Apollon Hotel Apartments

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

9  / 10
(39 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
31
Good
3
Average
3
Poor
2
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Apollon Hotel Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Lovely hotel. Lovely place! by Amy Ship
9 / 10

Can't fault these apartments. We had a ground floor room which was really cool. The pool was never really busy what ever time of day it was. Always sun loungers available. The beer & food at the pool bar was well priced. Didn't try the breakfast but the pool snacks were nice. The apartments are close to the bars, restaurants & beach. Just a 10 minute walk. Their are a couple of Greek restaurants a couple of minutes walk from the apartments which are really nice, friendly & well priced. Rethymnon town is a lovely place to go with lots of cobbled streets full of restaurants & a harbour. We only stayed for 1 week & will definately be going back. Great for couples & families. The beach is a mixture of sand & shingle so not the best but the pool was so good we spent most days there.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: First time in Crete & defo going back. And would defo stay in these apartments again.
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant holiday by bob&jenny
10 / 10

This is the first time we have been to Crete, but it was a really good choice. Sunny weather in the high 20s the whole two weeks. The hotel was wonderful and the staff were very friendly especially Leffti who provided us with shots on the first night there and we still had sore heads two days later. The beach was fantastic and even the staff on the beach were friendly. The resort is just what you you would want from a holiday. Best places were Yiannis with good food and drink and JJ's Bar for the football and English food.

The Apollon was lovely, clean and well looked after. The walk to the beach takes about 10 minutes but is well worth it and on the way back you drop into Lidl's for your food.

We will go back, thats for certain. Only minus point is the exchange rate which makes these holidays a bit expensive.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

WHATEVER YOU WANT IT TO BE by DIANE AND STEVE
9 / 10

Been back a week now and still keep smiling about the place!!! cant fault the place at all (well maybe the appts need a toaster !!) had a relly great time and yes!!!!!!!!!!!! you so need to go there and meet leffti !! as every one agreed all the staff are so nice but wait till ya meet leffti he is such a great guy , the room service was really good clean , linen changed all the time (just remember to put towels in the shower though ha ha !) it can , and yes i admit did get noisy around the bar at nights but hey thats what holidays are all about enjoying ya self , so if it gets to noisy just turn ya t.v. Up ! luckily we were there with the most terrific group of people and all tended to get on really well , can see why some people have been going back there for 17 yrs (think leffti could play a part in that ) as i say the people there ranged from young party animals to older party people . Every one either lazed by the pool allday or went to the beach just a stroll away ............ I say stroll away we had a car so didnt really do the walk thing !! as for the area around the hotel we can so recomend the taverna just around the corner !!! it was a bit like the appollon on tour most nights the food was so good and not to pricey , jj,s do a great breakfast , and the taverna with the roof garden do the best kleftico ever !!! the greek night at the white lady was good but cant say much for the food so just go and use it as a bar if ya have some money to spend !!!!

any way all in all would recomend the place but suggest you hire a car if ya can and go explore !!! dont get fooled buy the beach man who tells you you will see the turtles !!!! i paid 6 euros everyday for 12 days an never saw a one !!! oh and if ya get to rethymnon you must try the lemon tree restraunt , what can i say it was just soooooooooo nice but dont sit near the entrance happy days and a great time had by our gang !!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: BEACH
  • Activities: LEMON TREE
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wowwweeee by amanda and john
10 / 10

what a hioliday we had.was my first time abroad and my partner had to dyalise while on hol,the apollon staff from management to maid were fantastic,rooms very clean,towels and sheets changed every 2 days,any messages from the unit were passed on quickly,everyone so friendly,lefty the barperson is a legend in himself and you gotta meet him to know what i mean lol,i can fully understand people going back year after year,cappuchino coffees served from the bar are out of this world,beaches are fantastic if you can tear yourself away from the sunbeds,train rides to see the attractions are a must but the relaxing atmosphere means you lie on the sunbeds a long time,so chilled out a place,all i can do is say go visit it yourself to know what i mean,i miss you all there xxxx

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: the tavernas are a must,jjs bar is great for watching sport and an english meal.
  • Activities: the red train driver/tour guide is so friendly and speaks lots of diff languages,you gotta meet him.
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

had a great time by paulandkay
10 / 10

just to say i had a great time at the apollon this august.the hotel is very clean and tidy.the staff especially lefti were brilliant.also thank you to jim and the swedish guy who helped us get a taxi when we overlaid,we made it to the airport before the bus.thank you.we will definately go there again.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: great place
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great summer holiday by Marcus38
10 / 10

We stayed at Apollon at the beginning of July this year. The rooms were a good size and were always kept very clean by the maid. The pool was a good size and again that was very clean. There were always plenty of sun loungers available without having to put your towel out at 8am to claim one!

The staff were really friendly and always helpful. Lefty the barman was a great guy. He makes you feel really welcome and gives away free shots when you are at the bar, and he is a genuine lovely bloke. Me and my girlfriend are gutted we didnt get our pics taken with him.

