Sunwing Resort Fanabe

C/Londres, 4 Playa de Fanabe, Tenerife 38660, Spain
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(81 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
53
Good
16
Average
6
Poor
3
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sunwing Resort Fanabe

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 37 »
A great family hotel

"We have just came back from a two week holiday.

there was plenty to do for my 4 yr old daughter which she loved the characters of sunwing of lollo and barney and she still sings the mini disco. The apartments was very well preasented and well maintand.

the housemaids are very polite and u felt welcome.

The resort of costa adeje plenty markets and places to eat.

we did most of the trips and tours of monkey park, aqualand and jungle park its was good. we will surely come back here in future.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Kelly B
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2 adults with out children.

"I have just come back from a weeks holiday. I was worried about this resort as it does state it is a family resort. But we did like the resort it was very clean and i liked the studio which we had. We did not lay out around the pool as the beach is only a walk away and if you wanted to you can use the hotel terriace which i did.. It seemed very good for the family and the children all seemed very happy and safe as i felt that they could not get out of the complex as we struggled ourselfs .. Food was very expensive on site but we found some really good deals 7.95 euro for a 3 course meal at ramseys which we did go rather alot and even breakfast which was 2.99 for a big fry up and a free drink.. so please give it a try as we was more than happy with the food and service. Also please be aware of the fruit seller on the beach as we really did get caught on that as we paid 18 euro for 2 melons and i am not one for getting conned but i did.. also the sun beds are very expensive 15 euro for 2 beds we took the towels from are room which they provided and they were FREE... Apart from them we really liked the resort and want to go back again. To all those adults with out children give this ago as it is not to far from the beach and good resturants and in a really good area."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Sandra C
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyable stay

"We stayed at the Sunwing for 2 weeks beginning the 29th July. It was our first time at the hotel but we had stayed previously at the Isabel Family Hotel last year. I would say the Sunwing was a better place overall.

We arrived and got our room straight away which had a nice pool view on the 3rd floor. Air-con worked fine and towels were left in the room for us even though we bring our own. There was a toaster, kettle, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer and microwave all supplied free of charge. The maids also cleaned the room every day.

We stayed self catering as we know there are some really good cheap eating out to be had locally, namely Couer De Filet and Capri restaurants just a stones throw from our apartments down towards the beach. We could feed 2 adults and 2 kids for 35 Euros in those establishments, and the quality was excellent. Other notable places we ate in were Gran Reserva Steakhouse which is right beside our complex and La Brasserie which was down along the sea front.

A supermarket is also beside the hotel which would be a bit cheaper than the mini market in the Sunwing pool area.

The hotel frown upon the usual sunbed shenanigans of some people that book their beds early and don't use them, however if you put your towels down and even one person stays with them, then they don't have a problem with that. Usually there were enough beds to go round anyhow. One day we even went up onto the roof sun terrace which is nice and peaceful. The hotel had 2 restaurants on site, though we never ate in them as went to the restaurants that we had discovered last year, though our 2 kids sometimes got a portion of chips or a hot dog during lunch time and they were quite happy with the fayre.

There was a Spa and Fitness Suite which incurred extra charges, though I personally went out for a jog every morning as there is a great long promenade which runs for around 4 or 5 miles all they way down to Los Cristianos. It is great for a walk in the evening also.

I would very happily stay at the Sunwing again as it is in a good location and provides a very enjoyable stay.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
by GAWA
8 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great, but not for Teenagers

"Very good hotel you cant fault the staff for working hard to keep everything clean. There were no organised activity for the Teenagers apart from the water-polo around 5.30pm. The resort is expensive if you want to go self catering other than that enjoy your holiday because its central and waling is a lovely way of exploring oh be careful if you hate hills avoid tenerief unless you want go by taxis everywhere."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: Organised activities for Teenagers
  • Good For: Beach
by abba
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab Holiday

