice or cheap.

a taxi brings you to the old town which i feel is far more relaxed and enjoyable than the strip, which is full of drunken teens from the uk.

i also wouldn't advise any1 to wear heels. the curbs in Portugal are dangerous, they are small tile like stones that are very slidey & some parts arent suitable (wide enough) for wheelchairs. even on flip-flops an flat shoes we had to be careful walking. taxi from silchoro to the old town was about 3.70 euro which was good.

on the strip there is a bar at the very end called Eat- it Drink-it Lick-it, its a good family bar with stuff for kids to do etc, beer is 2euro and it also has free WiFi for mobiles or laptop which comes in handy.

there is a small mini bus from silchoro apartments that brings you to the old town free @ 2pm & u make ur own way bk which is very good.

You can also order pizzas & Chinese food to your hotel room from reception, they have menus & order it free of charge.

best Chinese restaurant is the Big shang hai, very tasty & quick would defo recommend it.

Buying presents in the old town is cheaper than the strip.

i was actually weary of these apartments from reading some of the bad comments, but im shocked at how good it was, clean & cheap im shocked that its only a 3 star & would defo go back next yr.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self-catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: mind the curbs, bring books mags radio ipod etc as the tv is rubbish, get a room on a high floor the views are brilliant! enjoy
  • Good For: Beach
by large family holiday
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good value

"just returned back from a 4 night stay at the silchoro. exellent value for the £250 paid. staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful . rooms were basic but had everything needed for a selfcatering holiday. although very clean apartments the interior and exterior walls were quite shabby and could do with a lick of paint. over all we had a fantastic holiday with comfortable/clean acommadation and would return to the silchoro."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, selfcatering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: turn left at the main road then take the first right up a small road for a short cut to the strip.
  • Good For: Beach
by corky11
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not the best

"Returned a few days ago from the Silchoro Apts. If we had never visited the Algave before, I would have been put off forever. The rooms were clean but badly in need of refurbishing. The reception staff were friendly, the bar staff had a couldn't care less attitude. The one thing that is really bad is the amount of noise there is. All night & I mean all night if you want to sleep there is very little chance of that. Even older holiday makers thought they had the right to rattle window shutters & bang on doors in the early hours. Taxis are pulling up with revelers returning as late as 6.30- 7am slamming doors & shouting. A little respect doesn't go amiss wherever you are. The apartments are actually situated in a residential area as well. The upside is we visited a few restaurants & bars with very friendly & accomodating staff, with reasonable prices. these apartments are not for those who are looking for a restful holiday ."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, 1 bed apt., booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Get out & about as much as you can plenty of nice places to visit.
by beach lover
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

silchoro hotel

"we spent 2 weeks at silchoro in october this year. the room was basic but clean. no air condition though. the bath leaked everywhere and the enamel was all broken inside the bath so had to be careful not to get cut. the mini mart there was very ott in prices and there wasnt much choice of items. the pool was very clean. the games room had a pool table and pin ball machine etc. although there was a sign on the door saying no smoking in there, it was ignored as there was twenty three cigarette ends doubted on the edge of the game machines and the edge of the pool table. the receptionists were very friendly. the beds were hard but thats something that you have to put up with. the sheets were only changed once. the houses at the front and rear of the hotel had lots of dogs which continually barked. very noisy. if we had to, we would go there again but only if we were sort of pushed."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: look around before booking here
by sandy
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Irish Travellers

"My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay in Albufeira on 10/10. It was our first time ever to Portugal so unfortunately with staying at the Silchoro we're unable to compare it with any other apartment or hotel in the Algrave. Although we did find it dated, and thought the sanitaryware could be doing with being replaced, it was clean and pleasant. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. I do agree with previous comments about the mini mart shop on site, a complete rip off with very little choice, although handy for fresh bread and daily papers. The beds weren't the most comfortable but then again no bed is ever as comfy as your own. Food is a bit more pricy but not OTT and it definitely was nice. Because our stay was off season, their was no nightlife and the birdbar wasn't open at any stage, I really would've liked to maybe experience that. We would have no hesitation on going back to stay at Silchoro, although I think our next stay will be closer to the Old Town as we absolutely loved it in there, and the Rock Bar at night, fantastic bands!! Be warned though, take a fleece or heavy jumper for night time it is absolutely baltic."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Apartment, booked with Premier Travel
  • Advice: Great place to just get away to relax and recharge the batteries
  • Good For: Beach
by happy irish
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very poor.

"I stayed at the Silchoro apartments at the end of August 2010,it was very poor.The rooms are old and dirty and the walls are like paper and there is no air con.The shop is terrible with barely any food stocked.The only thing i found good was the pool and the surrounding gardens.Please take my advice and do not stay here,it has a 3 star rating,but i wouldn't give it a 1."

by mcveighryan
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good value 4 wat we paid

"Just come bk after 10 days at the silchoro and dont av any negative comments,gd size 1 bed apt and clean.staff very friendly wud stay again and recomend.booked through travel republic and no probs."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, s/c, Booked Independently
  • Advice: defo
by anni
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

never again

"We were looking forward to our week in portugal as we had never been before, but what a let down.we arrived at the apartments at approx 11.30 ish only to find our rooms were not ready.we had to wait until 1.45 before we got into them and after an early set off we were all just wanting to go lie down an hour,2 of our party were 72 year olds.

we got to our rooms to find what we can only say were excuses for beds,old and very dated the bath and shower were so rusty old dirty looking delapidated things that i or my partner could not even bring ourselves to use them so we washed out of the handbasin all week.it was slightly better condition.no air conditioning. The curtains were barly hung at all.

that evening we tried the cafe for our tea and all i can say is yuk.the on site shop had very little in supplys,we were able to get bread ,milk, butter and basics but when we needed to get potatos they had none and nothing to actualy make a proper dinner with.

the bar area outside was dirty,and we spied 2 rats down by the kitchen end.the entertainment was pathetic what there was of it.

the pool itself was black up round the rim the sun loungers were broken and some not the cleanest.the staff were not the freindliest i have had while on holiday anywere i been.

all in all i would not recomend these apartments to anyone. Star rating 3 i think should be a 1
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Activities: THE COTTAGE OR THE ENGLISH KITCHEN
by DARDAR
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Silchoro Apartments Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 15.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Silchoro Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Silchoro Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Silchoro Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Silchoro Apartments? Share your insight.

Silchoro Apartments is also called:

  • silchoro apartments albufeira
  • silchoro apartments hotel albufeira

Address: Praceta Jaime Cortesao Apartado 682, Albufeira 8200, Portugal