Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel

Playa Amadores 35130, Gran Canaria, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(149 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
105
Good
36
Average
4
Poor
2
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 313 »
had a brilliant stay

"We stayed there for our first holiday to gran carneria we would definitely stay again but in a different room with a balcony the weather was lovely for the whole two weeks .The only thing we had to ask to be done was our bedding to be changed after been there four days

the staff was lovely especially in the pool bar can't wait to go again I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: staff to clean the studios a bit more n change the bedding ever day
  • Good For: Beach
by Shane N
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

The Worst Holiday Ever

"This holiday was the worst we have ever experienced. We were led to believe we would be staying in a four star hotel with the appropriate amenities. Unfortunately, it turned out to be a 1 star hovel. NONE of the "apartments" had a double bed! Do they not expect married couples to go on holiday together? Sleeping in single beds is not what a married couple wants to do on holiday! After seeing that we would have to sleep in single beds, things just got worse.

The quality of the "apartment" was below average and it smelled of sewerage the whole time which was just disgusting. The water is so heavily chlorinated that after having a shower we smelt like a swimming pool all day and we couldn't even brush our teeth with it.

The maid service was rubbish, we didn't get any soap for the whole week, the cleaning was below standard and they didn't even come the last three days we were there. There was a small balcony but that didn't get any sunshine, so it was cold and entirely useless.

The food in this place is below standard. Deep fried reconstituted rubbish. Eat there if you fancy hardened arteries and a heart attack. There wasn't even coffee, just a revolting liquid that came out of a push-button machine.

The quality of the entertainment was extremely poor, and the whole place was closed up at 11pm. There was nothing to do in Playa Amadores, so unless we wanted to spend lots of money on taxis to get to other resorts, there was no option but to go to bed.

We had to pay for a television, we had to pay for a safe, and we had to pay for wifi unless we wanted to constantly traipse down to the reception to use the limited access point down there.

When we complained to our Thomas Cook holiday rep, she just shrugged her shoulders and couldn't have cared less.

We are now making a formal complaint.

We paid a huge amount of money for this packag holiday and we got nothing for it.

NEVER EVER BOOK THIS "HOTEL".
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: DO NOT STAY AT THIS "HOTEL"
by disgustedwiththomascook
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

GREAT STAY!

"This place is amazing! Been going the last 3 years with my family and this year i decided to go with my friends because it's such good apartments! It is so much better than a 3 star, should be a 4! Although the apartments are quite basic they are spacious and have lovely balconys which overlook the beach or the pool! You are always guaranteed amazing weather at this resort aswell all year round. We thought that it would be quiet around this area, which it was for a group of young girls like us, but, every night we got a taxi to the commercial centre in puerto rico which cost 4 euros. it was well worth it because at night the place was jumping!! such a good atmosphere and the people are lovely! Mirador is a very relaxed and chilled place and is kept very clean. The rooms are cleaned every day except a wednesday and sunday i'm sure. Another plus side is, the beach is just a 5 minute walk away! However, if you are looking for a wild holiday, where you want to scream,run wild,blast music at 4am, then this is not your apartments..it's more of a family resort but is good for friends if looking for a relaxing day and a madness night! I would definitely reccommend this apart/hotel to anybody i knew going to Gran Canaria."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Commercial Centre,Puerto Rico-NIGHTLIFE!
  • Good For: Beach
by scottishlass2012
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amadores 2011!

"just returned from a weeks holiday at the mirador.went as a group of 8 girls (even tho this is a family hotel),and have to say what a gr8 time we had.we had a 2 bed and 1 bed apartment spilt btween us and we found them to be spacious and really clean.had a lovely view from the balcony over amadores beach.busy round the pool in the day,and had to get sunbeds early but not to noisy.wouldn't recommend the food though,but u can get any bits u need from the hotel shop or the spar 2mins away.check out amadores beachits lovely and also 'the irish cottage' bar on amadores they do lovely breakfasts,toasties omelettes etc.... .peurto rico commercial centre is a busy palce and night but wiv a nice atmosphere and no trouble either.u MUST visit mam pina restaurant on the top floor for nice food and an amzing waiter who will have u in fits of laughter with his jokes and 'mr bean' gags!also a MUST is to visit anfi del mar for the day 5 euros in a cab,for fab beach and designer shops.anand a trip to peurto mogan by boat 10 euros both ways,for the friday market and 'little venice' type shops and waterways.hope u find this review helpful this is my second visit and i would highly recommend it for familys and young couples."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: some areas are hilly so not gr8 for wheelchairs or buggy's but taxis are cheap.
  • Good For: Beach
by weds nite x 8!
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday

"Came back from gran canaria a week ago,the entertainment team(jezz and vicky)were first class,also the additional entertainment laid on each night was great,the staff were always friendly and polite,the menu in the restaurant was changed daily,the hotel itself is spotles,it's located about 20 minutes by foot from the main town centre,the mirador atlantico would definitely be a hotel I,d go to again.10 out of 10 for a great holiday"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by baz
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant!