"We have just returned from Sunwing (24th May 11, rooms are very clean, staff all very well spoken english and very helpful! We had a party of six and were seperated after being asked to be kept together - nothing was too much of a problem for them as we just mentioned it and by the next morning it was sorted and we were all together! Would definately return - so much to do for kids & very family orientated."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Siam Park - Must visit!!
  • Good For: Beach
by One Happy Customer
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

stress relief at its best

"Have just returned from our 5th visit and once again the wife and I had a lovely carefree holiday.Self catering is a must and the only meal we had in the room was breakfast. u can hire a toaster 6 euros for a week. A good size fridge and ice box for your drinks is provided.There are dozens of restaurants in the area. The beach is 5 minutes walk away. Prices vary for the cost of beds and static shelter.We were on the 12 euro side towards the Torviscas beach. You can find beer at 1 euro a pint in most cafes and if you want to splash out it is nearly 5 euros a pint at the Sunwing. We didn't use the bar as the alcohol was a rip of compared to past years. The Sunwing reception and cleaning staff are all friendly. This year was very good as we didn't see any of the usual creepy crawly room mates that Tenerife is famous for.We did have visits from friendly pigeons whilst we were drinking on the balcony. feed them once and they will return. be warned. all in, all we will return"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: very quiet with no drunks most years
  • Good For: Beach
by yorkyindevon
8 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent

"Went with 2 friends for a weeks holiday and can thoroughly recommend it to families, couples and older all same sex groups. Far enough away from the rowdy parts of americas and in easy walking distance of lovely bars, cafe's and restaurants. The resort is very clean and you get a good supply of towels for the bathroom, pool and the beach even if you are self catering which we were. Anyone considering tenerife will not be disappointed with Sunwing. (note the beach has black sand so pack a good nail brush, it also has good waves and is safe for kids of all ages and sizes. You will not be disappointed."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Excellent, can't fault it
  • Good For: Beach
by Jakey
1 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

beautiful holiday

"just returned from a weeks holiday from the sunwing rst fanabe, the hotel was brillant! the rooms were extremely large, comfortable and VERY clean, i would have to give 10/10 for the cleaners, they never stopped working from morning to night, the hotel was spotless at all times!! I would definately recommend this hotel plus its very close to the beach and all the resturants and shops, however the 'lucky lucky men' were extremely annoying when walkin around, they made me feel very uncomfortable!! the food was great at the hotel plus the steak house next door to the hotel served the most delicious food! the pool area was great with plenty of sun lounges to relax but the floor does get very hot so would recommend wearin flip flops when walkin around! will be definatly be returnin next year!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, self catering, booked with Direct Holidays
by sally1
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic hotel & holiday

"We have just come back after staying in the Sunwing Resort Fanabe, Playa De Las Americas. The kids loved every minute of the stay we could not get them out of the pool. One thing I would say is have some flipflops on for walking around the tiled pool area as the floor gets mad hot & boy does it hurt on bare feet. The entertainment through out the day is great not only for the kids but adults also with water polo & water volleyball & darts & pool competitions weekly. The entertainment team work very hard & are very polite special mensions go out to Neil great guy & both the kids & i loved the karaoke,James the bar man & Sarah the energy this girl has is unbelievable from morning exercise in the pool to the kids entertainment through the day she never stops. The drinks prices can be quite expensive but if you have a walk about you can drinks at a euro for a large beer. I have been abroad a few times but never experienced heat like this past week we had boy was it hot even at night the air con in the room worked but outside it was unbearable 28c at night too hot. The kids enjoyed it so much they want to go back next year & i totally agree with them."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great place for a holiday
by karaoke "Andy"
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic 2 weeks loved it

"just got back from sunwing what can i say enjoyed every minute my 2 girls made so many freinds, childrens entertainment was brill and staff were more than freindly , kids reps did a brillant job kids entertained all the time . rooms were very clean must say it is one of the best hotels ive stayed in the standard of cleansiness was very good saw the pool getting checked and cleaned everyday. my only downfall was the show bar drinks very expensive and got short changed twice ?? other than that totally enjoyed our 2 weeks break and hopeing to go back next year ...."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, package, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by chrisj
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

clean, friendly staff, location reasonable, weak coctails

"1) hotel really clean. pool area actually washed with soap reguarly and inspected.

2) did not eat in restaurant so cannot comment. expensive though.

3) location is a bit tacky /commercialised but is what we expected and have certainly seen worse. if you do hire a car you are well placed to see the mountain and all the other sites of which is a great Island for scenery and buildings to see.