Most of the other guests who were staying there had stayed there before, and we will certainly be going back to the Apollon next year. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we are already counting down the days till next year's holiday.

For eating out we went to the little Meze restaurant just down the hill ran by Pargonna. She was really friendly and welcoming, and treated us like we were family rather than just customers. There are loads of other restaurants in the town, Remember was pretty nice although the karaoke bar across the road can put you off your food when you hear someone killing My Way at full volume.

Only downside of holiday was Lisa's mosquito bitten legs which she had a bad reaction to.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Apollon revisited by L&T
10 / 10

Just got back from yet another brilliant holiday at the Apollon 5th since 2001. By no means veterans we met 2 couples who were holidaying at the Apollon for the 22nd time! Everything stays the same, nothing too much trouble, very clean apartments. Lefteris (Lefty) at the bar as always the life and soul, very friendly, beware his lethal shots. Maria and Despina on reception always there when needed. Pool very clean, perfect for children, quiet and not at the heart of everything but just a little walk to the nightlife and restaurants. We tend to pick the same restaurants because we like them and they always remember you and are very welcoming, Stavros on the corner serves good food as does Mylos (I think it is called that) it is on the main street, is open plan and they have greek dancing every week which is fun, food is excellent George is the proprieter and is a lovely guy (Lefteris will tell you where it is). Also visit the Taverna Fantastica up the mountain (reception will book you a taxi) food not bad considering they have to rely on a generator and batteries, the views are fantastic, go up to see the sunset it is amazing.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our holiday by babywan19
9 / 10

Just back after one week. Accomodation clean and tidy and welcome pack left in room ideal for a snack and cup of tea after the journey. Staff friendly and place is very light ,airy and well decorated .

Our balcony looked over away from the pool which was good to be away from the sun for a bit .

Ear plugs essential if you are a light sleeper as the bar is open til 1am and the patrons do get a bit noisy !!

Look out for the local ginger cat .. very friendly in fact calls up to you with a loud meeow to see what your eating!

Best place for food locally is the Logari restaurant in Platanes opposite the Galaxie rent a car .Pizza very tasty and shish kebabs delicious.

Lovely place , hope to go back .

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: shop around for food places
  • Activities: Logari restaurant in Platanes
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

summer holiday by juliek61
10 / 10

myself and my hubby and daughter stayed at the apollon in may/june this year we hve stayed here twice before we love it the staff are all so friendly rooms very clean lots of places to see if you hire a car the best place is peny car hire down in the village and one of the best places to eat is the taverna kellari where stavros will really look after you we have been visiting crete for many years and have seen most of the island but the best part is the west side elafonsi the island is gorgeous well worth a visit we will be back in crete again soon

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: lovely place day or night
  • Activities: a small italian one in the main square cant remember the name and kellari in platanes
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Accommodation by jennywren31
9 / 10

We stayed here last October and were very pleased with the standard of accommodation. We had no problems with any staff, the guy behind the bar always seemed really friendly even though my husband and I never actually had a drink there. The Reception staff were all very pleasant and I would stay there again to use the place as a touring location. We found our apartment very clean and spacious. Platanias was not our cup of tea being a bit too "Watneys" for my taste - I always have a feeling of dread when I see the words "English Breakfast and Sunday Roasts". However, near to Apollon there are two restaurants that were of a traditional nature and the food was very good. It was a welcome holiday to partly make up for the one we had lost with Kosmar.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Extremely Good by treaclecat1
10 / 10

Lovely accomodation, spotlessly clean, staff extremely helpful, considerate and polite.

Self catering room was comfortable and adequately equipped. Welcome pack in the room provided essentials after late flight.

Pool is superb, with excellent refreshment facilities and convenient small shop in reception.

Poolside bar is excellent, but with no pressure to use it.

A reasonable, but pleasant walk into the village, with excellent walks in the hills above the Hotel.

We lost our camera in Rethymnon, which we only realised a few hours before flying home. Eva was fantastic making phone calls to places we had been, and to the police, to try and find the camera. After we had arrived back in UK, Eva located the camera in a small shop we had used, collected the camera on our behalf, and posted it back to UK in secure packaging; hows that for service!!!

We are already planning to return to Apollon next year.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would go back by jeseprnumber1
10 / 10

Really good holiday. Apartments nice and quiet in October and weather was good. Pool still fine to swim in. Apartments clean and tidy and staff great- Lefty was a great bar host and kept the adults and kids well topped up and entertained.

Apartments in very good quiet location with a great taverna, supermarket and bakers less than 100 yards away. 10 min-15 min walk takes you to the strip and beach and its only 7 euros into Rethymnon in a taxi.

Would definetly consider going back to apartments as the staff create a really good friendly atmosphere.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Apollon Hotel Apartments? Share your insight.

Apollon Hotel Apartments also called

  • apollon hotel rethymnon
  • Address: Nees Fokees Street Platanes, Crete 74100, Greece

Explore area

Map for Apollon Hotel Apartments Closest airport: Souda (CHQ) 24.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Rethymnon

Hotels near Apollon Hotel Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Apollon Hotel Apartments?