"Over all this was a fantastic place and a very warm, friendly atmosphere! GREAT for kids but also good for couples and elderly couples too. I know we went last year but i caan honestly say it was brilliant!! Food in restraunt just ok/good. Oh, and Peurto Rico shopping centre at night is quite tacky wouldn't really recommend it be honest but lots of little nic-nacs to be bought.

I LOVED THE MIRADORRRRRRRR.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: I would definetly recommend going to the Mogan Market - Lovely. And the beach!
  • Good For: Beach
by Mo
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday

"Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at the mirador,everything was superb including jez the entertainer.The harp bar in puerto rico is a must where the funniest man alive stevie york resides.We will be going as family group again next year."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by pike
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amadores sunset

"This was the first time either of us had been to Gran Canaria and we had a fantastic time. Our apartment was lovely and clean, AND the view, Wow, we were totally spoilt. Thejr was enough loungers for everyone and the staff were polite. The restaurants were also lovely with a great choice. The beach although could be sharp in places ,was beautiful, asnd not to overley crowded.

We did the Siox City night, What a giggle, it was so much fun, we rode horses, danced the night away and most of all food and free bar was included in the price!!! A def must.

We also did the jeep combo, which was a hoot, and Jose and Gary wewre great entertainers.

The only No Go we found which was a complete let down was Las Palmas. We were dumped in the centre to get on the city tour bus, which we then had to wait over an hr for , then aniother 30minutes for everyone to board. You diont get enough time and our rep Donna was a let down.

As for Puerto Morgan, it really is LITTLE VENICE, and the market is great on Fridays. If you want intimate get away this is ideal for you. However their arenty many if any shops open in Amadores at night. Our only negative thot regarding the hotel was that children were allowed to be in the Jacuzzi, even though it clearly states`NO CHILDREN IN ....', and this put alot of people off wanting to use it. We had a fantasitc time though, and would recommend it to you.xx Oh the weather was in the 28/29 andf that was late Sep/Earlt Oct
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Romantic setting with lovely restaurants
  • Good For: Beach
by Fazer600
8 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Another Fab Holiday

"Second holiday at The Mirador and not disappointed. Although we arrived in the middle of the night, we were given our room without delay (one we previously asked for). It was clean & tidy, as expected. The hotel is welcoming, clean & friendly. Many of the staff were the same as the previous year. The food is excellent, with several choices at every meal - breakfast, lunch & dinner. Each evening is a themed meal, Spanish, Italian, Chinese and is nicely done even for the fussy ones! The pool isn't over big but enough to take a dip when it gets too hot. The kids club entertains those that want to join in & my son had great fun. Water aerobics for those that want to do little exercise, along with water polo for those that are more enthusiastic. The sunbed ritual is evident but there is enough space to grab some of the suns rays whatever time you get poolside. The beach is within walking distance but charges for beds, brollies & loos but worth a look. Few bars & shops along the prom, with a crazy golf course at the far end. Nightlife not evident, you'll need Puerto rico for that. The Mirador del Atlantico is a great place for a nice, relaxing family holdiay. We made loads of friends all of whom are considering returning next year - what more can I say."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Been before & would/are definitely considering going again, without doubt a nice place.
  • Good For: Beach
by mushy64
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We adore Mirador...

"This was our first overseas holiday as a family (myself, fiancee & 2 young children) & were anxious to find a nice place & get value for money.

We read most of the reviews on here, took the plunge & booked 10 nights self catering at the last minute.

Arrived at Mirador reception at 9:30pm after a painless 45 minute coach journey & were greeted warmly by the friendly informative concierge - he provided full details of the apartment location along with a promise that the chef could rustle up a hot snack despite the late hour.

Worrying about cockroaches we located our 1 bed lodgings & were greeted with a spotless apartment with a spacious veranda, the bedroom contains 2 single beds that can be pushed together & the lounge had the 2 sofabeds already made up for us.

PRO's:

- Our maid visited daily & mopped floors & changed towels (you could pop a 'Do not disturb' sign out if you wanted to be left alone.

- We heard some people complaining about the food but found no issue here when we chose to eat on-site. There is a themed Buffet meal each night in the restaurant (eat as much as you like) but also other more English options if the younger (or older!) members of your party aren't so adventurous.

- "Happy Hour" at the bar from 4-5pm, 8-9pm - this is buy one get one free on all 'Canary Island branded' alcoholic drinks, this includes Beer, Whisky, Rum, Wine.