4) think the in house band were really excellent. they do Abba, 80s, Michael Jackson and a bit of 90s. they light years aheaad of typical rep entertainment. gets a little repetitive on week two and Nordic night is..well Nordic. Neil the ents rep was a really nice guy and the barman James is also nice

5) Cocktails whilst cheap in happy hour (at the civilised 10.15pm) were indeed variable and could be far too weak.

6) unusually lots of activities for 10-15 year old children, via youth room and various tournaments.

7) beach sunbeds rediculously expensive (EU 7 each I think). the best beack on the island along the South East coast charges 2.50! Cheap beer on the beach (EU1 per pint) prior to 6pm though!

8) some OK restaurants near the hotel - fails a bit on real local cusine so went for example for at least once nice Italian and Chinese. service terrible and disinterested additude at the restaurant directly next to the hotel so advise against.

9) we had one of the large rooms and it was really good.

10) we went to Siam park and thought it was good. you must get there early (suggest taxi and buy tickets ahead). watch out for taking food in, it is possible but be careful.

11) pool a bit small for number of guests - we feared this from the brochure.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by caroline558
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic place

"My fiancee and I stayed at the Sunwing Resort from late July until early August 2010. The check in area is spacious and air conditioned, the latter being essential during the Tenerife summer. The hotel staff from the ladies at the check in desk, the barmen, the restaurant staff, the mini-market ladies and the cleaning staff could not do enough for you and were friendly and approachable. We were very impressed that the check in staff could speak a variety of languages very well - this isn't something that we have found before while staying in hotels in non-English speaking countries. Our room was very spacious and consisted of two single beds pushed together, a TV with over 15 channels (most in Spanish or German), a nice desk with a lamp, huge mirror, lovely spacious sliding door warddrobe with lots of hangars and a security safe inside. You have to pay for a security card at reception to use the safe and you can create your own PIN. We were very happy with the bathroom, especially since it had two sinks and a great power shower. There was hot water most of the time and the only time it went on and off was around 630pm, presumably since most people in the hotel were showering for going out. A sliding door seperated the bedroom from the kitchen area. Very small sink but thats all we needed for washing the dishes. Good size fridge with a small freezer. If you go all inclusive you get a large fridge freezer and your beach towels changed daily. We didnt go all inclusive but it really wasnt a problem. We had a grear view of the pool area from the top floor and our balcony was small but adequate. It had a circular plastic table and chairs. One criticism was the bed. While my fiancee found them confortable they wrecked my back and neck at night. Another was the air conditioning. It cooled the room down somewhat but also emitted a strong sewage smell every hour which could knock you out! I still don’t understand why the air conditioning unit would do that. I did criticise it in the review I gave to management at the end of the holiday so hopefully it will be sorted.

