Club Exelsior

Hoyuk Cad. 136. Sok. No:14 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
3 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(159 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
116
Good
24
Average
6
Poor
3
Awful
10

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 314 »
Great hotel by Wendy B
10 / 10

Me and my family have been going excelsior for 12 years. The place is amazing, the staff fabulous hardworking young men. The annexe is great value for money. The annexe formerly club lobelia has changed dramatically since the excelsior bought it. You want a great holiday and great value for money you can't go wrong. They have seen my daughters grow up now they seeing my grandchildren. Keep up the good work lads and Tom x

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Just relax and enjoy
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

GREAT holiday by Rick N
9 / 10

just got back from 10 days at club exelsior, got to say, what a great place. friendliest and hardworking team ive seen, and all with a smile on there faces. rooms clean, complex clean, service great. we already looking at next year, we are changing from half board to self catering only cause there so many places to go and the prices very cheap.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013
  • Advice: theres a full days entertainment, or you got shops and beach within walking distance
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

REFURB DEFFO (Sept 2012) by liz50
4 / 10

Just back from Turkey(MARMARIS)

Club Excelsior

Hotel is very dirty looking

Rooms are horrible

Very dreary hotel

Carpets need a good clean

REFURB DEFFO

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Apart from being dirty pool area nice

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Stay clear of this hotel by ChickA detoe
1 / 10

Highly recommended by Thomas cook in fact we were told we were really lucky to get in we were originally put in junior but after sorting it out wit the very friendly reception staff we were moved to the main building Thomas cook never took our complaint or desires under their notice , our room was so filthy we had to purchase a bottle of bleach the toaster blew up then the kettle while we were there the annex had an out break of bed bugs which left us scratching the rest of the week on the plus side the spa is amazing also the hotel shop best price an service in Marmaris such a lovely man Sindbad hairdressers also very good had hands and feet done but need more staff overall couldn't fault hotel staff very pleasant but hotel really outdated just feels creepy dirty dark dreary Walls an carpet just yuk would never travel with Thomas cook again small cramped planes reps really unhelpful at airport and especially in hotel only interested in selling trips

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Stay out

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

EXCELLENT! by lknowles
10 / 10

I returned from the Club Excelsior in July 2012 and what a fantastic time we had! Usually by day 10 of a 2wk holiday we are ready for home but we didnt want it to end and i can safely say i would return to this same hotel again!

I was very undecided when we booked the Excelsior because we couldnt help but read the negative comments on here and on Trip Advisor but it was affordable so we went with it and didnt have any regrets!

If you go with an open mind that the rooms are pretty basic and dont expect more then you'll be satisfied. To be honest i cant grumble about it because they were very clean and had free aircon in the bedroom! The aircon kept the entire apartment cool enough so we didnt bother paying extra for the living room.

The entertainment is great, not only for kids but adults too and you dont feel presurred into partaking. Activites such as find the spoon, musical chairs, dance shows and kids club for the children and surfing, lilo races and vollyball for the adults. Evening entertainment was different every night and included Turkish BBQ Night, Pool Party, Karoke etc.

My only downfall was the SPA. DO NOT USE THE HOTEL GYM AND TURKISH BATH! They are an independant company and we were very dissapointed with our Treatments.

Venturing out is something we did everynight and at the top of the street is a strip of bars and restaurants. Most places let kids eat free to entice you in so you can eat out very cheap! I Would definately reccomend CORNER STEAK HOUSE. Beautiful and very reasonable! The harbour and beach front is about a 15min walk and you have the famous Bizares, restaurants, McDonalds and amazing DANCING WATER FOUNTAIN!!

Trips worth a visit are definately the WaterPark, Turtle Beach, Jeep Safari. We would of loved to swim with dolphins but unfortunately didnt get chance :-(

If you fancy a day at the beach its worth paying to jump on a Dolmus (orange 1) to Icmeler. Its only about £1 each and 10mins away. It is a much nicer beach than Marmaris. Marmaris is a stoney man made beach.

Overall a fantastic, affordable holiday and we'll definately be going back! Hope you all think the same :-)

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cant wait to go back!!!! by Paul G
10 / 10

Just back from a week in Turkey and loved every minute of it and I must say it was mainly due to the staff at Club Exelsior!

We were staying in the Jr and the staff were fantastic! They had a laugh with you, they had you up dancing and got everyone involved. The rooms were basic but the maids added little quirks such as flower petals on the beds, shapes with the towels etc which is something you dont often get in a self catering apartment.

Most nights we ended up in the main hotel (right next door) for the entertainment as we found it better there than out and about and the guys there done such a brilliant job!

Cant wait to go back and see all the staff again!!!