- Entertainment: The Onsite entertainers (Jezz & Vicky) are absolutely stars & are so friendly & approachable; they kick off at noon & continue until midnight (obviously with some breaks!). There is something for everyone: Kids club, Water Polo, Bingo (we won over 80 euros!!), Quizzes for prizes, great music, Disco's.

There are external entertainers such as magicians, animal handlers & acrobats that appear each evening whilst you relax with a drink whilst the sun sinks into the sea..

- Porto Fino - this beachside Italina/Spanish restaurant has excellent food & very friendly staff & host, we are only sorry that we had the opportunity to eat here once..

- We only saw 2 cockroaches in the whole time we were there!

CONS:

- There were some tiles missing from the main & childrens pool which resulted in sharp edges & cut toes for 3 children (incl. my daughter). However,there was some nighttime maintenance going on when we stayed there to obviously attempt to rectify the issue.

- If you self cater be aware you will spend a LOT on food. There is an option to upgrade to half board or all-inclusive whilst at Mirador but this would have cost us nigh on 1,000 Euros for our 10 days stay. You can buy meals seperately at Mirador but be prepared to pay 30+ Euros a time, plus hot food is only available at certain times of day if you choose not to go all-inclusive.

- Although the beach is an absolute picture to look at the 'sand' is actually coarse crushed shell & not pleasant to walk on, let alone make sandcastles with, but if you want great sand Puerto Rico is 25 minutes walk away!

- There is the 'Sunbed Shuffle' at 8am everyday when the same people hung around to lay towels on beds whilst waiting for the pool attendant to finish cleaning. If you are prepared to get up at 7:45am to bag your favourite spot when on holiday then great. Although from what we saw there are still plenty of beds left by 10am providing you're not choosy where you sit....

- If you DO go All inclusive you will still need to pay to watch TV (if you want to!) & rent the air-conditioning system (a must in summer, it was 40 plus degrees when we went)

- Puerto Rico!! In my opinion a total dive. The whole place is congested(very much like a Spanish Southend-on-sea but with a decent beach)

The place is full of over bearing shopkeepers desperate to thrust their overpriced goods in your face so much so that the occasional rude comment in response would not be considered out of place as 'No' obviously didn't work! Singles & young couples may prefer Puerto to the quieter Amadores.

This review really was a warts & all overview of this Aparthotel, don't let the bad points put you off as we really enjoyed ourselves & would recommend to any family.

Good job Holiday Watchdog, we are definitely going back to Mirador!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: A real family atmosphere, highly recommended
  • Good For: Beach
by Jerry
9 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mirador What a great place

"We holidayed at the Mirador in May 2010, we had a brill time. The hotel is very clean and has a maid service 6 days a week and are polite. The staff all in all are very helpful & polite and we can't complain about them.The entertainment staff were brilliant with the kids kept them entertained and also the adults, Jezz & Vicki were excellent and have got to say they are 1 of the best entertainment teams I have seen yet.(keep up the good work guys). The whole place is lovely Amadores beach is gorgeous and the sea is very calm. The food at the hotel is very good and a wide range of it too but if you want to eat out I recommend the British Beach Bistro down on the row of restaurants down by the beach it is placed near the end on the right hand side, the food is lovely especially the Sunday roasts with a pudding scrummy also the Irish bar is a good place to grab a snack while sun bathing down on the beach. There are lots of nice restaurants to eat at in Puerto Rico and some cheap bars too. Theres a lively bar upstairs that I would recommend on visiting its called Walkabout and the staff there are friendly. We will definitely be returning next yr but going to try a busier time of the yr :)"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: clean, friendly,relaxing and an all round brill holiday
  • Good For: Beach
by brzrnkk
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Place

"I was a bit wary about going here reading some of the negative reviews, none of it is true believe me. We have just returned and had a fantastic time the accommodation is spotless. We did all inclusive which worked out really good and had the benefit of having a 2 bed apartment so all the facilities were there if you chose to cook yourself. I will definately be looking at returning next year. Think it might be really busy in the peak season mind and may struggle for sun beds but the time I went it wasnt a problem and everyone was so friendly."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Very Relaxing Location everything closes down by half past eleven
  • Good For: Beach
by linnielou
10 / 10

20 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 313 »

Explore area

Map for Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel
  • by brzrnkk

    " Not good for elderly with walking difficulties as its a hill from the beach to hotel "

  • by copemeister

    " I would highly recommend Restaurante San Miguel in Puerto Rico shopping centre. "

Similar hotels around Playa Amadores

Hotels near Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel? Share your insight.

Mirador Del Atlantico Aparthotel is also called:

  • aparthotel mirador del atlantico hotel
  • mirador del atlantico

Address: Playa Amadores 35130, Gran Canaria, Spain