Auramar Beach Resort

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(91 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
21
Good
30
Average
14
Poor
16
Awful
8

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Auramar Beach Resort

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Gorgeous setting!!! by Julie M
8 / 10

We went to the Hotel Auramar last Summer from Belfast and it was fantastic!!! Yes the rooms wern't luxurious but it was clean, comfortable and really, really spacious. The staff were lovely and the hotel realized it was my birthday while i was there so made me a birthday cake!! The walk to the beach below the hotel was easy and quick and simply stunning!! The walk into the village was just as quick and restaurants galore, i recommend Senor Froggs...super with kids and really wonderful fresh food!!

Highly Recommended by us!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Jetsun
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Simpson clan by Cheryl M
9 / 10

Just back from a weeks all inclusive I don't no where people say that the food was cold every time we went down food was hot and there was loads to choose from ,the rooms were cleaned every day and also clean towels every day ,the waiters was also there to lift your plates as soon as you were finished your meal and very helpful if you needed anything ,the stairs are no use if you struggle abit with any sore bits but it tells you that on the net,there is a Shuttle bus everyday at various times to take you to the old town which has loads of shops but a taxi costs you about 4 euros for a lovely day out vist the marina at villamura it's about 25 euros each way in a taxi but loads to do ,we met some nice people aswell overall a great holiday and we will be returning

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: There was entertainment every night even in November

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Place for a Holiday by Fiona B
8 / 10

Just back literally today (20-10-12) had 7 nights all inclusive with my partner and son. Have to say we went with a little trepidation after reading some of the reviews.

YES the Hotel has steps. its on a cliff top..... to be expected.

Food; hot tasty and lots of it, there was a turkey dish served almost every night, but there was also pasta dishes; traditional Portuguese dishes, chicken dishes; duck dishes; spare rib dishes; vegetarian dishes, I could go on and on.

Lacking a little in evening entertainment but this was expected being near the end of season

Staff where amazing, all very friendly and could not be more helpful.

Rooms where basic but how long do you spend in them, they where very clean, and serviced daily, we asked for a kettle and yep this was not a problem.

Free bus to Albufeira 3 x daily no complaints there, and a lovely walk along hte beach ot the old town as well.

All in all a great place to stay, looked after us very well. and if we go back to the Algarve we will stay there.

To those that expect to get 5 star for 3 star money, try booking 5 star for 5 star money. As 3 star goes I reckon it should be a 4!

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: get out an about on lots of excursions and see some of the country, most excursions pick you up at reception.
  • Good For: Beach

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

mid week break by tomo
9 / 10

Fantastic Hotel. Have read all kinds of poor reviews about this hotel and was beginning to dread arriving but they couldn't have been more wrong. Clean rooms, good food and great facilities. Staff very friendly. Highly recommend

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Alpha Rooms
  • Advice: go to the beach - wonderful
  • Good For: Beach

22 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3 star only just by TONYRM
5 / 10

Just got back today,hotel is a 3 star don't lose sight of that,very clean,rooms cleaned every day as was surrounding areas.Hotel very dated and in need of a make over. Cant beat the location good sea views ,two mins from good beach.Food hit and miss good selection however, they struggle to keep the food hot and for most of the time it was bland,bed and breakfast seems the way to go. Its sold as a family hotel but be aware there were stag and hen parties there at the weekends and have been for most of the season so far.You have to pay 10 euro for your room key but you do get this back when you leave. You pay 15 euro for a safety deposit box key per week but don't get that back,considering the problems they have had in the past you need to store your valuables securely,and you pay 1 euro to confirm your transfer back to the airport bit cheeky really.The baby pool was out of action for three days and the lift in block A kept breaking down.There is a gym however,most of the equipment does not work and its a very small area. We are not sure if we will go back to this hotel,the location seems to be its redeeming factor.As I said don't lose sight of the fact that its a 3 star and in life you get what you pay for.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

over all a good holiday by Joanne
6 / 10

Me and my boyfriend have just got back form aurama hotel beach resort and overall had a brilliant time. If i'd read the reviews before i booked it, i wouldn't of gone. I read that the beds were like concrete which is really over the top because they really wasn't that bad. i also read that the reception staff were awfull and very inconsiderate which i don't agree with, they wern't the best but they were okay.

The food has its good days and its bad, however nearby there are some gorgeous restaurant so that was an advantage. The cleaner cleaned everyday, we had fresh bedding and towels everyday. The barmen are very strict about not giving drinks out after 11 for free, i ordered straight after my boyfriend who got served, but i didn't because it was a minute after 11.

The main picture of the holiday was of a small pool when i booked it, i liked the look of it however because i'm english i wasn't allowed in it. Only Germans are allowed in that area which also takes you down to a seperate beach. They are very racist in my opinion and i wasn't the only one to think that. they help the germans a lot, they get a lot more than the english do.

We hired a safe after we'd given them the 10 euro deposit, the women behind the desk said we would get 40 euros back because it is a 30 euro deposit for the safe, for this reason we saved no money for the airport because we was told we'd get 40 back. However, when we went to collect our money, we only got 10 euros back because they said we paid for it, it's not a deposit, it was all a con to get a bit of extra money out of us. we only had 10 euros for the airport to get something to eat and drink and because it was so early in the morning we were picked up we couldn't get anything to eat in the hotel so really we needed all the money we could get for the airport but they took that from us.

