Grand Aquarium Apartments

136. Sok. No:2, Icmeler, Turkey
3.5 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(92 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
58
Good
19
Average
6
Poor
1
Awful
8

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Grand Aquarium Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Excellent family apartments

"We have just come back from Icmeler and wish we were still their , The grand aquarium staff made our holiday , their customer service was outstanding with ,Robbie,Manny,John ,etc . The apartment were basic but clean, the pool area was lovely we are looking to go again next year ."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
by The clan
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

will be back

"When reading the reviews about the place was a bit put off, however when we arrived at the apartments we could not off asked for a better place to stay. Yes the room as a bit on the small side, but you are only in the room to sleep and change. The staff at the hotel are brill, they could not do enough for you and the place was spotless. I have never been to Turkey, I never fancied going, however I will be back next year LOVED the place. The entertainment was the best I have ever seen at a hotel, they never stopped all day and my daughter was entertained all day and night. Thankyou everyone at the Grand Aquarium for all your hard work. Tracy, Annmarie and Poppy x"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
by liverpool
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wow

"Well where can i start, the staff were fantastic and really friendly.When i had really bad sunburn and i went to the super market the staff did all they could to cool it down.

I have to admit the room was a bit small but we didn't really stay in it that long. There is many things to do at grand aquarium like the water slide comes on at 11:00 and 2:45. In the pool was probably the best part because the entertainment team would usually play water polo and many other games.

Finally the pool party on sunday night was amazing.there was the water slide and surfboard wrestling and lots more.

ONE OF MY BEST HOLIDAYS YET !!!:)
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Excellent
by rebecca mcmanus
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Grand

"We have been to the Grand on a few occasions now this year the staff had changed so we were a bit concerned about this as we had made some great friends last year with the staff and management team however we were soon made welcome and we had a great time but although we were treated well I must admit that I think the staff last year were better thank god that the chef was the same he is brilliant and his food is top notch if he had gone I do not think we would have been eating in there as much as we did. The entertainment team were good and we had some great times with them so well done boys,The restaurant staff on the main were good but seemed inexperienced as waiter staff and we did have some issues with one off them however this was dealt with, and put right, the room was brilliant and cleaned everyday and the manageress Salli was lovely and extremly helpful nothing was to much trouble for her and she has become a good friend we are looking forward to returning in September,my rating is an 8 out of 10 you will always have a great time at the Grand.Keep up the good work Thanks Grand from Keith and Tina"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: You will want to go back time after time
by kst9457
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A bit far from the beach

"Lovely Hotel, staff were very helpfull and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if you dont mind walking for half an hour to the beach. Rooms were cleaned everyday and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Didnt try the facilities as we were self catering, so we were eating out all of the time. Wasnt much information or communication about the facilities on offer etc, turkish baths or the hairdresses at the hotel, maybe this was my fault as well for not asking. The cleaners at the Hotel are second to none. Chris from Washington, beside Newcastle!"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Icemeler is a quiet, clean romantic place, would definetely go back but would be nearer to the beach
by squaddie love
7 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

rooms are tiny

"When we booked we were told that these rooms were more than adequate for 2 adults and 2 children as the couches in the lounge made up into beds. The couches turned out to be small bedchairs. When they were open you could not pass through the room.

The cooking facilites were quite simply a joke. One two plate portable hob, like the type you use on a camping trip and apart from the usual crockery etc that was it.

Air conditioning was an optional extra at £30 for the week. The double room was only just large enough to accommodate us.

This said the staff and food were very good although the bar was generally noisy till around 2 am. Your senses then get a fright at 10.00hrs with the start of the childrens entertainment. Forget the relaxing morning.

You also have to allow for taxis as it is too far to walk into town. It costs about 4 pounds each way so it could cost you 16 pounds a day if you go to the beach, return to change, and then go to town for the evening. It is cheaper on the dolmus but not as convenient.

The food in the hotel is fairly good but in town there is a huge range of restaurants with excelent entertainment.

The Majestic is excellent, look for it near the canal markets. It also offers a free taxi service to and from your hotel.

Food is of a good standard throughout the area but prices for alcoholic drinks can be on a par with Europe, with a beer costing a couple of pounds and spirits about the same per shot.

We would go back to Ichmelar but not to the Grand Aquarium.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
by John Rattigan
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

BEST HOLIDAY EVER !!!

"Just got back from staying in the G A hotel, this is a very very good hotel very clean rooms, done every day with clean towels and loo roll (didnt have to pay for extra) ALL staff very friendly and helpfull (kiki and Jay, great with kids made it a good holiday for them all)

Food that we had was spot on would recomend stake and onion baguette with chips enough for 2 to share.

Great pool, jacuzzi and slide, pleanty to keep busy, pool table etc...

Turkish bath and facials avalible in hotel (i won 1 in free raffle at turkish night!!)