The hotel has a mini-market shop near the pool and restaurant which stocks many different things. It is a little bit more expensive than outside but not by much. It is very convienient, especially if you fancy a light snack or a beer for sitting on your sun lounger. It sells other things such as newspapers, ice cream, toiletries etc and the staff are friendly. There are lots of sun loungers around the pool area but you cannot come down before 10am and leave your towel on one as the life guard will go round and take your towel off. Although he doesn't do this often it did happen to me! Fair enough though. The pool is open for swimming lengths from 8-10am and then open for everythign else afterwards. So as long as you are swimming you can leave your towels down. The pool area is safe and clean although be sure to wear flip flops when walking round it as the tiles heat up very quickly and become really hot. There are many sun umbrellas available as well if you want to stay in the shade. Around the pool area are ping pong tables, a huge chess set and some pool tables. The life guard is always on watch on his chair so its unlikely that anyone will drown! However I wish the hotel would ban use of those small balls that people throw in the pool. They travel at some speed and someday it will hit either a small child or a very angry adult in the face and will cause a problem. The pool itself isnt over chlorinated and is lovely to sit in. The deepest section is about 6 feet. The kids loved the pool and spent most of the day in it. Throughout the day the staff at the hotel do aerobics in the water for the kids to music, teach kids how to scuba dive with an oxygen tank on and the hotel's mascots, Lollo the giraffe and Bernie the bear come round and play with the kids. They went down really well and I was really happy that the hotel provided this. The staff in charge of entertaining the children obviously love their jobs. The La Tasca restaurant is near the pool and it does lovely ice cream (coconut was the best) and nachos. Their prices are higher than outside but, again, it isnt too much to pay for the convienience if you fancy a snack or stay in the resort for dinner. I cant understand though why they dont do San Migel on tap! The nightly entertainment (barring a few select nights where there is none) wasnt bad. It was the same group of four singers performing a variety of songs from the 1960s-present day. I think Simon Cowell would have scathed them but they were good for the hotel. Plenty of energy. Happy hour at the bar starts at 1015pm until 1115pm. The English barman, James, is a very nice chap and hes good fun when he gets up for karaoke. However always check your change before you leave. I was overcharged twice (I believe on purpose) and had to go back to get the money back. On those days were you want some peace and quiet you can go to the rooftop sun terrace and sunbathe there. Its usually pretty deserted, with only a few people present at a time. You get a nice view of one of the local mountains. However be warned that it is much more likely that you will get sunburnt on the terrace so plough on the sunblock. The resort is centrally situated close to the seashore, promenade and shops. As with any tourist resort you will be hassled to go into bars or restaurants but all you have to say is no or maybe tomorrow and keep walking. The people wont be offended as they are used to it! Walk to your right along the promenade and go into CC Duque. Theres a big shopping mall there as well as some nice romantic restaurants, a great place on the rocks to watch the sun go down and a small beach with Sahara desert imported sand. The best restaurants in Fanabe to go to are La Hacienda, Tony Romas and Vin Veneto. Stay clear of Capri Restaurant and the large one beside the sea. There is another shopping mall close by called Gran Sur which is worth going to. It has a cinema which shows some films in English as well as a huge and reasonably priced supermarket. It also has some clothes shops and restaurants and a great air hockey table outside. If you want to go to Los Crisitanos markets then you can ask the hotel reception to call you a taxi. Stay away from the beach though. Its really unpleasant. At the markets do haggle with people as you will get a bargain. I cant haggle as I get embarassed but my fiancee did and she saved us so much money. The same goes for Playa de las Americas. Thats a nice place with lots of shops and a huge beach which stretches into Los Cristianos. Eat in Biancos in las Americas (great food, excellent service and fantastic setting) and have a drink in the Monkey Tree. They do lots of interesting cocktails. Purple Rain was very nice. Do the submarine tour in San Miguel and certainly do the Mount Tiede tour in the day time. Again bring sunblock. Loro Parque is fantastic and is a great place to see dolphins, orcas, alligators, tigers and jaguars, as well as an amazing Antarctica environment for the penguins and a good way to see gorillas up close. They also have a great shark enclosure in which you can walk through a tunnel underwater. They have stingrays, nurse sharks and I think reef sharks. Siam Park waterpark is a big disappointment but I think thats because we had visited Aqualand in Gran Canaria the year before. It is Europe's biggest water park. Siam Park is tiny and you queue for ages on the rides which, mostly, are an anti-climax.

In summary we loved the hotel and I wouldnt have any reservations about going there again. You usually hear about how English people on holiday are the loudest and most obnoxious but not in this resort. Instead that award goes to the Germans and Scandanavians of which there are LOTS! In saying that they were harmless! I had a nice relaxing 2 week break here and was sorry to leave. I will be going back at some time in the future.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by jakatta70
10 / 10

28 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 37 »

Explore area

Map for Sunwing Resort Fanabe Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 10.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sunwing Resort Fanabe photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Sunwing Resort Fanabe
  • by djk

    " banana restaurant on the seafront is gorgeous. "

  • by lynne2

    " The resturaunt underneath the sunwing - fantastic! "

  • by pezzahp

    " My faverourite restauraunt was the grande Resviour in costa adeje food was amazing "

Similar hotels around Playa De Las Americas

Hotels near Sunwing Resort Fanabe

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sunwing Resort Fanabe?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sunwing Resort Fanabe? Share your insight.

Sunwing Resort Fanabe is also called:

  • sunwing hotel fanabe
  • Sunwing Resort

Address: C/Londres, 4 Playa de Fanabe, Tenerife 38660, Spain