I would not go back to that hotel again however i would go near by because the beach was gorgeous.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: take extra money so you can experience everything.
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very pleased by algarve
8 / 10

Just retutned 18/06/11 4 adults 54 to 63, all I can say we had a great time,hotel was clean rooms cleaned daily, pool area great, beach 2 mins away,went all inclusive very good with drinks, ok food was repeated but always found something to eat,and maybe some could be put off with thje stag and hen parties, but you only live once so yes if you want to be really sad and look for faults you will find them, but if you want to go on holiday to enjoy your self then this is the hotel and yes we will be going back

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: walk around the hotel and surrounding area
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

under rated hotel by sasha
8 / 10

Myself and a friend just returned yesterday and we had a ball! Yes, reception did smell a bit funky on arrival but i find this of most hotels abroad. The staff were constantly cleaning so it was by no means unclean. Our rooms were basic but fine and were also cleaned daily. The food was lovely and always a good variety, especially at the pool bar. The staff were great too and we honestly had no complaints all week. We met lots of people during our stay who had the same opinion as us. Also very central. 5 min walk down to the strip which is full of bars/clubs etc. 5euros in a taxi to the old town which is open all night. The atmosphere was good and entertainment every night in the main bar. If you go make sure you check out the beach which is through a gate by the pool and a classy little restaraunt just outside to the left as it has a pool and loungers. It reminded me of Dubai... I always say a holiday is what you make it anyway but we certainly loved it.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dont take notice of some reviews by mollydolly
8 / 10

just got back from the auramar hotel we had a great time.we was half board the food was very good all staff very nice if we had seen some of the reviews before we had booked we wouldnt have gone [so glad we didnt]

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, half board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Awful, rude reception staff by h
1 / 10

We've just returned from our holiday and will never return to that hotel. My son is 7 and diabetic and, we needed to ensure that he had breakfast before leaving on the morning of departure even though we had to leave the hotel at 7 am. I told the receptionist on duty the evening before that we would need a breakfast and her response was that it was too late to be telling them that and basically tough luck. I told her in no uncertain terms that should my son have a hypo and need to be taken to hospital that I would hold them responsible.

You need to feel that you are being taken care of by a hotel when in a foreign country but this one couldn't care less and their attitude to disabilities is atrocious!

The food is also terrible!

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: don't go

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't go all inclusive!!! by rainey241283
4 / 10

The hotel itself wasn't that bad. It's definitely dated and could do with modernisation but all in all found it ok (with the exception of limited bedding, emulsioned bath and flooded corridors). The food was a different matter, I'm a self confessed fussy eater but the food was foul. Over cooked and under cooked, same thing every day. We asked for a picnic and the sandwiches had been left out at the reception desk since the previous night. I lived on bread rolls for the whole week! There are plenty of places to eat near by though. The cinerama caffe, just outside of the hotel, is gorgeous and cheaply priced too. The outside pool was just too cold to go into but was nice to sit beside and the beach was gorgeous and very close to the hotel. We had a beach view from our room which was also very nice. The indoor pool was heated and very nice so no complaints there. There is a basic gym and we used the tennis court and crazy golf for which we weren't charged. I found the reception staff ok, although they did charge us to find out when our transfer was to pick us up (I don't know if this is the done thing but thought they should have done it free of charge?) The entertainment wasn't bad, samba dancers, karaoke, snakes etc, but the days they didn't have anything on it was just a bloke on his keyboard, which I thought was very dated. I would maybe go back to this hotel again but definitely not all inclusive.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't expect too much!
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst christmas we have ever had by kevcast
1 / 10

no rep to greet us

no form of any entertainment.

food was bland and repetative.

christmas dinner was very disappointing a five coarse dinner which in all took from sitting down to begin until we got up to go exceeded 3 hours.again no entertainment was laid on.

the resort was in need of refurbishment and updating.

we would have had a more enjoyable christmas if we stayed in a nursing home...

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: think before booking read reviews
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Auramar Beach Resort? Share your insight.

Auramar Beach Resort also called

  • aparthotel auramar albufeira
  • aparthotel auramar hotel albufeira
  • auramar
  • Auramar Hotel
  • Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal

Explore area

Map for Auramar Beach Resort Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 15.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Auramar Beach Resort photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Auramar Beach Resort
  • by bob harding

    " Zoomarine was a v. good day out. Also theres a lovely mexican restaurant nr the beach escalators. "

  • by diddydc

    " The beach is beautiful, sandy and clean. Walk to the marina and elevator on edge of beach. "

  • by mollydolly

    " for a good night out go to see karaoke lez at blue star cafe at the top of the strip "

  • by sasha

    " 5 min walk to The strip, 5 euros in a taxi to the old or new town. Very central "

  • by Julie McBride McCullough

    " Take the free shuttle bus from the hotel into the main town of Albufiera...markets in the evening and beautiful beach and food! "

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Auramar Beach Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Auramar Beach Resort?