Gym with air con i didnt go but husband and son did, said it was good,worked of a few beers!!

Music went off around 12ish Didnt keep us awake at all, and didnt come on untill 10.30 the next day but wasnt to loud that you could hear it through the windows/door.

Worth paying for aircon you can have it on all day as long as you are in the room for £15 per week.

Not far from the center 15 mins slow walk.

1mins from buss stop 1 Lira

Taxi in hotel car park 6lira

Defo going back next year and will stay at this hotel because walking through the resort didnt see any thing that would come near this hotel. **** defo in my book :)
"

by jakebutler
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best holiday ever!

"Just got back from 2wk holiday in Icmeler, Turkey. Me, hubby 2 kids and there friends (ages 14,14,16 and 17) we stayed at the Grande Aquarium hotel, this was the bast family holiday we have all had for a long time.

Hotel very good, great pool with slide, and entertainment (comedy act a bit doddy tho) food realy good although we did eat out most nights as there is sooooo many good places to eat. (venice, love star, pop-in, romance to name just a few)

very cheap compared to most places abroad at the mo.

Very very hot, hotest day while we was there 54f !!!!!!

Good nite life plenty of bars to go to.Wonder Boys Elvis bar,LFC bar (gino very funny) etc...

I would recomend this place and the hotel to everyone .. happy holidays
"

by jakebutler
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

super

"superb facilities clean rooms pool spotless no rowdy behaviour good location 1 minute from busstop 1lira per person to beach &town centre frindly staff only problem noise coming from hotel behind we were at back of hotel will go back again next year turkey great value for money"

by pwarnock
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic

"Wow what a fantastic holiday we had.

My 1st girlie holiday and it was everything i expected it to be. we had such a brilliant time, the hotel staff were great, nothing was ever to much trouble!

Thankyou to all the staff there i'm missing you all and will deffinately be back next year.
"

by Shirley, Lisa and Sara
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not worth a 4 star rating

"We booked a 4 star, self-catering, allocation on arrival deal and ended up at the Grand Aquarium. Although the brochure description sounded good we were not impressed and do not consider it worthy of a 4 star rating. Yes it does have some entertainment (especially if you love loud dance music blaring out from 10am) and it’s own hairdresser and a big pool with a water slide that gets turned on for a few minutes each day, however the accommodation itself was actually quite poor. Our apartment was small and dingy with no TV, no air conditioning in the bedroom and only a tiny kitchenette area. We immediately asked to move, however several members of staff all refused to consider changing our room. In fact one of them claimed I had specifically requested this room and so had to keep it, but changed his mind when I asked him for proof of this.

Admittedly the rooms were kept clean and the facilities worked, but by comparison we have stayed in much larger and more pleasant 2 and 3 star rated apartments.

The Grand Aquarium appear fixated with making guests pay for everything from air conditioning to toilet rolls – not really what you expect from a 4 star! Some of the staff seemed to want tips as though it was a luxury hotel, but were not particularly helpful, as was further evidenced by arguments I witnessed involving other guests. We also had a problem in being kept awake by staff have late night conversations and smoking outside our bedroom window (presumably they were skiving around the back of the hotel). We complained about this but it still happened.

The location is quite a long walk from the sea front and frankly we were much happier on another visit to Icmeler when we stayed in accommodation that had a lower star rating but was nicer, more friendly and better located.
"

by Bristol_Trip
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great at the Grand Aquarium

"What can I say about the Grand Aquarium words can not describe the fantastic staff and especially the entertainmrent team Compi Ferdi Paulo and the rest of the staff who made us so welcome and thoroughly entertained us for our two week holiday, we were made to feel like part of a big happy family. This accomodation is also great for the kids with plenty to keep them occupied, the adults were very entertained as well, the food is top notch and we ate there frequently with a wide range of menu and kids meals also were of top quality, the appartments were spotless and they were cleaned on a daily basis all the staff worked hard to ensure your needs were met and nothing was to much trouble for them, I and my wife are looking forward to returning in late September for another fortnight of fun. Well done Grand Aquarium and all my new friends there keep up the good work."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Icemeler is a lot quieter than Marmaris Ideal if you love the beach and plenty of bars restaurants a
  • Activities: Try Valantino
  • Good For: Beach
by kstry9457
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Explore area

Map for Grand Aquarium Apartments Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 27.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Grand Aquarium Apartments
  • by sweeney

    " the sun bar just outside icmeler is brilliant and the food good,tommys bar and wonderboys bar "

  • by John Rattigan

    " Linekers Bar at the far end of the beach and Majestic restaurant in town "

Similar hotels around Icmeler

Hotels near Grand Aquarium Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Grand Aquarium Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Grand Aquarium Apartments? Share your insight.

Grand Aquarium Apartments is also called:

  • grand aquarium hotel icmeler
  • grand aquarium icmeler

Address: 136. Sok. No:2, Icmeler, Turkey