Paul and Emma

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

going back for the 4th time by nicole...xx
10 / 10

well what can i say, this will be our 4th time going to club excelsior, it really is an amazing holiday, the last time we went my little boy was 3 and he loved it and the staff were all on hand to make sure his holiday was just as enjoyable as ours , this time he will 5 and is so excited when i told him we were going back, this time we will be taking our baby, will b nearly 7 months when we go in may...and i have no worries in taking a baby to club excelsior as they are so helpful and the entertainment for children as well as adults is brilliant...there is also there version of tesco's which is called KIPPA about a 10 minute walk from the hotel so i know that if i run out of nappies etc i will b able to get supplies from there, this time we are going half board which the previous times we have gone self catering, chose this option as when we have previuosly been we ate in the hotel most of the time as the food is lovely so this was the easiest option..we also did a few day trips as well which are good.. the hotel itself is lovely and clean and all the staff are very welcoming and onhand to give there help wherever it be needed..i really cant wait to go back it really cant come quick enough...we went to florida disney land xmas 2010 and i think i am more excited to go bk to club excelsior as it really is home away from home...just with the added bonus of hto weather....would recommend club excelsior to anyone....xxx

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: the entertainment is repeated the second week so travel out of the hotel and try different places unless happy with watching teh enterainment twice.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worth Every Penny by MT
8 / 10

Club Excelsior Annex is well worth the money for a cheap self catering holiday in Turkey, situated in a quite area with easy access to busy Marmaris. Apartments are simple but efficient to stay in as we only slept, showered and changed in them. Food at the bar was ok for snacks but expensive and disgusting for main meals. We ate somewhere on the local strip which was 100 yards down the road. Although coming to the end of the season there was still a lot going on with the entertainment in the hotel.

You have the advantage of a British supermarket 5 minute walk behind the hotel and it's a 10 minute walk by following storm-drain to the beach front where there's plenty of busy bars and things to do like buying bargains from the shops and undercover bazaar coming to the end of season. When shopping in Turkey they do prefer the British currency so remember not to change all your money. Trips are cheaper to book around the corner than through the reps.

I would highly recommend the cruises which are excellent value for money. Weather was still 32 degrees although we did get hit by a 5 day storm during our 15 day holiday.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room complain you will get moved, in all fairness they do take complaints seriously.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: RELAX ENJOY HAVE FUN

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday by far!!! by perfect
10 / 10

we got a cheap last min deal to exelsior in june .didnt know what to exspect on arrival but as the days went by my kids &i loved it sooo much we are going back again next year! found a hotel &a holiday we love &food is that cheap 2 but 20pounds =50lira would buy a family of 3 breakfast dinner &lollys 4 the kids all day

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excelsior annex 2011 by the cheeseburger family
9 / 10

stayed in excelsior annex just across the road from the main apparts rooms were very nice but a bit dated. house keeping was brilliant maids cleaned it every day had our bedding changed every three days and towels changed most days.staff are brilliant cant do enough for you, entertainment is really good daytime and nighttime but was repeated on the second week we had a b.b.q on wednesday night that was well worth the money,swimming pool was cleaned every day and its immaculate. had a really brill time would go back again

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3rd time this year and still brill xx by big mark
10 / 10

just got bk from our 3rd time staying at the club exclsior well what more can i say had a brill holiday the staff are great really make you feel welcome danielle and calos do abrill job with the round the pool games and night party games, all the lads who work in the bar area are fab really good lads who make you laugh deffo will be back next year . if you are after a fun filled holiday come to the exelsior brill xx

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hello ive been to heaven by ivebeentoheaven
10 / 10

it was like heaven i was spoiled by the barstaff any drink you can imagine they can make my son 14 wasnt so happy with the kids club he thought it was a tad to childish for him

but me 18 year old son loved it the is a lot to do next year when i go back im goint to try to stay for a month :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self cattering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: take extra fun with you

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 314 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Club Exelsior? Share your insight.

Club Exelsior also called

  • Club Excelsior Apartments
  • exelsior hotel marmaris
  • Address: Hoyuk Cad. 136. Sok. No:14 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey

Explore area

Map for Club Exelsior Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 31.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Club Exelsior photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Club Exelsior
  • by kathb

    " so much to see and do but definently do a boat trip great value for money... "

  • by

    " lazy day cruise, turtle beach, turkish BBQ nite, jeep and quad safari, ichlama market on a wednesday "

  • by white dress

    " have to go just for the laugh with staff they are mad "

  • by sneds

    " use the spa in the main hotel better value than tour guides offer u !! also kippa is a brill place to get your shopping Turkish Tesco lol "

  • by alan

    " the 4 wheel jeep drive and the trip to cleopatra island "

  • by 1st time visitor

    " Visit Bella Blu for evening meals and avoid pool facing rooms if you want a quiet night sleep "

  • by markyb216

    " Jeep Safari but book through local travel not tour operator "

  • by lknowles

    " Go to the TURKISH NIGHT! All you can eat BBQ and loads of entertainment - Breakdancers, Turkish Dancers, Bingo and Belly Dancing! "

Similar hotels around Marmaris

Hotels near Club Exelsior

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Club Exelsior?